Technology : yay or nay ??

20 76
Avatar for Jumper-22
2 years ago

Hi guys , what’s good ? I hope everyone is safe. So this article was inspired by one of @tired_momma ‘s article where she wrote about technology and it’s effect on kids of today. You can check it out here. So I am just going to try and shed more light on technology in relation to every human, kids and grown ups alike.

Sponsors of Jumper-22
empty
empty
empty

do check out my amazing sponsors

Let’s begin with the some reasons why technology might not really be helpful…

Growing up

I was born in the late 90’s and for this part of the world where I grew up technological advancement is very slow, so for the first 16 years of my life I didn’t own a phone or even a laptop talk more of video games or other fancy gadgets. The only way we knew how to have fun was playing soccer on the street and other fun outdoor games we barely even used computers; you know those ones with big motherboard and monitor !! Shoot !!!! elder ones won’t even allow us kids to look at them . They were totally off limits. And maybe , just maybe we were happier with the simple things of life. The World seem so innocent and bright in our eyes, we weren’t concerned about trending topics on Instagram or what is new on Facebook or what kind of fashion Celebs were rocking . We were more concerned about school, family , our next door neighbor you know ? Things or people we saw on daily basics. Then we grew older and technology came in !!!

Screen time : loosing the originality of physical human interaction.



Nothing beats talking to a person physically why? There is so much you can get from speaking to a person one on one . From facial expressions to body languages and all that the human physical interaction can just not be replaced. statistics state that the average person spends up to 4 hours on their mobile devices which is about 55 days a year . Wow !! Just wow we have little or no time for natural human interactions. Here is a test for you read-citizens -:can you put off your phone for 2days and just got out and talk to people? well can you ? You see slowly but surely we are losing human contact . Most of us just sit for 8 hours starting at our screens it’s almost as if we are addicted. The funniest part is we set our phones to shut off when we extend screen limits but we don’t obey them or do we ? At least I know my friends and I don’t 😂.

“This is too much work”

I once saw a movie about robots taking care of little kids and truly maybe that is where we are headed. The normal things we could do as human like washing clothes, doing our dishes or just going grocery shopping have been “simplified” so much so that I could do all of that just sitting in one spot. Here me out 😂 I know I know nobody likes to be stressed or to just do hard work I should know because I hate working who doesn’t ? I am just saying ain’t we over doing it ? I mean walking down to a mall can help reduce calories and help exercise the body. Also when we build up the habit of getting things done for us by machines we sub-consciously tell ourselves that it’s too much work and we can’t do it and you would be surprised as to how this can affect our lives in general.

The influence of information

I think I have talked about this before . Anybody from any part of the world right now can leak fake information online and just ruin years or hard work and reputation of people, organization Brands or even governments. That’s not all anybody with just the right amount of skill and tech can hack into multi-million dollars data systems and do away with lots of money or valuable informations. What if someone hacked your accounts and stole from you that is certainly not a good feeling . You still think this tech thing is the best ? Well I am not sure because even tho tech can have its disadvantages there are lots of advantages that can easily outweigh this disadvantages.


well let’s talk about the good part of tech …


Medical

Technology has provided us with so much simpler medical solutions from diagnostic procedures to surgical machines and all that high tech medical research technology has really came through for us in these aspects. More also availability of medical related informations online and sometimes treatment for patients has made it really easy to get treated quick and fast. Anybody can just pick up their phones and google “ what are the symptoms for corona virus” and just like that they have the information they need which is pretty cool if you ask me.

social interactions

I know 😂.. I know what I said earlier but look on the bright side the reason you can read this article in the first place is because of technology. The reason you and I are friends even tho we might live on opposite sides of the world is because of technology. So it is not all that bad when it comes to social interactions I mean technological advancement has provided opportunities like these for people of different race to communicate, business organizations are able to reach out to their customers, people are able to earn money while sharing information and creating friendship just as this platform does.

At the end of the day I guess my point is technology just like everything in life has its pros and it’s cons we just have to figure out a ways to juggle our lives so we don’t depend too much on technology.

What do you think ? Tell me in the comment section cause I mean I don’t have the answers it would be really nice to get opinions on this topic For better understanding.

till I write again stay safe and wear a mask

arigato ✌🏼

16
$ 2.62
$ 2.32 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @tired_momma
$ 0.10 from @King_Gozie
+ 4
Avatar for Jumper-22
2 years ago

Comments

Everything on this planet has its benefits and demerits. Technology is no exception. It just depends on which aspect one chooses to embrace, though it could be really addiction as well😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

can you put off your phone for 2days and just got out and talk to people?

I can. I think. just the phone, right? hahaha

Balance is still key. Technology is neutral it will depend on how much dependent and how much time you intend to spend with it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah that is true . Well you can put of your phone and not think about it not many of us can do that including me that is the problem. Finding balance

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same side Technology has also a bad affect on us. If I can talk about my self like from one month I am too much involved in social media. Whole day I stay in my room even during the lunch,Breakfast,Dinner time I use the mobile. You are right in future we see robots will take care of our childrens 😅🤭. Have a good day.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Exactly thanks for your contribution

$ 0.01
2 years ago

What I'd say is that technology has really destroyed human interaction at a very high level. People no longer open their mouth to talk and interact with others while taking rides in a bus or train. They're always fixated on their phone, they'd rather use telegram or WhatsApp instead of making a phone call. Communications skills generally are becoming worse than ever. It's so sad.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

True that is why we have people that would say they prefer if you text them rather than call them

$ 0.00
2 years ago

These days, I hardly reply messages anymore. I tell them, if you wanna tell me something then call me.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your article is a very interesting one that reviews the merits and demerits of an integral aspect of our reality of today. Technology has done a great deal of good for humanity. There's faster and easier medium of communication, there's a more advanced and effective medicine, and a whole lot of other benefits. But we just cannot rule out the unintended negative consequences of technology. Like you've highlighted, it seems as though the magic of childhood has been taken away with the advent of Smartphones and social media. Also, susceptibility to cyber theft and hackers is very high.

These are all happening because humans have the tendency to abuse good things.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Exactly you hit the exact point thanks for your contribution boss

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Technology has been both blessing and a cause to our generation. If we dwell on the negatives we will hate it and if we dwell on the positives we will surely forget the negatives. Best thing to do is to enjoy it by using it with moderation

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Exactly it best we juggle it nice one boss 😌

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We've created a world of virtual friendships through this platform, so its a yay for me. If we can look beyond ehatvee see its a actually a development for the greater good.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes true words boss

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hey, this is good. For me, Technology is a yay. Especially in this time of the pandemic, we all rely our works and even classes on technology. It just depends on the discipline of a person on how he uses well the technology, if we look at the positive side of it, it really is beneficial to us. Though it might have some cons, we cannot deny the fact that it made our lives easier.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Wow this is really nice I get you thank you so much for your contribution

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It plays an critical role in society today. It has amazing and bad consequences on the world and it impacts each day lives. so we simply ought to adapt to it due to the fact we can not do with out it at this stage. So for me yes

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Okay thanks for the contribution boss 💪

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for the mention dear. Just like you say there's always pros and con in everything and too much is bad so there should be a balance and take advantage of technology not the technology taking advantage of you and your health. Cheers

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yeah that is true 👍 thanks for your support always ❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago