The girl who cried wolf.

31 71
Avatar for Jumper-01
2 years ago
Topics: Social media, Twitter, Life, Clout, Advice, ...

*time of writing : 10:00 am
_____________________________

According to the English dictionary “ clout chasing is an act of saying or doing things for the sole aim of becoming popular regardless of the fact if these things are true or not ”

“The pandemic is an irony for this generation of people obsessed with going viral”

There is a case on ground now about a girl called toyosi. Who tweeted sometime this morning about being kidnapped and raped. In her tweets she was asking the general public for help. She also included the number and address of the person and the place where she is being held hostage. This is a screenshot of her tweet

Source:- screenshot from my phone

Turns out it was only a prank she was just looking for something to make her go viral. How did we know ? Well a lot of people started calling the number she tweeted threatening them, telling them to make sure she is safe because the police are on their way and they are on their way too. The number receive a lot of death threats and violent messages.

When toyosi saw that the matter was getting out of hand she then made this tweet apologizing that she is safely at home and that what she tweeted earlier was false.

Source: screenshots from phone

She even made a video asking people to stop calling the number she posted that she was fine and safely at home but by now it was already too late. Some members of the public already informed the Nigerian police who were already on their way to the said location. They arrived there in a matter of hours and pictures have been circulating all over social media of some police men at the address carrying out investigation. Some are saying she should be arrested for false alarm or something of that sort well let me tell you what I think.

here is a screenshot of the video she made —-

Remember the story of the boy who cried wolf ? This kind of people soil and damage the responsiveness of the public. Let’s analyze this thing properly. She said she was being raped and kidnapped.

We all know that when we talk about rape the society frowns so much at that. I have even heard of a case where a boy lost his life because he was unjustly accused of being a rapist by a girl he dumped or haven’t you heard of cases where people were killed due to the fact that someone accused them of being a rapist. RAPE IS A BUG WORD to play with both for people that are victims and for those trying to help. For me she shouldn’t have gone that far and use a big word like this knowing that the world is still trying to help rape victims heal.. it is just sad.

And then kidnapping? Really ? Like I am not judging her or anything like that but for some days now a large number of persons have been reported missing yet to be found. One of them is a boy from my school and she dares use that for a common prank ? Really ?. I know she is probably feeling remorseful right now and I know everybody makes mistake but maybe sometimes we can avoid certain mistakes we make in life because just think of the effect of her actions on others.

Her family, her friends, people who knows her, the general public who saw the tweet. Honestly I don’t even know what else to say. This should serve as a lesson to some of us who chase clout on social media with extreme pranks, it is not always a good choice to make because one day when it really happens for real nobody will be there to help you. We would probably be thinking that it is one of your regular pranks.

_____________________________
Information reach us as of 4:30 pm is that she has been arrested and is schedule to go court on charges of disturbing public peace.

Thank you all for reading .. if you want more details on the story here is link. It has been a pleasure bringing you this read. Thanks again and stay safe don’t chase clout !!!

©jumper2022

14 April 2022

21
$ 3.92
$ 3.52 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jerrysavage00
$ 0.05 from @Ellawrites
+ 13
Sponsors of Jumper-01
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jumper-01
2 years ago
Topics: Social media, Twitter, Life, Clout, Advice, ...

Comments

I got into Twitter last night and was surprised that a particular name was trending; toyosi. After some investigation, I found out what she did and the funny thing was that it relates to the article I also wrote that night about false accusations. On a worst case scenario, people would have located those boys and beat them up, or probably even burnt them to death simply because a stupid person decided to play a prank. Thank God they arrested her, she should learn her lesson in jail

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exactly my own is even if you wanted to play pranks why not find something less disturbing like heartbreak stories or something.. rape ?? Nah she deserves whatever is coming to her

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I came to know about this news when she hasn't apologized and I hissed at her foolish manner. Na wah! The way people are chasing fame in social media these days is not funny. May God help us

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Amen oh you know how sole of these girls act na forming big girls and all

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Omo that girl is the definition of madness. I was scared when i saw the tweet. Even when she sent a video saying she's safe, i was still doubting it thinking she's talking under duress. I hope she learns from this and others like her too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah me too when I saw her second tweet I thought she was under duress Omo she no try

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I read about the story of the boy who cried wolf when I was a kid. Raising false alarm is not a thing a complete human being should do cos it will surely backfire. Have a wonderful day my friend

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You too Fiyin thanks

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When I first read the tweet, I felt terrible...like why would a man violate a woman, and I felt compelled to retweet.... I discovered she was lying after reading the comments, which irritated me so much.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Guy you Sabi how many boy dem don kill because of this kind rubbish .. she no try at all

$ 0.00
2 years ago

How silly and cheap method are being adopted to get popularity among messes. Yes I remember the story of the worlf boy who cry lion and lie to people when the lion come no one come for his help

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yeah it’ is really a cheap move .. she actually messed up big time

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When I saw the news too I was displeased about the prank she did. She knew so well that the current situation of the country doesn't tolerate any nonsense and that people are angry and impatient. She needs to face the consequence for real.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I Sabi but I dey pity her because everybody fit make mistake but to go jail because of mistake ah that one plenty sha .. anyhow sha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That was a desperate move to gain popularity Levi.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes I think you are right .. she shouldn’t have done that it was really wrong of her

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What she did is wrong in all perspectives. This would negatively affect the strictness and of the actions taken towards to real orchestrators of rape and kidnapping. I hope she's charged to court for raising false alarm and disturbing Public peace.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes the last I heard she is in custody of the police. I feel for her sha but what she did was wrong

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Very wrong.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

While reading, I remembered a story I read when I was quite little "the lion and the liar" this girl's act is so uncalled for and quite annoying. Rape and kidnap!! For heaven's sake!! Of all pranks!!.

Deep down, I wish she's sentenced for atleast 3months imprisonment. Let her have a taste of her venom.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah she is in police custody right now let’s wait and see what happens in the future.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's totally insane. By the way the craze of getting popular already made huge losses. There in my country few months back i saw the video where wife was crying and saying, her husband died in a car accident. Which literally made whole platform sad and sorrow. Because she was too young and they were newly married couple. After a week, again seeing the same video of her with her husband made everyone ashamed. How could someone just for little fame can use the word rape, kidnap and died. Action taken by your country police is appreciative, she has to be charged twice more time the way she disturbed public peace.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I know right ? And wow she actually lied that her husband was dead ? Wow what is this world turning into ?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

How could I know, maybe craze for fake fame down voted their self esteem.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is a sad way to live life honestly

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol and I live on that street 😁😁. I heard that she may go to jail. But what even prompted her to do this?

$ 0.01
2 years ago

She said it was a prank or something ..probably chasing clout..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nah that clout go follow her go prison 😂😂. Make she continue the clout over there😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exactly dem say dem won charge am for court .. I see one tweet person talk say she just wake up talk say she won go prison

$ 0.00
2 years ago

How can someone even think of doing that. She ought to be arrested. Raising false alarm and she know the current situation we are facing.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Exactly she has been arrested sha.. she is in police custody as we speak to be charged to court

$ 0.00
2 years ago