Obaleevi on my fpl

21 50
Avatar for Jumper-01
2 years ago

18 march 2022

I read an article by @Oikawa titled the consequence of being introverted. I related to every word he said on that article because I have been there before. It reminded me of my earliest days in uni when I was staying at a new dorm. Mixed with both genders. Now I am not introverted at least I like to think so but it takes a lot of time and effort for me to get to know people and even make friends ..

What helped me in those days was football. Notice my article title is “obaleevi on my fpl”. I would tell you in a minute what it means and how I got the nickname obaleevi but for now ..tell me

How are you ? The month of march is almost over which has me thinking about how fast the year is moving. Are you fine ? I hope this read meets you well. April is just around the corner and I can’t wait to start my April’s fool pranks and all. I just hope this month is going great for you. Anyways back to the story..

Sponsors of Jumper-01
empty
empty
empty

So after a month in my new dorm. I made a friend who likes music we got talking, became close in a very short period of time. We did some many things together like reading, cooking, washing etc.

One day we were having a 3-aside football session at the hostel. Almost every guy in the hostel was outside either playing or cheering others on. My friend pushed me to ask them if I could join which I did. 5 minutes into stepping on the pitch I scored a goal. They were so shocked as how I did that. I even heard someone saying “so this guy could play”. Some minutes later I scored another goal which involved some dribbling and a bit of some skills I picked up while playing back in high school.Everyone was so shocked and before I knew it I made so many friends that day I didn’t even know their names or how many they were.

They asked for my room number and ever since they started visiting me. The obaleevi nickname came from my other nick name LEVIKING.

Obaleevi on my fpl

You know fpl means fantasy premier league. I remember we use to watch a lot of premier league games at the common room area of the hostel at the time. I was soon introduced to fantasy premier league and soon I started playing which led me to join the dorm’s official league.

People started calling the nAme of my jersey which was LEVIKING but soon they got tired because it was too lengthy. Not until one day after our regular football session a friend of mine whose name was “Seyi” a Yoruba guy just mistakenly called me oba which means King in Yoruba. He then went on to Call me Obaleevi.

Immediately the name stuck to me like glue. Everybody who was present there and then started to call me obaleevi and soon the name would spread and become a general thing. I love it by the way.

To cut the long story short, they created a league for the football competitions in my dorm and I was voted most likely to be top scorer. That was how everyone started chanting obaleevi on my fpl … whenever I scored or made an assist they chanted even more loudly. I went on to become the hugest scorer that session with 18 goals. It was a good one for me.

So there you have it that was how the phrase “obaleevi on my fpl came about”. Truth is right now I don’t think I am as good as I use to be when it comes to football😂 but hey those were the good olé days and I am glad I enjoyed every part of it. Even up till date I still keep in touch with those friends I made that day even though I left that area and dorm long time ago.

Thank you for reading ❤️✍️.

Copyright©Jumper2022

13
$ 4.11
$ 3.95 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @HappyBoy
$ 0.03 from @Tomi-Ajax
+ 4
Sponsors of Jumper-01
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jumper-01
2 years ago

Comments

Keep it up

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you friend

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Now, I feel interested of watching this game, its common here in philippines but slowly there are small football teams doing there practice. Hoping that it will bloom in the future

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is really a beautiful game try to watch it you would enjoy it

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So y'all still follow FPL, I lost interest when my team started diminishing and it was when Manchester United started flopping with Ronaldo... Lol I'm out till next season😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same here I stopped checking mine too I am sure I am bottom of my league by now

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Better come over let me train you, so you can be better than ever before. You can ask Ronaldo what I did to him 👀

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nonsense go and train yourself first 😂😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Good old days just like Man U and Ronaldo

$ 0.00
2 years ago

🥲🥲🥲really happyboy really ? You gon do me like this ?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also love football but to be honest I can’t play it as much as I’ll like myself to play it. I hope one I’ll watch your match. I’ve been wondering what the FPL mean until I understand that it fantasy premier league.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh really ? Thanks although it’s not like I play professionally or anything of that sort but still thanks

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol I'm waiting for April Fools too, hey, ،with such a talent in football, you deserve this title very well.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You think so ? Well thank you very much Lara

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow, such a nice nickname. You must be a great footballer. King means Oba in Yoruba, ohhh I gat the idea.

Anyways, nice to meet you. I'm new here, please engage in my first published article.

Thanks 🥰

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sure thing Tolu thanks for stopping by

$ 0.00
2 years ago

April fool i will try with you hahaha! Wow you are a good player of football, are playing for your university team? I am good in cricket and playing in next year for my department.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh wow that’s nice .. and no I am not in my school team I don’t think I am that good .. so yeah but I also love cricket

$ 0.00
2 years ago

By your way of talk i think you are a good player

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Only if I could play football I would have mingled with more people. But I still don’t even watch football 😂

And it’s so nice to get to the root of your nick. What a lovely story behind the great name.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you so much Yusuf … ikr I like the name too .. how far bro long time hope you good

$ 0.00
2 years ago