Listen... Songs... Music...

6 34
Avatar for JulyAnn
2 years ago
April 21, 2022 | Thursday

--

Is there a song that you used to sing during your childhood?

During childhood our parents used to teach us songs for us to sing during our early days. Most of the times its a children songs, and we never excempt songs like Rain, Rain Go Away, Twinkle, Twinkle Little Star, Itsy Bitsy Spider, and etc. There are lots of children songs that is being taught to children especially today we have this Cocomelon in Youtube in where children can learn different children songs.

Would you ever believe me that I never learned children songs? I only heard them but I was never taught singing them. I only learned most of it while listening to other kids and learned at school.

When I was 3 years old, I always heard songs but not children songs. My father really love to sing. During his leisure time he always sing a song whatever he wants. Almost everyday I hear him sing, singing is heart out.

One day, when my mother is busy doing the laundry, my father is the one who is taking care of me. While we are on the mammock, me sitting on his tummy, swinging back and forth, he sing a song and I was only listening. He suddenly stop and said that he will teach me how to sing the song he was singing.

One by one, he taught me each line and its melody, repeatedly. And obviously I can't learn a song in just a day.

Singing the song becomes our day to day bonding even before going to bed. Until slowly I learned it little by little. Its not a children song, but rather it was a love song entitled "Paper Roses" by Marie Osmond.

Even I am still "bulol" or can't say the words properly and I don't understand its lyrics, I still managed to sing it. From that onwards the elders loved to hear me sing. They smiled and laughed everytime I sing it, and they always wanted and requesting to sing it.

After memorizing the whole song, my father taught me again another song, "Bed of Roses" by Bon Jovi.

Thinking back, I think my father koves roses. He used to sing this two songs mostly everyday, that's why its the one he taught me to sing. And like the first song, he taught me many times just to learn the melody and memorize the lyrics. And his efforts paid off because again I memorized the whole song.

I think every Filipino can relate to this, everytime there is a celebration or a party, videoke is a must. So everytime there is one in our neighborhood, he always give me the microphone and sing any of the two songs. And as a kid, feeling shy is never in my vocabulary, I am always on the go to sing (and also dance).

I remember, I loved watching programs where there is someone singing, like ASAP in ABS-CBN. Sarah Geronimo becomes my inspiration and idol. That's why, before I wanted to become a singer.

My father also taught me some OPM songs like:

Kanlungan by Noel Cabangon

Dadalhin by Regine Velasquez

Kahit Maputi na ang Buhok Ko by Rey Valera

Kastilyong Buhangin by Basil Valdez

--

There's a lot more but I can't remember now the titles. But as soon as I hear the songs, I automatically sing and jive with it.

Singing becomes my hobby and music becomes part of my life. I can't make the day end without hearing a song. Whatever I do or make, I always have my earplug on my ears. Music motivates me in my everyday activities.


4
$ 13.27
$ 13.13 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
+ 3
Sponsors of JulyAnn
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for JulyAnn
2 years ago

Comments

Hi! Ako nga memorize ko dati ang kanta ng bandang Air Supply tsaka Bing Rodrigo, willy garte paulit² kasing pinapatugtog dati 😂 Ang luma Kong tao talaga

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Magaganda kasi talaga yung mga songs dati. Talagang nakaka LSS.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ako diko na din tanda yong mga song na tinuro sakin ng parents ko ee. Basta ang alam ko mahilig ako sa music. Lagi mandin naka earphone din ako.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dati pangarap ko pang maging singer. 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ako dn madam natoto lng ng children songs sa pakikinig haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang ginagawa kasi ni papa dati yung mga kanta pinapalitan nya ng lyrics kaya natutuwa kami. No need na ang mga children songs. Hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago