Debuting on read.cash

6 70
Avatar for Jules_951
1 year ago

Hello to everyone here, i am excited and at the same time super nervous to be putting up my first article here. I was introduced to this platform some months ago by a friend of mine and it has been a great experience since then, there are definitely a lot of talented and knowledgeable writers on this platform. I am glad to have come across such a platform that gives the opportunity to learn, interact and express oneself freely through writing, coupled with the opportunity to earn as well. I look forward to learning more about BCH, gaining more financial intelligence and also learning from other people's experiences and knowledge.

I was a bit unsure about what to write about in my first article, after much though i decided to just start writing.

For some reason i have always had a thing for words, you could call it love or appreciation, i'm not sure but i think it has something to do with the power they have whether they are written or spoken. I think it’s also why I have a special admiration and respect for poets and authors. For a long time as far back as I can remember owning a phone that could text; I remember often looking forward to the Christian yuletide celebrations, asides from the happy atmosphere, the food, family and every other wonderful thing that comes with it, I also loved the opportunity to send Christmas and new year messages to loved ones. I never understood it but I looked forward to sitting down with my pen and paper and composing Christmas and New Year messages to send out to loved ones. I’d write down the things that reminded me of Christmas; lights, laughter, joy and I would enjoy the process of putting it all together into a meaningful message, it genuinely made me happy.

Sponsors of Jules_951
empty
empty
empty

On getting into secondary school, I became part of the press club/literary and debating society, which meant I got involved in essay writing and composition, news casting, debate writing and a bunch of other stuff. Being introverted in nature I didn’t fancy having to stand in front of an audience to argue a case or topic, which was why I stuck to writing and developing the necessary points for the debaters, a process I enjoyed too. I had no issues with reading the news, though I still don’t understand why I refrained from debating in front of an audience but absolutely loved reading the news, which was also done in the presence of an audience but that is me digressing.

I have often heard the phrase “sticks and stones may break my bones but words can’t hurt me” and in thinking about this line, a lot of things come to mind. Words come in different forms, languages, and with different intentions, motives and forces behind them but does that make them any less powerful? I understand why one would choose to doubt a person’s word or flat out ignore them, especially when Lies, derogatory words and insults come into play, when you know a person is lying or throwing hurtful words at you, it would cause you to ignore and disbelieve those words. That in my opinion is not letting those words have maximum power over you but they could affect someone else, who may not know how to handle or deal with them. I have used words carelessly, sometimes letting emotions or sentiments get the better of me, sometimes it’s just as a result of my own carelessness. After some time though maybe when I’m thinking in retrospect about the events of a day, I would realize that they were certain words I didn’t have to say, sometimes it is at that moment I realize I may have hurt and offended with my words. Then I try to plan out how to rectify my mistakes, it teaches me a lesson every time; words can sometimes be like spilled milk, once they are out and on the floor, it takes a lot more effort to rectify, clarify and change them than it took to say or write them in the first place, it’s not impossible but it takes a lot more intentional work especially when emotions and feelings are involved.

I then say to myself in correction, why not learn to put that intentional work and effort into either staying quiet and just listening to try to better understand the situation or really thinking through your words before saying them. It is not easy to do or remember when you are knee deep into a situation, emotions can get really tough to control, what I think helps me at times to reconsider my words is to quickly think about the after effect that they would have, would it be worth it or not. Sometimes we do face situations when we need to be blunt and brutally honest; there are also times when we need to speak up for ourselves regardless of whether or not a person would like it. Intention I think matters in those situations, when I do need to speak up and speak out for myself, I am not intending to harm or hurt anyone but rather to defend myself, set boundaries or just give a voice to something that affects me. They are times when I do need to be honest with somebody; a friend, a brother or family who need and sometimes request for honesty, which can be hurtful at times but of course the intent is not to hurt but to be of help.

As long I can be honest with myself enough to know when the intention behind the words is to hurt and anger, I can catch myself in time to try to change that intention. It is difficult in reality, for instance when I’ve been hurt or angered, I want to also clap back at the person. Practice does make progress; I try to remind myself of that. As long as I am willing to keep practicing and working at being better with the intent and purpose of my words then it will get better. That’s not to take away the fun that could be had with words; jokes, comedy and the laughter they bring. Whether it is with friends or family, being able to tease and joke around is wonderful, sometimes though a joke can rub off the wrong way. I do enjoy good banter and being able to have a good laugh with friends, family and loved ones, comedy shows and movies too. Just thinking about it as I write this; whether its laughter, joy, happiness, sadness, anger or pain they are aided in their communication by words, and actions too but words also play a role.

Words can be beautiful, if used beautifully and with pure intentions; they can bring smiles, make peace, mend hearts and breed love but they could also cause frowns, incite wars, break hearts and breed anger and hate. Which is why I think they are such a powerful tool and why I love them so much and admire people who use them beautifully and with good intent; thinking back, I realize that why I probably like reading, writing or just even listening to words is simply because of how it makes me feel. The smile that reading a nice poem or message brings to me, the feeling of usefulness and satisfaction that writing gives me, the enlightenment from listening to  profound words being spoken, it goes on and on.

I of course haven’t been and am still not perfect when it comes to being conscious, intentional and humane with my words, Which is why even though I know that I’m human and would slip up and make mistakes, I am consciously trying to be more productive with how I use my words. It is definitely not easy, it hasn’t been for me but I know it is something worth working at.

To me words are essential and yes they do hurt me but other times they are also all that I need to make me feel better on a bad day, what do words mean to you?

Thank you so much for reading.

5
$ 0.03
$ 0.01 from @Mictorrani
$ 0.01 from @BCH_LOVER
$ 0.01 from @Tomi-Ajax
Avatar for Jules_951
1 year ago

Comments

Welcome back to read.cash and you had a great introductory post. Nice meeting you here and hoping to read more articles from writer like you... You have a lot of experience about writing and it is great advantage for you to be here.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you so much

$ 0.00
1 year ago

What a great Introduction you have in your first article. Nice to meet you Jules. Enjoy your stay!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you, nice to meet you too

$ 0.00
1 year ago

A strong first article here; welcome!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you so much for the encouragement

$ 0.00
1 year ago