The Visayas Art Fair 2021 – The Event

7 45
Avatar for Judith1969
2 years ago

November 28, 2021

Warning : This is a photo blog as one cannot write about art without the visuals. Read at your own risk. 😁

Currently happening in Cebu this week is the first ever Visayas Art Fair. It started last November 25 and will last until November 28 at Montebello Villa Hotel.

Around 1000 artworks and 400 artists showcased their best handiworks, may it be in the field of painting, sculpting or fashion. As the theme is β€œConnecting the Islands Through Art”, various artists from all over the Visayas came to join the event. It is a celebration of our cultural diversity and richness of our region.

The opening day of the event was graced by our governor, Gov. Gwen Garcia and various government officials.

This project was spearheaded by Cebu Design Week Inc. They intend to unite the creative artists and industries in Cebu and in the Visayas. They spearheaded various exhibits before the pandemic happened.

I have not joined yet in any of their bazaars as they conflict with my schedule. Some of my colleagues in Cebu Crochet Group were able to join though.

This year, I participated in the various events as they fall on Saturdays. I have written in a previous article regarding our groups’ installation of crocheted items on the trees at the venue, a tree yarn bombing activity. Here is the link should you want to know more about this activity.

https://read.cash/@Judith1969/yarn-tree-bombing-the-installation-00be60fe

That event happened last Saturday, November 20, and yesterday, November 27, I participated again in another event. This time our group is to have a demo and workshop at the event venue. We were given a few table spaces for this event. Only a few of us are in yesterday’s event as we cannot let all the members join in or else we will be blocking the entire area.

Β 

I arrived a bit early so I went around first to see the art displays.

At the ground outside are the artworks of James Webb. He used dead waste wood and stainless steel for his arts.

Don't mind the butterfly model. 😁

There were painters who paints on site. These two have a calesa in front of them which is the subject of their painting. As you can see, they have different interpretation. I am just sorry I was not able to take a picture of their subject.

The paintings were housed in different buildings. In one of the buildings, you can see this wide board where one can draw / create and try to be an artist for a few minutes using colored chalk.

There are several cubicles within this building, separating one artist’s artwork from other artists.

A JM Picornell’s artwork is priced at Php 100,000 ($2,000) each. Like this painting which he entitled β€œFlores y Ventanas”. The medium of this painting is Oil in Canvass. It is a 40 x 30 inches in size and cost Php 100,000.00.

I was not able to get who is the artist of this painting below but I really fell in love with it. It is a black and white painting of three beautiful ladies. I think they are the plantitas at heart.

Another one that captures my attention is this painting below. I really thought that it is a picture and is just printed into a huge print. I really went near it and would have touched it if it was allowed to touch the paintings as I can’t believe that it is a painting. The details are just so impressive. Look at those eyebrows!

There are also paintings that depicts Christianity here in the Philippines.

More paintings to feast your eyes with.

There are also paintings that have no price indicated and they are housed in a separate building. Like the artwork of Tito Cuevas. His artworks are for bidding and the painting will be given to the highest bidder.

Here below are a few of his artworks. Β 

Β 

Have you had your fill now?

Going back to why I was at the event yesterday. As mentioned above, we had an onsite workshop.

We had several students on that workshop, ranging from young teens to lawyers. We were quite busy then. We have to end the session since it was dark already and their concert is about to start. We can no longer hear each other without shouting.

Thank you for joining me in appreciating arts. Hope you have feasted your eyes out.

 🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈

Β That’s all for now folks.

Thanks for dropping by.

To my sponsors, upvoters and commenters, a HUGE THANK YOU!

Thanks for the 🧑🧑🧑.

Β 

Β 

Β 

Β 

8
$ 2.60
$ 2.33 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
+ 6
Sponsors of Judith1969
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Judith1969
2 years ago

Comments

these are amazing and beautiful art, the artist is really talented

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow! I've never been to an art fair but I myself do love art. I used to paint before and I know how difficult it is to paint something. These artworks are beautiful. My favorite has to be the girl surrounded with leaves. Just fantastic

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The visuals and arts are all superb, ate Judith! How I wish I can go there and take a photo as well. The artworks are fine and beautiful! 😍

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Filipinos are truly talented in most any field of art. So proud!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Very beautiful all the works. I love the window and the flowers. And also the drawing of the face that looks like a photo. Thanks for sharing.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow ang ganda naman ng mga paintings mam, so nice!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Oo nga. Mga creative talaga sila. 🧑

$ 0.00
2 years ago