Writing Prompt #25: Would You Rather . . .

24 109
Avatar for JonicaBradley
2 years ago

Would You Rather is a game I often played with friends as a young girl.

I still play this game today because it works not only as a conversation starter but as a thought exercise, too. It helps with the imagination. It gets people to think outside of the box.

The rules of the game are very easy. You have to choose between two scenarios. You then have to justify your choice. You have to explain why you chose what you chose.

The other day my daughter and I were on the phone and we somehow got onto the topic of would you rather. My daughter is going to be 34 in April. I didn't want you to think I was playing this game with a very small child. I have played this game with young children, but I tend to tailor it more toward their mindset

Would you rather walk into a roomful of flies covering the walls or would you rather walk into a room covered in maggots that you can hear?

My daughter asked me this question. I immediately said maggots. Because they can't land on me and tickle me. I hate it when flies do that. Even the flies that don't bite bother me a lot. I also hate it when flies buzz around close to my face, get behind my glasses, or go in my mouth.

My daughter said she would rather be in a roomful of flies than maggots that you can hear. She thinks that would be worse than hearing styrofoam packing materials. You know the sound of styrofoam rubbing against styrofoam. EEEEEEEE.

I agree with her about the styrofoam, for sure!

For this writing prompt, I would like you to think about some crazy situations you might have to choose from. Write about them write your choice. Write why you chose what you did. Or just write about how stupid you think the game is or how you have never played it.

Just in case you have a hard time coming up with some choices, I've made a list below.

Remember, in order to take part in the writing prompts, please follow these simple rules:

  1. Join the Promptly Jonica community here

  2. Write anything about bad habits

  3. Write 100% original content

  4. Write at least 600 words for Rusty to be happy

  5. Submit your article to PromptlyJonica

  6. Tag me, @JonicaBradley

  7. Have fun!

Don't forget: there are no time limits! You can write any prompt and time as many times as you like forever. Please find links to all the writing prompts, including this one, here:https://read.cash/@JonicaBradley/the-promptlyjonica-writing-prompts-linked-in-order-5a576c94.

Would You Rather . . .

  • Get spanked or get slapped?

  • Eat too salty food or eat too spicy food?

  • Be in love or someone in love with you?

  • Hate someone or someone hate you?

  • Have a job you hate but make good money or a job you love but do not make good money?

  • Be the caregiver or be taken care of?

  • Live alone or be surrounded by crowds of people?

  • Swim with sharks or alligators/crocodiles?

  • Be too hot or too cold?

  • Be too hungry or too thirsty

  • Be dominant or be submissive?

Don't forget to explain your choices

All images license free from Unsplash

19
$ 9.05
$ 8.68 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @LykeLyca
$ 0.05 from @Bjorn
+ 10
Sponsors of JonicaBradley
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for JonicaBradley
2 years ago

Comments

Great idea to write about, glad you're back with the prompts too! Btw, I don't like the sound of styrofoam when rubbed too, eeek!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It is the worst sound.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for initiating this, I'll love to join

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I'm happy to have you here.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

this is going to be fun. words are now rushing through my mind. ill write later after my shift.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oh, good! Look forward to reading it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wait, I could not choose between flies and maggots. Both disgusting (sorry to those who like them 🥺) OMG.. It's hard!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I don't mind maggots as much. I would not want to walk into a room covered in maggots, though. Unless I had my chickens with me!!!!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

OMG! This is so much fun! I'm just starting a draft for the Bad Habits prompt to publish today, now I have a new one, thank you!!!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I actually published several of articles about answering some would you rather question.

Now, I'm glad its now a prompt and I'll be able to share again some of would you rather entries. ☺️

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Feel free to submit them to the PromptlyJonica community of you like. Even if they are already published. I can't wait to read them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Gonna try this. 😁

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Welcome! I look forward to it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This sounds interesting. I want to join too hihi

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Please do!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Gonna try it

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Looking forward to it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Another prompt, thanks for this. I have save many prompts already but haven't made an entry about those. Hope I can join in this one

$ 0.01
2 years ago

When you are ready you will!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Here we come again.. I think I will have to put a good thinking into this one

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Can't wait to see what you come up with

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for this another prompt😊😍

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You're very welcome.

$ 0.00
2 years ago