War! What is it Good For?

11 29
Avatar for JonicaBradley
2 years ago

I want to start off with this video (with lyrics).

Edwin Starr - War (What is it good for)

I was watching aljazeera.com early this morning and found myself in tears.

It is war, once again, in my lifetime. I was curious to see what my country has gotten itself into by way of war and violent conflict in just my lifetime. I did a quick google search and came across this article:

Kelly, Martin. "American Involvement in Wars From Colonial Times to the Present." ThoughtCo, Jul. 31, 2021, thoughtco.com/american-involvement-wars-colonial-times-present-4059761.

It gives a chart of all the conflicts and wars the United States of America has been involved in. A LOT.

This chart starts just after World War II ended. If I am looking up the wars in my lifetime, I would need to start in the middle of the Vietnam War.

I was born in 1968.

The article was updated in November of 2020. I think the charts were as well.

These are just the U.S. conflicts. Wikipedia has another chart for global wars. If you are curious, check here.

These articles and charts demonstrate that. across the globe, there has been war every day since the day I was born.

I am so sad. I am so worried for Europe. I feel bad for the Russian people who are also embroiled in this war whether they want to be or not. Just check out the FIFA statement regarding the World Cup.

I'm worried for all the refugees and all the people joining the Ukraine military. I feel proud of the people that are standing up to invasion, tyranny, and downright bullying. I have always had a soft spot for the underdog. For rebels.

Ukrainian guards tell Russian warship "Fuck you!" image created by Jonica Bradley

I marveled at Zelenskyy's response to offers of safety by other countries.

"I don't need a ride, I need ammunition."

I marvel at the response 13 border guards stationed on a small, rocky Black Sea outcropping known as Snake Island gave to a Russian naval ship that was broadcasting a message asking for their surrender. 

"Russian warship, go fuck yourself!"

Some people are calling this a rallying cry for Ukrainians. Some are calling the 13 guards heroes. I imagine their families' devastation and pride.

I marvel at Germany's reversal of its long-held law regarding arming foreign countries.

I marvel at the reversal of Switzerland's centuries of neutrality.

I marvel at the Russian military's lack of supplies. They are running out of gas for their war machines. This has ever been the case.

I marvel at live nuclear weapons.

And I am so sad. So terribly sad at the horrible cost of one political system's greed.

And now we wait. We wait for the talks in Belarus. We wait for the inevitible.

Does anybody truly believe this will end with Ukraine? Is this the start of another world war?

7
$ 3.88
$ 3.76 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @JLoberiza
$ 0.05 from @George_Dee
+ 1
Sponsors of JonicaBradley
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for JonicaBradley
2 years ago

Comments

well... I hope this war ends in Ukraine. Edwin Starr is absolutely right, war is good for absolutely nothing!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I wonder when we will have peace in the world? Seems like an impossible feat.. God help us all!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I wonder, too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The sound of war is not a good one to the year, regardless of who comes out victorious - I believe the affected lives would live with the memories in their head forever. Russian invading Ukraine must be put to an end as soon as possible because things are stylishly getting out of hand. May the souls lost in the crisis rest in perfect peace.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I agree.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

May this war will not prolong any further for it only cost chaos worldwide. Pray for the concerned parties to have a soft heart for their people not to suffer the imminent tragedy of a war.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Unfortunately, I believe the leaders of Russia do not care about the people in any country, including their own.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

May God bless us all. I am sad as you miss Jonica. Worried as will for what future holds. I hope war will end soon before it becomes bigger.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I truly believe that this is just the beginning of what is to come. Today it's Ukraine and Russia tomorrow it will become other countries and I am sure it has been going on in some other countries before now.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

All over the world.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Of course and it's sickening.

$ 0.00
2 years ago