The Hunt is Still On

14 47
Avatar for JonicaBradley
2 years ago

Rochester, New York is where my husband and I would like to settle. We've been looking for a house since November of 2021. We still have not found one.

The housing market is INSANE right now. Homes that sold for $50,000 three years ago are going for $150,00 and higher. And it seems like every sale is a cash sale. My husband and I, with our meager in-comparison budget, just can't compete.

We flew to New York together last week. We looked at many houses. We put in many offers. We didn't get any.

We are rethinking our strategy. I may have to move to New York earlier than I expected. Keith will stay and pack up the house. I will get a job. I'm sure there are plenty of jobs within walking distance of my mom's house. I would have to stay with her for a couple of months.

I have to admit, as good as it was to see my family and visit Rochesteragain, I am getting discouraged. I want to live closer to my family, but it is looking harder and harder to accomplish it.

We did have some nice times while we were there, between house viewings.

Selfie with my mom.

We were able to eat some pretty interesting food, and visit the lake and some historical sites. These photos are from our visit to the Genesee Brew House in downtown Rochester.

Genesee River Falls

It was super cold there, even in April. It snowed at least once while we were there.

Genesee River and Falls

A few of the houses we viewed were almost right on the lake. That's Lake Ontario, one of the five Great Lakes.

Lake Ontario is one of the smallest of the Great Lakes and it is so big it looks like an ocean. With waves!

Lake Ontario

Lake Ontario

One thing the cloudy, gray day is good for is the lighting. I think the background of dark clouds makes for some pretty decent photos.

Lake Ontario

Downtown Rochester, New York

Lake Genesee

Every morning for the past several months, I scan the real estate pages looking for a home. We thought we had one. We were under contract. We didn't get it because the seller couldn't find their own place to buy. So we had to kill the contract and keep looking. I'm so tired of looking.

I just want to have something.

When I'm not looking at real estate, I'm packing. I'm not sure where we will put all of these packed boxes! We don't even have a house, yet.

The hunt is still on. We'll keep looking. I'll push through my discouragement and keep going.

Meanwhile, I owe y'all a prompt. I'll get on it a.s.a.p.

11
$ 5.33
$ 5.13 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Expressionless
$ 0.03 from @gertu13
+ 6
Sponsors of JonicaBradley
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for JonicaBradley
2 years ago

Comments

My husband and I are house hunting too but we are renting, not buying. All the best on your hunt :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hope you find a new one very soon. Some good things come into our hands very late and stay for a longer time. It happens for good.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I do hope you are right!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Real state property is a great choice but I guess that's kinda expensive too

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I hope it turns out to be a good investment. I hope the bubble doesn't pop right when we want to sell.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you for this virtual tour of this wonderful place ❤️

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You're welcome

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Property rates raising speedy all around in the world. Hope you will get your home soon you r looking beauty with your mom stay happy dear

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I wish you a lucky house hunt for you settle as soon as possible.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Me, too! Thanks

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Good luck, the housing market in the Netherlands is also crazy! Average house price here is now well above 400.000...

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yikes!

$ 0.00
1 year ago