Signs I Might Actually be an Adult

34 53
Avatar for JonicaBradley
2 years ago

Adulting is hard. And just because someone somewhere decided 18 years on earth magically turns a child into an adult doesn't mean it's actually true. I'm well over age 18, but am still unsure of my alduthood status.

There are some signs I may have achieved this elusive status.

Dryer Lint

One sign I'm an adult is after washing and drying my clothes I always remove the dryer lint.

You wouldn't think this would be a sign of adulthood, but judging by the many MANY times I've yelled at my kids for forgetting this crucial step, it must be.

Toilet Paper

Not only do I NEVER run out of toilet paper, I also always replace the empty roll with a full roll on the dispenser.

This is definitely a sign I'm an adult.

Toothbrushes

Before I became a full fledged adult, I never thought about toothbrushes. I just used the brush sitting in my medicine cabinet.

Now that I'm an actual adult, I buy new toothbrushes every other time I buy toothpaste.

Speaking of which, toothpaste on my grocery list of a sign I'm an adult. It's just not something kids think about.

Dirty Dishes

Ok. If we're judging my adulthood by the state of my kitchen, I'd say I might qualify as, I don't know, a toddler? Maybe a tween. A tween is a kid who is in the double digits but not yet in the teens.

Since I DO rinse my dishes before piling then in the sink, I guess I could qualify as a tween.

Bed

If I walk into my bedroom and see my bed is unmade, it literally hurts my stomach. I MUST drop everything and make the bed.

On that front, I've definitely reached adulthood. Unfortunately, I don't change my sheets as often as I probably should. So, NOT an adult.

On the other hand, I DO know how to fold a fitted sheet. So, OBVIOUSLY an adult.

Food

I would be lying if I said my eating habits prove my adulthood. I usually eat sweets before the meal and I almost always play with my food. I even made a little pig out of bread.

My little bread pig
Bread pig painted pink

As my next birthday approaches far too quickly, I realize adulthood isn't everything it's cracked up to be.

Sometimes I'm an adult. Most times I'm still a kid. All the time I'm just me.

Till next time.

Lead image: me age 6

18
$ 2.84
$ 2.21 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @immaryandmerry
$ 0.10 from @Pantera
+ 11
Sponsors of JonicaBradley
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for JonicaBradley
2 years ago

Comments

  1. Dryer lint - I always remove that one. Does that makes me an adult? lol
  2. Toilet paper - I'm a kid with this one. haha
  3. Toothbrushes - Adult
  4. Dirty dishes - Adult
  5. Bed - Adult
  6. Foods - Maybe a tween. lol

geez! I'm really adulting. oh well, I still have this 'kid' side within me but I don't think it will ever leave. we are all a kid inside. maybe sometimes kid, most of the time adult, or vice versa. but yeah, both a kid and an adult, I guess.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We are all adults here 🤣 Before I don't know about changing toothbrush every after three months, until I become adult 🤣🤣 just kidding..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I do my laundry manually so that makes me what? lol! I replace by toothbrush when I feel like it. I always make my bed but don't replace sheet as often though. I can't make pig out of bread. However, I might turn into a pig for eating lots of bread :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Here's my thoughts -

  1. Removing the dryer lint has always been the most fun and satisfying part of doing the laundry ever since I was old enough to know how to do the laundry. lol

  2. I've also been pretty good at replacing the TP or at least making sure that there's always a back-up roll around. This stems from a lesson I learned ages ago when I didn't check first and got stuck in a shitty (lol) situation. The rest of my fam was outside doing some Autumn stuff, and I was trapped in the bathroom. They all got their picture taken and put in the local paper while I was trapped haha. My dad sent my sister into the house to ask if I was okay a few times, but she just said "are you ok?" and then left without getting my response 😂

  3. Yeah, you're on your own there with the toothbrushes 🤣

  4. Same with the dishes - that's still a chore for me.

  5. And making the bed. I've never understood the point of making your bed. If it's a guest room I get it - but my own bed? Naaaaaaaaah

  6. If you want to say that the food you eat makes you an adult, then you have to prove it by eating candy all the time because you're old enough to buy it and nobody can tell you not to eat it for breakfast etc 'cause you're the adult now 😂😂😂

$ 0.60
2 years ago

Perfect!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahah it's hard to admit but adulthood is in our system already, now I easily get irritated by dirty environment/unorganized things inside the house. Budgeting became part of daily life and minding our health more than ever since there are signs of aging already hahahah

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am so guilty with the Bed 🤣. I'll be willing to drop everything I am doing just to make the bed. Gash, I can't even go out from my room without fixing my bed.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A tween is a kid who is in the double digits but not yet in the teens. - TWEEN new word unlocked.

Yes, I agree that sometimes we are adult and sometimes we are not. It is just that, there are times we wanted to act as an adult and sometimes as a kid. By the pig bread is too cute.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Adulthood and maturity is not about age but the mind.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Is it really required to be an adult? Life pressures us to be "matured" when it is just to be serious all the time. Well, just be you! Let's just be ourselves! Living as if we're young may really lower our stress levels, and even make us happier.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aren't we all just kids at really ! Love your bread pig, that is a wee work of art.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

She got some pink paint.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh that is even cuter

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm going to edit the photo into the story.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe I see it, that is awesome

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Adulthood and maturity is not about age but the mind.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sometimes, what you are now might now qualify you to be an adult. Been an adult is through your behaviour in some certain things. You have truly proved to be an adult except for the area of eating sweet which happened to be for children.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Age is just a number, maturity can't be judge by the age, the listed points are really visit in knowing if one has attain adulthood

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Judging from the points you listed... I'm an adult too when it comes to toothbrushes and pastes because I do change the brushes regularly.

Dressing the bed, I can't sleep if the bed is not well dressed so I would say I am an adult.

I don't play with my food though I am a slow eater, so I am an adult.

I don't think I am an adult when it comes to playing... I play a lot.🤣🥴😜😂🕺

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Playing is good!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah!!! But then thank you for drawing our minds to something we rarely think of...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

👶👶👶

$ 0.00
2 years ago

🤣🤣you have just turned me to your baby now...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The things you mentioned made me realize that I am not an adult yet. I'm still living with my family and still a student. I don't do things that you mentioned. Oh well, I'll enjoy this moment of mine first and not be rushed on being a total adult. 😅

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Don't rush! It's not everything it's cracked up to be!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Adulthood is really a thing of the mind from.my opinion but in all of these, you made the best point which I really love.. Keep it up!

$ 0.05
2 years ago

My mind is far from adult! Very far.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahaha... Are you serious! But you know the best way to live a happy life is by living like a child... Never thinking life and things so serious.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

An adult trapped in a girl of 6 I would say. You have always been a cutie, mama...I wish that would be a sign of adulthood too 😂😂🤣because you were so cute back then and still cute as I can see, presently.

How is your walk going, daily?

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I've spent the last few days either gardening or mucking out the milk barn. The milk barn is a big job. I get the girls hay when the grass turns brown in the pasture. They eat most of it, but they throw it around, too. So the floor of the milk barn is covered in last year's hay and all the things goats do every 10 minutes. That's been a very physical job, so I haven't been out walking. But I will return to it as soon as the barn is clear. I can only do a portion of it every day due to my allergies.

I was a cute kids, wasn't I?

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I must admire your strength for even doing them. I see it as a workout routine hahaha which I believe is helpful and I am happy you are not pushing too much due to the allergies.

How is your friend holding up, mama?

Of course, I believe you kept the same face even till now. Once a cutie, always a cutie 😍😍😍.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

My friend is with her family for now. I'll check on her soon. I think she was feeling a little overwhelmed with all the people.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Absolutely...it can overwhelming seeing and having much people around. Well done, mama. God bless your heart and I wish you strength too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago