Plagiarism Will Not Be Tolerated

54 237
Avatar for JonicaBradley
2 years ago

I'm offended. Seriously, stomach clenchingly offended. I'm angry and hurt and I feel nauseous.

I expect plagiarized articles to be submitted to the community. I do. I'm used to it. I think people would know me by now and not attempt it, but they still do.

Usually, I simply reject, and report. Is it's a repeat offender, I mute them. I move on. I can't waste my time and energy getting angry.

This time is different. It's different because A) they submitted to MY community. The community I worked so hard to create. The community that feels like my baby. B) because of the subject matter.

Incest

I'm a survivor of sexual abuse by a relative. My paternal grandfather. I don't want to go into the details. Just know that it happened. I'm a survivor of sexual abuse and rape by many others who weren't related to me, too, but that's too long a story and a little bit off topic.

This account has been muted, their name noted by me on paper, the article rejected and reported, commented upon and downvoted.

The article has earned more than many of my articles. It's earned almost $10.00 at the time of writing. I didn't notice any tips from the Random Rewarder so the account may already be demonetized.

That means the only people getting hurt are the people who are giving tips and who didn't get tips because they didn't plagiarize.

I'm seriously with @Pantera in his feelings of outrage on this one.

I'm downright triggered. And today is all days. It's date day for me and my husband. I don't even know if I will be able to preform or enjoy our performance.

The worst part is the account got all Jesus-y.

This is the article

https://read.cash/@OfficialGamboaLikeUs/success-overcoming-depression-through-forgivenes-9de1a648

In closing, I have just a few things to say to @OfficialGamboaLikeUs

I deleted very harsh words here. I still mean them. I am so angry. And offended. And triggered. Some have already read the words. Needles to say it is an expletive directed at the owner of the account.

I've never forgiven my grandfather. I doubt I will forgive whoever is running this account.

18
$ 9.53
$ 5.00 from @Pantera
$ 3.75 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.15 from @eommaZel
+ 12
Sponsors of JonicaBradley
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for JonicaBradley
2 years ago

Comments

Lol people suddenly being so strict here these days when even the bot is upvoting "unworthy" one paragraph and one image articles. Gives mixed signals to everyone. I even see affiliate and referral links and entire copies of their own articles (by other nationalities) submitted here after being posted in their own blog but still marked exclusive and upvoted with a high amount.

Ah such is life on writing to earn sites... Too bad it was submitted in your community. Hope everything gets resolved soon. :)

$ 0.05
2 years ago

This particular incident, about which I'm really done talking, I left in the hands of the admin. It has been resolved.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh that's good to know then. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm with you and @pantera in fighting plagiarism. I don't take sides even if one of the involved is my next-door neighbor. It so happens, she is a couple of hours away from where I am. Anyways, I read the article in question and checked her other articles before I make my own reaction. It so happens, that this issue has been resolved already. ( I got hooked in something else that I haven't been reading posts here). I'm glad this was just, what we might call a "False-Positive".

On the other hand, this would show that plagiarism is not taken lightly in this platform.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Did you check the sources if the plagiarized content of her article are the same with the one on the sources? Her article is like a personal matter.. And sometimes the detector will mark the content as plagiarized if it has similarities with other passages on the internet.. .

And she included some bible verses so it's normal to be found on the internet.
You should check the content that has been flagged as plagiarized if they are really plagiarized.. There is no perfect detector.. Even readcash's detector is also not reliable.. . Let's not rely on the detector before we conclude... Check the content first..

I am checking her work as well. If the result is reliable..

I'm saying this because I have experienced one time and it was my personal article, own words, but when In checked on the plagiarism checker, some content were said to be plagiarized even if they were my own words and thoughts .

I'm not depending her, .we should check the sources first it's reliable before we conclude.. .

By the way, that F word is against the rules because it is aimed for her... . You may omit that one before the admin noticed this article.

$ 0.32
2 years ago

Yes I checked the sources. The highlighted section in pink. And yes, there was a Bible quote, but the source wasn't the bible. It was a document about forgiveness from Facebook psychology. I'll give her that one for free. But what about the lifted quote from a university? A paper on Martin Luther King?

There are definite instances of copy and paste which makes all the other words suspect.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think using quotes is allowed here. Is it? We also use quotes and expressions we have learned from the things we have read from the internet or even movies and songs.. But the shaded one, what if it's just similar? 2%.. Is that the plagiarized result?

Sometimes, our thoughts are similar to other phrases on the internet.. Try to check yours, you might have one too.. Similar but not plagiarized...

Let's wait for the response of Gamboa.. Let's not use bad words here coz it is against the rules.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Quotes are only allowed to be used on read.cash is they are places in quotation marks and the quote is cited, giving credit to whomever said it. And where, maybe the author found it. For example, 'I read on Facebook the other day, "The quote goes here." - The Person Who Originally Said It'

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The shading means the words are the exact words in the exact order. No, 2% is NOT the plagiarized result. It was higher. No, I'm not going to keep arguing here. I'm not going to keep trying to prove my point. It's been made.

I removed the words. I refuse to remove the sentiment.

Gamboa's response was, wdym it's plagiarism?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Let the admin decide, because even if he is not replying.. He is still checking the works here and the complaints..

Next time, just control your words coz you might receive a penalty as well..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I totally agreed to you here sis and how come also they just easily throws bad words which it was also against the rules. I am NO to plagiarism as well, but yes there are instances that there are some phrases in our articles that has the same thoughts or similar from what we read on the internet. Is that plagiarism already?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm with you Ma'am, I'm against plagiarism too pero minsan talaga may mga salitang nagagamit natin na parehong-pareho sa naka publish sa net na magiging daan din para maging plagiarized 'yong work natin. Wala ring perpektong checker.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Kaya nga. Kasi parepareho lng naman phrases minsan ginagamit natn.. And 2% plagiarized result. There is a possibility that it's not really plagiarized

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sa mga researches ang 2-29% is still acceptable at ang 30% and up ay di na acceptable di kolang alam sa mga kalakaran pagdating dito. Kasi kino consider po sa research yong kahit may tamang citation na ay may possibility na minsan may mga phrases kang ginagamit na sarili mo tas plagiarism daw kuno.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

In my community there is a zero tolerance for copy paste. So I reject from the community. Sometimes I don't even report. I report of it is more than 1 or 2 sentences from more than 3 sources. It isn't hard to use a free plagiarism detector to check your own work. If you are quoting something, cite your sources. I already have a lengthy article on how to avoid plagiarism. I won't go into it here

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same yan dto sa rc.. Kpg maliit lng na percentage. Inaaccept.. And it's just 2% and there is a possibility that it's just similar content from the internet.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Each green bar is a different source. I didn't want to lay out the entire plagiarism report in this article. I gave it to read. cash, though.

Trust me, I see this kind of thing every day. I usually don't get upset nor do I get triggered or email.

Not do I waste my time doing my own investigation. Other than running through the plagiarism detector.

Unless I know the person personally outside of read.cash, which I don't think I do, I trust nothing once several sources are shown from which sentences or two or three are plagiarized.

I will let read.cash do their own investigation. I have not requested the account be banned. I only have control over my community from which the account IS banned until and unless an investigation can prove me wrong.

If so, I will apologize. I have not blocked anybody. Including those who are commenting here in another language. Which feels like whispering behind your palm about me in front of me. But whatever.

I like that you are happy to come to your friend's defence. That's what friends are for. But I've never, to my knowledge, read this account before.

For all I know is some 50 year old man writing using a young woman's profile picture.

I hope I'm wrong, actually. I really do. Because it just shatters my faith in humanity otherwise.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's more than two percent. Only the highlighted parts are 2%.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hello. May I ask what specific topics which are not allowed in your community?

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Since the community is a place for people to respond to my prompts, usually nothing is disallowed as long as it is one of the prompts. I prefer to reserve "testifying" to a spiritual community. There are so many religions and faiths here on read. cash. And people who have no faith or are Atheists. I prefer to keep the religion to a minimum. Leaving Bible quotes and quoting the Prophet Muhammad or the Torah anything of that nature in spiritual communities.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you for you reply.

Yeah, I understand about writing about faith and tried to never write about it because of my different belief.

How about if themes like murder,racism, or abuse etc are part of the fictional story? (but I'm not romanticizing these)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If it isn't inciting to hate any particular group, it's fine. Fiction and satire and poetry are all ok. As long as it is 100% original. And it is up to the writer to ensure no plagiarism, but the moderators will still check.

Even if whatever is nonfiction. Because, murder and hated and racism exist. I believe it is very important to talk about all of these subjects.

Homophobia and transphobia exist.

If the story is condoning racism or hatred, I may reject it. Like, telling people to go murder the gays or beat up the trans or lynch the brown people of the world.

That shit will be rejected and reported.

But, using certain words or not, covering certain subjects or not, smacks of censorship.

As long as it is in response to any of the prompts, it should be fine.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's true that it's important to talk about these things. So I wish to write that has message and lesson in the future.

I just asked because maybe someday I can connect these things to your prompts or came up with such ideas.

Thank you for your kind response.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Always, always a problem when money is involved. I guess I can understand it, but it still makes me morally outraged to the nth degree! I used to run a community and would spend more time on killing plagiarists than reading good articles. I wish the system just wouldn't let it be published - like, it should have a plagiarism checker built into the code. Still there's always ways to get around it.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

It's a problem, for sure.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

2% is a very low percentage to claim that a whole article involving personal matters is plagiarized. In academic writing there is even an allowed percentage of "plagiarized" content before it is deemed to be truly plagiarized.

And I checked her article again. She received tips from Rusty.

I am not going to stay silent when it is clearly not a plagiarized article. 2% yeah because there are times when we have to use some words from others to support our thoughts and statement.

I think it is a really low blow to make an article treating her as a plagiarist just because of the acceptable 2% plagiarized percentage. If it had been above 30% you will have my full support in what you did. But what you did was out of line in my opinion. You, as writer, should know how difficult it will be to be accused of plagiarism. That is the biggest insult you can give to a content creator.

Not one of us can claim that our articles are 100% unique. Every thought, words and phrases that we write and we will write has been said and written by someone else before. That is the matter of being part of the artistic community, not one of us can claim our content is original as similar to saying you are the first to think of it. No. Every thoughts we have and we will have have been thought of by someone else before.

It is a matter of using our own way to present it in a different way than before. Also, the system promised not to upvote any plagiarised content, remember? She has been given around $12 by the system for the article you claim to have been plagiarised. Are you saying that the system cannot detect plagiarism?

Another thing, are you paying for the plagiarism checker that you are using? If not then, you have been giving their articles to people who will steal their content without their knowledge. The free plagiarism checker online are used to steal other people's works. It has been widely discussed in the academic writing community. So I am hoping that you are paying for it.

$ 0.15
2 years ago

I hate repeating myself. The plagiarism checker pinged much higher number than 2% I only shared 2 screenshots out of many in the article because that wasn't even the point. It was the one sentence that pinged as plagiarism.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I really want to stand in @OfficialGamboaLikeUs side. I've been with her for almost 7 years and I already saw her article about success. There's no lie or fiction about it. I hear her testimonies many times inside the church. I'm also a rape victim of my own grandfather and she's the one who's giving me the courage not to give up. I'm honestly proud of her of how she's trying to overcome everything. She's just a lovely girl in real life. I'm just shock when she's open up about what happened here. This platform has been her friend ever since she's new to this. I hope this issue have a resolve immediately

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am also a rape victim which is why I really connected to her article. I found strength to face what happened to me because of her honesty.

I am also hoping this issue clears up sooner rather than later.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Me too. She don't have any bad intention. She just want to share her experiences through the prompt success. I didn't see any wrong about what she did. Being a rape victim is not easy and it's never been easy. But seeing her how she gave up her pain through forgiveness is the one that's giving me strength to learn how to forgive. I really admire her. I'm so proud because of how strong she was. I already saw her crying many times because of her past. And seeing how she's overcome them gives me hope that one day I will release this pain. The pain and the past that will never be forgiven. I love her article. I really love how she delivered her latest article for Jonica. I have no rights to join about this discussion but as her friend in real life I want them to know that everything that she wrote is not a fiction nor from internet. It was really based on her own and real story and I hear it many times when we're in church with others who experience the rape thing

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Don't follow the user but 1-2% can be even a quote from a movie or a part of a commercial. I understand that the subject was sensible but one thing that I learned online is to be hard and keep everything as a story. Don't get it personal or upset for someone else's actions

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It was more than 2%. It was more than 5%. The 2% is just the highlighted area.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I struggle so much to meet my deadlines and finish my articles that I don't have time to check anything. The only time I checked stuff on TurnItIn is when I submitted uni assignments. As someone else said... if you feel like someone is cheating than report and let read.cash sort it. Don't stress yourself and fight on your own

$ 0.10
2 years ago

@OfficialGamboaLikeUs is my friend in real life. I know her for almost 7 years since grade school days. What she said in her article was all true. I already hear all of her testimonies inside the church many times. There's nothing wrong about what she said. I'm also a rape victim of my own grandfather. And she's become one of my inspiration why I am trying my best to survive it everyday. Seeing her trying to be okay every day just like nothings happened is giving me strength to go on and understand why all of this things happened. I hope you don't mind my comment. It just happened that she's opened up about what's happening here. And it takes a lot of courage to tell a stories about her past life. It just happened that your prompt gives her courage to tell her story. Hope you're okay soon

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's good to know someone knows her in real life.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am with you. Plagiarism should be discharged.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I wish this plagiarism detector site was easier to use... there's lots of stuff highlighted in pink, but it doesn't seem to be interactive. I was hoping I could click on it and have it show me a link to the source the site thinks it was copied from.

The "Plagiarism Sources" on the site shows some text, but none of the text it shows appears in the article... why can't it show 1:1 quotes that were swiped?

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Dunno. I'm letting read.cash do their own investigation. I'm too triggered.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There were a few of them that tried to make me seem like a liar and a bad person.

I don't know if this was this one or not. I had this member blocked together with many others, but certainly I wasn't fair with a few of them.

One thing is certain this plagiarism needs cleaning and there are some topics we just don't lie about and don't play with as they will hurt others.

However, I'm not sure if this one was plagiarised. I will scan again later though. If you have the source of the plagiarism you can send me so I can check manually. It will need lots of time.

Sometimes the checkers are making mistakes when it comes to small percentages.

$ 0.10
2 years ago

I'll DM you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am very sorry to hear you had to go through these events in life. I think rape is a horrible thing in and of itself. And while both are terrible things, I do think when the rape is incestuous it somehow makes it worse.

I can certainly understand when it is a topic dear to you, that plagiarism would hit home a bit harder than usual. Plagiarism is also ugly, under any and all circumstances. It will never be something I will understand in the pursuit of people stealing work and calling it their own. It has never made anyone famous or notable, and in almost all cases people learn of it. So, ultimately there is nothing to gain by engaging in this sort of activity.

You have a right to be angry. But I would not let it ruin your date night, nor your time spent with someone who cares deeply for you, and would never hurt you in the way your grandfather did or this heartless tool who plagiarized.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thank you. I'm trying. A hot bath (in the middle of the day, no less) and probably a good and a half (all I have left) of pinot will probably help.

Keith knew me during the time these things happened. And he and I had already done the deed before Grandpa. He and I have known and loved each other since we were 14.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is great that you have a wonderful person in your to share, love, and confide in.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

It really, really is.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I haven't read her articles yet, stories on this topic should never be taken as a joke. It's very sensitive. I hope things will fall to their place.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I doubt it was meant as a joke. I believe it was meant to rig on people's heartstrings. And if this really happened to a real person who is the actual person running this account, then I apologize.

It is super easy to run your own articles through a plagiarism checker before hitting publish.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We don't usually run our articles if the content is purely our words and thoughts.. But it's only 7% .. For sure it's just similarities not plagiarized.. Why would she plagiarize a 7% if she has already written 93%? That made sense.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Higher than 7% but the percentage is not the point. The point was that one highlighted sentence. If only bible verses had been pinged I wouldn't even have thought twice. I might have rejected from PromptlyJonica, but wouldn't have written an article or been triggered. It was that one sentence.

I am done here and will no longer read comments here.

Y'all go ahead and talk behind my back in front of my face in a language I don't understand all you want (by the way, that could also be considered a form of bullying).

The admin had made their decision. I respect that decision.

Please, stop focusing on the trivial.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm not focusing on the trivial. I'm just citing a fact. But if that's what makes you feel better, then so be it.

If you feel like we are talking behind your back, you can translate our Tagalog comments or posts to prove it . Don't stress out yourself on things that won't make you feel happy..

We Filipinos respect the elderly and people older than us, and you are one of them. So even if we heard offensive words from foreign people, we respond to them constructively not destructively..

This will be my last comment. I hope you feel good now.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

[deleted]

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't really understand your second paragraph. In the context of this particular subject.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I checked her article and it seems based on her personal experience. I am always writing my personal experience here and as for me since that is my personal experience I will not care to use plagiarized detector. But if in case , there's a plagiarized detect on my writings about personal experience maybe you can consider thinking that sometimes people have the same experience thats why it is similae. I'm sure shes unaware for that 2 percent plagiarized on her article.

$ 0.16
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

I run everything through my plagiarism detector. In my community and in the communities I moderate.

Sensitive topics such as this should always be run through a detector.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

More than 2% was plagiarized. Just the highlighted part was 2% of the article. There are more highlighted parts.

$ 0.00
2 years ago