I've Lost My Health Insurance

36 68
Avatar for JonicaBradley
2 years ago
License free from Unsplash

I haven't actually lost it yet, but the likelihood I will lose it is very high.

In my country, the United States of America, there are a number of social programs to help low-income people.

I am very low income. And I have a disability.

Since 1995 I have been receiving what is called Supplemental Security Income (SSI). This is income from the government for people with disabilities who are also poor. My disability is my Mental Health. My diagnosis is Major Depressive Disorder and PTSD.

In my state, Texas, As long as I qualify for SSI I also automatically qualify for Medicaid. Medicaid is the federal insurance program for low-income people.

Which is all fine and dandy as long as they are looking only at MY income. Unfortunately, they also look at my husband's income. Together we can only have $3,000.00 at the end of every month or we are disqualified.

I may have already mentioned my husband has traditional investments. My personal portfolio is 100% crypto. Which means I can hide it from the government. At least for now.

But we can't hide what we've paid taxes on, including investments. Apparently, another rule is we can't have access to $3,000.00 at the end of every month. My husband's investments, though not liquid because they are INVESTMENTS, exceed this income/access limit.

So, my SSI will be canceled. Which is fine. I don't mind losing the tiny little check I get every month. But the health insurance. . . that I mind losing.

With the Affordable Care Act President Obama enacted, we should be able to get health insurance discounts. Only, our state, Texas, opted out of the program. And, last I checked, Keith earns too much money.

He doesn't earn enough to receive health insurance from his employment. He recently signed a bunch of paperwork to be put on full-time, but his boss's boss's boss apparently hasn't submitted the paperwork correctly to corporate headquarters. Or something.

So Keith doesn't know if he will even get insurance and if he does, he doesn't know if there is a family plan.

I have a wonderful county mental health program. I can get meds, free of charge from them. But without Medicaid, I will have to pay for my diabetes medications and my allergy medications out of pocket. I (probably) won't die without my allergy meds, but I will be uncomfortable to the point of incapacitation. Without the diabetes medication, all kinds of complications will ensue. Including Alzheimer's disease, blindness, stroke, and heart attack, and death.

So, those meds are the most important, after my psychiatric meds.

I haven't yet calculated the exact expense of paying for all of my medications out of pocket. A lot. Too much.

In addition to the medications, I have quarterly doctor's office visits with bloodwork. They run a lot of labs on me.

And of course, without the allergy medicine, I'll be back to having cluster migraines. Have you ever tried to write with a migraine? How about with a migraine that lasts 3 days. So, you can see how my potential income will be even more reduced. As will my general quality of life.

The American healthcare system is fucked.

I've spent all day gathering the paper work, making copies, and stuffing an envelope.

My desk. Gggaaagghhhhhhh!

I have sent the SSI caseworker all of the information she requested. I hope I can stay on it. But at this point, the hope feels more like a wish.

You can expect many more articles, here, from me. I can't guarantee their quality. But I can make a lot of quantity.

All images license free from Unsplash or by me.

18
$ 11.61
$ 10.95 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @PVMihalache
$ 0.10 from @Crackers
+ 10
Sponsors of JonicaBradley
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for JonicaBradley
2 years ago

Comments

I really hope you can still keep that insurance. These required income ranges are sometimes disadvantageous. Like ome may earn high gross income but expenses cover majority of it, so it's not actually high in general, in this sense. This max or min income requirements makes it hard for others to quality for benefits they really dese rve to have, like insurance or financial assistance, for example.

I remember our family being not qualified for financial assistance program because our house was stone. Like wow. We may have a house.made of stone but my dad works at junk shops and we barely have money for studies. One's house does not really have to be a dilapidated one to deserve assistance from the government. Other aspects should also be considered.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I know nothing about your government but I get it that you are one beneficiary of Medical Aids. Same here in or country, my family is one beneficiary of govenment human investment program for the poor. But because these pandemic striked, they changed the already nailed law. But comparing to your situation, yours was more difficult because of your health. My family and I can survive without the support of the government unlike you that needs maintenance. I just pray that you would still qualify for the insurance.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I really do feel for you. It can be a tough situation for some, and I know people become frustrated sometimes at the challenges the 'system' creates. But a lot of people also lose sight of the fact that other people have to pay for all of this stuff when others can't, and that is not always exactly fair either.

I also never like the idea of people trying to "game" the system. To me it is no different than walking into a department store and walking out with something tucked under your shirt that you did not pay for. It's stealing, and it is wrong.

I know some may disagree with me, and that's okay.

The system, designed properly, and I am not saying that it is, should be one that provides help. It should not be a system that offers full dependence on it.

I wish I could offer more in the way of better or practical advice. Everyone's situation is different, and I only know half your story. I am not walking in your shoes so it is easier for me to just make blanket statements or assertions as to your situation or circumstances.

Could your husband change jobs? Can he perhaps make more money or have one that offers more in terms of benefits, including health insurance? Is there ANYTHING you can do to assist in bringing in additional income? A part time job, for example.

Because at some point the cycle also has to be broken, doesn't it? If what you are doing today is not working, why keep doing it? Sometimes it's hard to make or accept change. But sometimes what's holding someone back is not an effed up system. It's the person who has made themselves dependent on it.

Just my two cents, with no ill meaning meant in anything I have said here. Just a guy who likes to see the forest for the trees, and offer up what is sometimes difficult to hear advice.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

And add far as being dependent on the system, do you even know how much quarterly doctors visits cost? Or the battery of medications I take. Or how much the lab charges for bloodwork? I don't even know. Months ago my husband signed the paperwork to be made full-time. Among with full-time status comes health insurance. Nobody seems to know what the hold up is. Nobody seems to know whether family can be included on the insurance. I can't help my disability. I was either born with it or it was thrust upon me by my traumatic childhood. Either way, I have always worked. Even when I was raising my two daughters alone.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

No. I fully understand. Life's tough. All we can do is do our damn best to be tougher.

I also fully understand that is sometimes easier said than done.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Could your husband change jobs?< No. Not really. We're pop 2k and all the good jobs are taken. Texas hasn't increased the base minimum wage. It's $7.25. Even with the raises he's gotten, It is still not a living wage. We do have what we can where we can. And it isn't his actual income that's the problem. It's that we cannot have more than 3k combined at the end of the month. We can't even have access to more than 3k. So, our life insurance and investments will be counted against us. That's why crypto is so attractive to me. I can hide it. It sucks that I have to hide it just to keep Medicaid. I have always worked until 2019 outside the home. Working while on SSI is actually encouraged. I pay taxes. I've paid taxes since I first entered the workforce in 1986. So, nobody is paying anything for me. I don't receive foodstamps. The check is only $120/month. It's a loop. You can only get SSI if you are poor. But can't get unpoor unless you get off of SSI. If I didn't need Medicaid so badly, I wouldn't be on it. I'm actually hoping they deny me. I've been considering asking them to just stop paying me, but I also don't want to be a burden on my husband. It's not fair.

So. I'm just going to have to work harder with writing and art and get my side hustles up to full-time job status.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

So long as you can find workarounds I think you are on the right track. I wish I could offer better solutions for you. I actually believe there are plenty of jobs out there and good paying ones as well. But I, again, am not where you are, so I am only basing that on what I can see is out there.

Right now businesses are BEGGING for workers. I don't care where you live. This is true across the nation as we are suffering the biggest worker shortage ever.

As for minimum wage laws, most businesses offer more. Even here the state's minimum wage is only nominally higher than the federal minimum wage, but the average fast food joint pays $12.50 or more.

Just hang in there I guess is my best thing to offer. lol

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I've been considering a part time food service job. The available fast food restaurants are Pizza Hut and Sonic. All of the office jobs are taken and will remain taken. There are grocery store jobs, sacking groceries, but I don't think that would be a good idea. I already can't stand the manager. The hardware store won't hire me. There's a lot of high turnover here in town. And people seem to go from one job to the other and back again. Keith hates his job with the firey pain of a thousand suns. But he is hanging on to it. His brother is his manager. The hardware store is in the same building as the grocery store. There are plenty of small family owned businesses here, but they hire family. I worked about 7 years was a caregiver. For 8 bucks an hour I was cleaning literal shit and putting up with families complaining because they thought I was the maid. I have a great deal of experience as a legal assistant, but the 2 lawyers in town are already covered. So, self employment and side hustles are where it's at for me.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

All types of insurances are always an issue especially health insurance. I hope you won't lose your health insurance big sis. I don't know what to say, it does really sound so complicated.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

So so so complicated.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

In the Philippines only few people have health insurance. Life is too simple but it gets complicated when one gets so sick because most have no money to buy their medicines.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sorry about the stress🤧, I hope it all works out in the end😊

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I just have to work harder.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is a good post, it gave me an insight into the many benefits that the American government accord their citizens. I hope you get the Medicaid and approval for health insurance you wish for. The American government thinks more for its citizens than most countries in Africa and other continents of the world. Let's keep hope alive. What God cannot do dies not exist.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I understand the U.S. has many programs. Unfortunately, there is a very narrow window. Too many Americans fall under the "earn too much money to qualify for help, not enough money to pay for their own expenses." And the state & federal government's do not require a living wage. Even at prices go up and up and up. And once you qualify for a program, the requirements will keep you in poverty. You aren't able to save money or raise your station in life. My son would've qualified for SSI because of his medical condition. But he didn't want it. We prefer to work. We prefer to save money. On these programs you cannot be out of the country for 30 days. There are so many restrictions. Yes. America has some social programs, but the government had been trying for a very long time to get rid of them (to spend more money on the military budget). I have empathy for the citizens of countries that do not have these types of social programs.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I always seen movies when people are having problems with health insurance (like Breaking Bad) but never thought the rules are so strict

$ 0.03
2 years ago

In breaking bad, the teacher probably had health insurance through his work, but insurance companies can pick and choose which treatments they will pay for and which they won't. And most Americans under a certain income level can't pay for insurance. It's why we need universal health care.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I understand ... hope everything will be sorted and you will not miss on your treatment

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I should probably concentrate on writing more here and on writing my book.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Do you have your books on Amazon as paperback and pdf? You could earn a bit from there

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Not, yet. I was just gifted a used but in excellent shape windows computer. I'll be working on getting KDP up and running. I'll also work on some E-books about goats or whatever. If I can earn enough crypto, I'll be fine. Like I said, I can hide my crypto from the gvmt. For now.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

KDP is good ...It still brings me 10-20 bucks a month without any effort

$ 0.00
2 years ago

And I've just figured out Scrivener. A very good friend and fellow writer gifted me Scrivener. I'm over the moon. Especially since I've just figured it out.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I pray you will still qualify for SSI it's a big help for your especially this time of the pandemic. Keep safe ma'am, and try to relax.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Oooo. Do not lose hope please. There is nothing impossible for God to do. I hope they won't take by your insurance.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Me, too. Sort of. I would prefer to be able to pay for all of my medical bills AND save money.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Maybe you will be qualified and we are hoping that one day, its a great help for you and your husband and for your medicines

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I hope so.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Praying that you will still be SSI beneficiary, its a great help especiallybwith your medications

$ 0.03
2 years ago

And all the doctor visits. And the lab work

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hoping that you will still be under SSI even just to help you with your meds.

Stay safe.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Me too. But I don't think I will

$ 0.00
2 years ago

All hope shouldn't be lost, the texas government might also be considerate because it is not just you alone who will be affected.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

yeah...no. Neither the Texas government nor the U.S. government cares one whit about people. Especially not 99% of the population. Democracy and Freedom are concepts for people who can afford to think about these things.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Government should look at it as " your husband's earnings - not yours (still)" . I hope they won't take back your insurance. Or if that can't happen, I hope they can at least give you a discount.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Right. I agree. But the government is not great. I just wish we had universal healthcare. And that everything wasn't so expensive. It costs almost $100.00 just to walk into the clinic. I have no idea how much the blood tests cost. I have no idea how much my psychological therapy costs. A lot, though.

$ 0.00
2 years ago