If I Had All The Money (Random Un-numbered Prompt)

68 99
Avatar for JonicaBradley
2 years ago

My husband and I were sitting around, once again playing the what-are-we-going-to-eat-for-supper game.

It's a have we have to play several times a week. It's difficult to plan ahead for meals when A) we are on such a tight budget and B) we both hate shopping. Especially here at our local grocery store.

I'm not sure why, but the quality of food our grocery store has shipped is very poor. Fresh vegetables come to the store already almost moldy. The leafy greens are wilted and turning brown. The fruit is hard as a rock and tastes like cardboard. The meat is pretty questionable, too, despite our store having a "butcher shop" area. The meat section isn't a true butchering area. It is a cutting and packing area.

The store is constantly getting written up by inspectors for having expired items on the shelf and no dates on the rotisserie items of baked goods.

I've found bugs in bags of rice. On the rare occasion I've bought prepackaged shredded cheese, I've opened it the same day and the middle was a solid green blob.

We pretty much dread having to go shopping. Fortunately for me, the hardware store is in the same building as the grocery store, so I can just shoot Keith a text message list of what I need. But I really do try to plan (healthy) meals ahead of time.

Dreading grocery shopping isn't the end of the list, though. I also dread clothes shopping, furniture shopping, glasses shopping, you-name-it-shopping and I hate it.

Especially window shopping! Who does that?

Photo by 𝗔𝗹𝗲𝘅 𝘙𝘢𝘪𝘯𝘦𝘳 on Unsplash

This conversation about groceries led me to ask if Keith wanted to come grocery shopping with me. He really didn't. We discussed how much both of us hate shopping.

And it's not because I'm not materialistic. Trust me. I like owning things. I like clothing and I REALLY like shoes. I would love to have my house reflect my eclectic style in its surroundings and furnishings. I really need to have more than one set of glasses.

I was ranting to my husband that I need a stylist. Someone who has all of my measurements and can just go find the best clothes to make me look my best. I need a personal shopper. I need a nutritionist who is aware of all of my physical conditions which call for specialty foods.

Keith looked at me with a wry expression on his face and said, "You want a personal assistant. "

Yes. Yes, I do.

If I had all the money I would have a personal assistant. And a life coach. And an in-home fitness instructor. I would have a personal yogi to help me with my yoga and meditation. I would have a sous chef.

I would not have a chef, because I really enjoy cooking. I'm not so much a fan of prepping and definitely not a fan of cleaning up afterward.

I would have a private launderer pick up and take all of my clothes to the dry cleaners, who would also put all of my clothes away.

Photo by Mohammad Metri on Unsplash

I would have a personal cobbler, too. Have you ever worn bespoke shoes to fit your feet? It is like walking in butter! Maybe in addition to the personal stylist, I would need a tailor. I've heard bespoke jeans are also amazing.

If I had all the money, I would have people to do the mundane chores that keep needing to be done. I would be able to spend my days milking goats and making cheese. I would have a barn with a concrete floor.

I guess if I had all the money, I would have a private contractor (who isn't y husband). I would own way more property than I do now and would have a home built to my specifications. On a hill. Near running water. Maybe in the Bay area of California, near the ocean, but with plenty of forest for my goats, sheep, egg layers, and pigs to roam around.

Scratch that.

If I had all the money, I would own my own personal island. The only other people on the island would be my staff (see above). The only way to get to the island would be by helicopter or boat. Somewhere off of Madagascar.

Photo by Zunnoon Ahmed on Unsplash

And if there were no islands left in the area, since I had all the money, I would build a freaking island. After all, billionaires are traveling to space as tourists.

I'm certain I could think of more things I would do if I had all the money. I'm sure I would create charitable foundations for women's education, health, and equality around the world.

I would hope to develop underground hydroponic crop systems and help eradicate poverty. I would gift alternative energy sources to countries around the world. I would endow universities and medical research facilities. I would create rooftop gardens over every single metropolitan restaurant and grocery store.

And more. So much more.

What would you do if you had all the money?

? ? $ $ $ ? ? ?

Lead and first image license free from Unsplash

27
$ 9.31
$ 8.97 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @FarmGirl
$ 0.05 from @AmazingWorld
+ 10
Sponsors of JonicaBradley
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for JonicaBradley
2 years ago

Comments

If I have a lot of money, I will help mainly my family and relatives who are poor, down to my friends and then lastly to my neighbors and other people eventhough I don't know them. Definitely I will be a good samaritan in my simple way.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That sounds marvelous. I hope you would also care for yourself because you can't take care of others if you yourself aren't cared for.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

oh right. I forgot myself hahaha. First came to my mind was my family and relatives.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm going to close all our loans with the money we gonna make and save enough to last for our lifetime and use the remaining to adopt a kid and sponsor their education. This is my lifetime dream to sponsor for kids education because that is how I finished my degree, we always were low middle income group and it was always threatening situation at my home about my college. So, this only makes sense.. and maybe pay some money to animal sanctuaries because they deserve it and help few friends in need, because I know few of mine suffered a lot because of Covid

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is a bit of a hard one for me since I HAVE a lot of money, although not ALL the money, and not nearly the amount of money I would prefer to have. I am also extremely frugal. I hate regular shopping, but enjoy food shopping. Probably because I like to eat. lol

I do know I would simply fully retire. I'd have an RV, although I would not want to go to a full time RV lifestyle. I like to be SOMEWHAT grounded. I think being in such close quarters all the time would make me go a bit stir crazy. I would definitely travel more though.

I often like to think of what I would do if I won the lottery. The big one like the MegaMillions or the Powerball. REAL money. LIFE changing money.

I do know that my life overall would not change much. I still would not spend much and would still remain frugal. It's a lifestyle you know.

In the meantime all I can do is be thankful for what I do have, and do my very best to get the most out of it and always strive to get more of it.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hello and good evening, Jonica. Kindly remove me as a moderator. I've found it to be an exercise in futility. 99% of the people fail to correct their exceptionally poor grammar, and there is still a lot of plagiarism. I do not want to be a part of it. Thank you for your attention to detail regarding this matter.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ok. I will remove you. It is a rough gig. I'm sorry people were unresponsive to you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you, Jonica.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Done! You've been removed.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Most of the people loving shopping, especially the women. It's woman's life special part.You are looking different from them but just like me.I also hate grocery shopping even others also.You and your husband are same in this matter.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I would like to be your personal shopper! HA! No, I don't like shopping for myself really, nor do I go window shopping. I only shop because there's a list that I need to buy. So... I can shop for you. As to what I would do if I had all the money in the world? Travel, perhaps. Definitely give to old people's homes, orphanages, half-way houses, the church. I don't require much. So, the joy would be in the giving.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I agree. I also don't require which which is fortunate since I have less then all the money.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Those shoes are nice. Well, the Bible even said money answers all things. If we have the money some persons won't be in the positions where they are right now.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

True.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If I had all the money, I will surely give money as well to those in need. Might as well own and build an island because why not? :D

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Right?!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Like you, I have so many too. Of course that includes having everything you "need" and need and want and tha island is just fantastic

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If I had all the money, I will buy a huge piece of land and start building my farm with lots of chickens, goats, ducks, etc. I will put up some business in it too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

People and their desires cannot be said to end. If you ask me the question, I will give you a list that never ends. Because there is no end to people's needs. Everyone wants money.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

If wishes were horses beggars would ride.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I like your idea of owning an island or building one even. I imagined Richard Branson's Necker Island.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Necking in American slang means kissing and heavy petting. Snogging in UK slang means the same.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm not familiar with that. Who is Richard and why is his island called necker? Should I call my island snogger?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The island is owned by one who is making it possible for billionaires to travel to space. Haha, yes, call him, your island snogger. I think he knows :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If I had all the money, first thing I will do every morning is to send one million dollars to myself. Why? I just want to hear my phone ding with bank alerts.

I think I will do a version of this article, it's a very interesting topic

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Although it wasn't a PromptlyJonica prompt, feel free to add it to that community. I can add my piece, as well. I'll just change the title.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Alright I will do just that, thanks ma'am

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hope aĺl your dreams come true. Atleast one day we have to live like a king.😍

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Or Queen

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exactly

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Me, 40% is for investment and 60 % for savings and for me. I have a solid and detailed plan when I get the money

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You didn't think my plan is solid? Building an island? ;-)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I used to think of this a lot,but i most times think of what i will do for others especially my mom. I cant say i dont like myself but i am a born self sacrificing person,its not good all the time tho

$ 0.02
2 years ago

True. But since it is an imaginary exercise, what would you do for you?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I would start my dream business,making cakes and more. I would rent another house,the current house where i live with my mom is quite small and cramped. I would get a nebulizer at home for emergencies because my mom is asthmatic. I would take a vacation to a beautiful island where i can always go to the beach to meditate.🙂 Thats all i can think of for now...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If I had money I will just pay my debts. Haha. That's all for now.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's enough.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If I have all the money I will pay all my debts and my partner's as well. I will hire someone to do all the chores for me so I can just have fun with my kids. I will also build a house near the beach and buy a house in a first-class city so we could go there if we want to. I will donate millions to clean the oceans all over the world and help farmers in poor countries as well.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes. The oceans are mess.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

And it saddens me

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Human being and their desires. Never ending list will be handed to you by me if you ask the question to me. Hell yeah!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hahah you are really owning that 'Lucifer' persona and I love it :D

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Tell me, what is you desire?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I want to go to the beach!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What on earth..... You are taking my lines!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahahahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh dear, here again. Perhaps you asked, tell me, what you truly desire?

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hello, Detective.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Me right now imagining Lucifer in the movie. Haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Will you say it here? Or in Lux? Probably Detective will help me on this matter. You know, she's awesome in finding things. Just like Maze. You know her?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yesyesyes! Hahaha! I really like her. I remember when she found out that Amanadeil has affair with Linda. Hahahahohoho

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Maze is now happy with Eve. The one who thought I would change for her. Anyway dear, check your twitter now.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ohhh wait 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Don't make the Devil wait dear.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Life is so inconvenient. I just want enough money to have convenience and to save the world. I don't think that is too much to ask, do you?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I totally agree with it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You have lots of money Lucy! Share it!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Only when you desire.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes I desire it :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Then you owe me a favour then.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What shall I give in return?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You know dear

$ 0.00
2 years ago

:)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I give you suggestion if you have big lawn then grow vegetables near the house. That would be better than buying vegetables from store. Yeah your idea about best for underground cultivation of crops.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I already have a pretty good sized garden.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's better

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I wish I had such an opportunity to submit such list, I will definitely fill it up with some sweet desires.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Tell us what you would do if you had all the money?

$ 0.00
2 years ago