I Ate Flying Squirrel

22 59
Avatar for JonicaBradley
2 years ago
Topics: Food

I couldn't believe my eyes. What was that creature our friends were preparing for our dinner? Squirrel? That's not a squirrel. This is a squirrel.

Photo license free from Unsplash

See that adorable little tree rat? That's the only kind of squirrel I've ever seen in real life.

But we were in Laos for a month. I knew S.E. Asia would be great. I knew we would be exposed to an entirely different culture to the one we are used to here in the United States, or even Western Europe where I spent much of my childhood.

My husband was more familiar with the climate and cultures of rural S.E. Asia as he spent time in Korea in the army. He made a point of traveling around the countryside with a local Mamasan. She spoke a little English. He would take her with him all over the place to visit her family. Places she might not have been able to go were it not for his army credentials.

My mom, who was not with us on this trip, also had a lot of experience. She was raised in the Philippines on Manila.

This was my first time.

I was so excited to discover the culture and the food. Especially the food. I love food. I have eaten foods of all kinds from all over the world, but never in the country of origin. I was fascinated with all of the preparation going into this meal.

Previously, we had eaten lizard. Lizard isn't that unusual to me. It is akin to aligator, in my mind. Or snake, maybe.

This meal, though. This one was amazing!

I just had to show you again.

I am 5 feet 6 inches (1.7 meters). I'm not tall by American standards. What I'm holding in the photo is the skin of the squirrel. I read up on flying squirrels and found out this. The animal I am holding up is called a red giant flying squirrel.

The Red Giant Flying Squirrel ranges at least from northern parts of India and Nepal, through parts of southern China, Myanmar and Thailand to Peninsular Malaysia, Sumatra, Java and Borneo. In Singapore it may be locally extinct, having not been reported since 1986.

- Ecology Asia

The meat was delicious and served with rice and vegetables harvested from the jungle growth surrounding the family's home where we stayed.

Flying squirrel may not have been the strangest food I've ever eaten, but it is right up there with the most exotic. Many Americans think I'm a weirdo for eating and enjoying foods from other cultures. But, meat is meat is meat. People here at home freak out a little when I describe the insects I've eaten. But they eat shrimp. Aren't shrimp just water insects?

What is the most exotic food you've ever eaten? Where did you find it? How did it taste?

Google's definition of EXOTIC

I hope to travel to more countries. I would love to taste dishes from every country and every culture in the world.

Does your country have a local delicacy? What is it? Can I have the recipe? You know where to put your comments!

10
$ 3.39
$ 3.29 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Porwest
$ 0.03 from @Cleophia2
+ 1
Sponsors of JonicaBradley
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for JonicaBradley
2 years ago
Topics: Food

Comments

I have heard of so-called flying squirrels, but the ones I have seen (although not in person) seem like they were much smaller. I would never have imagine one to be so big. I have eaten squirrel and it is pretty good. But just our regular, U.S., run of the mill ones. I can imagine this guy was pretty tasty and surely much more meatier. lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Most flying squirrels look to me like cute little chipmunks with lots of skin under their arms. This one was a giant red flying squirrel which I'm pretty sure is only in Asian countries.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No. Not getting vaccinated and not wearing a mask is the cause of the global pandemic. Viruses come and go and change and adapt. Even the flu virus. That's why, for example, we need a new flu virus every year. Because a new strain creeps up every year. I don't see this new or novel corona virus being much different.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Isn't eating exotic food the cause of the global pandemic right now? But anyways, we are open to embrace and try other people's and country's traditions. Exploring new means learning, also.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes. I believe the first step to ending xenophobia is to sample a bit of every culture. Starting with food seems a good way to go about it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was dumbfounded when I first saw that picture. Wow! I can't believe any kind of squirrel can be that big.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Most of the squirrel was skin. Very little meat.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh my, it is fascinating, really. I haven't eaten a squirrel meat before. I wonder if it's as juicy as eating a steak. 🤭

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It tasted a bit sweeter to me than cow meat.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It kinda look like a bat when I saw the first picture but I know very well bat can't be that big

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Not unless it calls itself dracula.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol, I wouldn't wait to hear that from a flying squirrel

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hmmm. The title of the artice really caught me haha. I never knew squirrels could fly, let alone used as food.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I'm pretty sure they glide more than fly.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh man really surprising fro me to see the squirrel 🐿️🐿️🐿️🐿️ I hope you had enjoyed the dish. In my country we have some special vegetables and dairy products made dishes

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Would love to see samples of your local foods.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I haven't eaten some kind of exotic food Mam, but if the shrimp was a kind of water insect will im already eat Shrimp.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Shrimp is a common food. So far, it seems to be a never-ending resource as long as the oceans don't dry up and stay relatively pollution free.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The squirrel you hold actually looks big . Squirrel are sweet and nutritious. We have them here plenty in my country.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Where is your country?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Good-Boy is an African Boy. ✌️✌️♥️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Many Countries in Africa, no?

$ 0.00
2 years ago