Forever And a Day

18 36
Avatar for JonicaBradley
2 years ago

Hi, guys.

It's me. I'm alive!! Did you miss me?

It seems to me as if I've been gone forever and a day. I'm actually still not home, yet.

On December 31, 2021, not long after I recovered from Covid I received a text from my very best friend in the world.

"My mom died."

I immediately flew out to Los Angeles to help in any way I could.

I helped make funeral arrangements and helped take care of Gracie's dad. I did dishes and helped with the cooking.

Oh, and I got Covid again.

For a couple of weeks my friend, her dad, and I were all stuck together in a very crowded home. I had hoped to use that time helping to clear out a lot of the clutter, but neither Gracie nor her dad were actually ready for anything to be done.

I think the most important part of my visit was keeping her dad entertained. He kept saying he didn't feel like talking to anyone but he talked and talked and talked. And I listened. Gracie, meanwhile, was working on a memorial slide show to present at the funeral and on the memorial website.

The funeral wasn't until February 1, 2022. We went to view the body on January 1. That was pretty difficult, especially for the family. I am glad they had a chance to see her so they were not so shocked by her appearance on the day of the funeral.

As a part of the funeral services, I read a couple of poems the family had chosen and shared a little memory I have of Liz (Gracie's mom). Each of the family members came up and spoke briefly about their mom and grandmother. The pastor read what Gracie and Charlie anted to say. Neither of them felt they would be able to speak without falling apart. Gracie's sister, Evelyn, who is also my very best friend in the world, performed a sign language song. She had everyone in tears.

The last week I was in Los Angeles I spent at Evelyn's daughter's house so I could spend time with Evelyn.

After Evvy time I took a plane to San Francisco to visit with my brother. I spent a lot of time with my five-year-old niece who taught me a few board games and begged me to play "chest" (chess) with her. The sweetest thing she said was, "I wish you could stay longer."

With Liz's sudden death looming large in my mind and on my heart I felt a strong desire to spend time with my mom. So, I flew to New York. I'll be here for 2 weeks and will come home on February 23rd.

After nearly two months away I wonder if my animals have forgotten me. I know my husband will be glad to have me home. I will also be so happy to sleep in my own bed on my own pillow next to my husband (and the little dog).

I'm also looking forward to cuddling my goats and to begin writing every day nce again.

Sculpture in the San Fransisco airport. Photo by Author.

9
$ 7.57
$ 6.58 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.50 from @Bjorn
$ 0.20 from @PVMihalache
+ 6
Sponsors of JonicaBradley
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for JonicaBradley
2 years ago

Comments

My condolences to your friend and her family, somethings things we don't plan for just happen suddenly.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

This is very true.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Welcome back to the game, some users have missed your content.. Though this is the first article am reading from you.. Am sorry for your friend, my condolences. It's nice of you being there for her...

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hello! Welcome to the madness I call my brain.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am sorry for your loss, Jonica. We missed you here. I'm glad you are now ok after two rounds with covid and your mother's loss. Looking forward to read more from you.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks. It has hit the family pretty hard. She was the glue that held the family together. She will be greatly missed.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Missed you and your stories! Enjoy your time with your mom... and hope you can keep writing.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It has been a good, but cold, visit.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Brrr... and thank you for the sponsorship renewal. Always inspiring.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are welcome!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Condolences to the family of your friends. And what happen to you is not easy too but I'm glad you're back right now. I'm waiting for your future prompt

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you. Yes. I am thinking of a prompt right now.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hey! Happy you are back! Wanted to DM you on Twitter a couple of times but thought it may be weird and as time past... thought will be even weirder! Never mind... glad to see you back

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Feel free to DM anytime. I may not see it right away, but I will see it and reply asap.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When my friend's dad died, I also felt her sadness. I placed myself on her shoe and thought about what if it happens to me. I remembered I don't spend much with my dad, from then on, I always come home after work and spend the night playing board games just like what he always wanted.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I'm sure your dad appreciates that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am glad you are back and healthy again. We will come back to read your anecdotes, especially those of so many trips.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I'm about to get writing about a house we went to see yesterday.

$ 0.00
2 years ago