Could You Do It?

35 101
Avatar for JonicaBradley
2 years ago

Could you survive the end of the world as we know it? Could you raise your meat with love, then kill, then process, then eat it?

Could you?

Ground lamb. BuffaloBill provided enough meat we are still living on it!!

In the United States, there's a movement called Survivalism. The name was coined in the 1980s. Survivalism is all about being prepared for the end of the world.

The movement's members differ in personality wildly. Some are paramilitary enthusiasts who love their weapons. Some are religious fanatics (even a cult or two). Some are convinced some virus or other will start killing people and shut down the world. (That last one seems a bit more realistic since 2020!)

Dystopian fantasy has ever been popular. Imagining the end of the world, what it would be like, how people would survive has been a large part of the book and movie industry. Books have been written (and banned by governments) detailing futuristic dystopian worlds since the early 1920s.

These books have been popularized in movies and other media. Think of George Orwell's 1984 This book inspired not just 1 adaption, but 19! Between film, stage, and radio there have been 19 adaptations of 1984, including 1 musical.

This demonstrates humans' amazing fascination with an imaginary future society where there is great suffering or injustice.

It is no surprise so many people are taking these end of the world scenarios seriously.

Some survivalists don't like to associate themselves with the term survivalist because of the stereotypical negative connotations this word has come to have.

Fringe groups. Fanatics. Doomsday cults. Conspiracy theorists. Nut jobs.

I asked my husband what kind of person he imagines when I say the word survivalist. He said,

"Crazy people living out in the wilderness in bunkers shooting each other with paint guns convincing themselves they have the knowledge to survive." He may have added the words nut and job in there somewhere. He also emphasized the true survivalists are the world's poverty-stricken people who do everything they can to make it through one day into the next and feed, house and clothe their families.

Those who don't like to be associated with nut jobs, as my husband calls them, call themselves preppers.

To my mind, preppers are the same species as survivalists, maybe just a different breed. The survivalist (or preppers if you prefer) can get a lot wrong. That's a whole different article (don't worry, it's coming soon to a blog near you!)

One of the main things they get wrong is storage.

We personally know a man who bought a brand new 16-foot trailer and filled it top to bottom with food packages (similar to these)

Screengrab from advertisement - see link above.

The food is supposed to last in 1 person 1 year with 2000 calorie per day meals and can be stored for up to one year. Really? I'm going to need Fettuccini Alfredo to survive?

Where's the salt? People need salt to survive! Where are the iodine pills with which to decontaminate the water they will need to rehydrate their food?? What happens when that year is up? Will they just lay down and die? What about the people who know about that storage container (because the survivalists I know love to brag) and don't have a problem stealing or even killing to get it?

The irony is this man owned land. He could have been growing wheat, beans, corn, and other grains that can be dried and stored for decades.

Instead, he grew cotton and alfalfa and peanuts because that's where the money is.

He already had cattle and sheep. There's some food right there!

That's the rub right there. People would rather purchase today's convenience for tomorrow's survival rather than learn and prescribe the skills it will actually take to survive.

BuffaloBill

Some of the skills a person might need to survive are:

  • starting a fire

  • creating a smokehouse

  • using salt to preserve meats

  • Killing animals

  • Processing animals (removing the skin, offal, and bones)

  • If staying in one place, raising animals

  • If staying in one place, vegetable gardening

  • Foraging for edible plants

As for storing things, personally, I would store a 50-pound bag of white rice, a 50-pound bag of beans, a 50-pound bag of salt, a tub of acerbic acid (vitamin C), and as many iodine tablets as I could carry.

I already have the ability to raise with love an animal, even naming it, whose sole purpose is to provide meat for the family.

Our first group of bummer lambs. We bottle-fed these (and a few goats). We named them and loved them and then we ate some of them. The white ram lamb was named DayLight. He sure tasted good!

Thankfully, it isn't the end of the world and I can store the meat in my freezer.

[Linking photo for sensitive viewers. Do not open the link if you are squeamish]

https://docs.google.com/document/d/1wla5N_r6kppJpARxv_ait9kgZfHSHsPIIajeX5rdDBc/edit?usp=sharing

I also already have a vegetable garden (and an indoor fungus garden).

I have the means and know-how to preserve plenty of food, but more importantly, I know I am not squeamish about eating something I've raised and loved.

TomTomTurkey. He was invited to the kitchen table because he got too mean. He was attacking me and my family members. He was 18 pounds dressed out. Also very tasty!

How about you? Could you do it? Could you raise a chicken or a goat, lamb, calf, pig, horse, or donkey, and then eat it? Could you? Could you self-sufficiently survive?

20
$ 8.95
$ 8.45 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @JustMyRambles01
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
+ 9
Sponsors of JonicaBradley
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for JonicaBradley
2 years ago

Comments

I haven't tried having animals on our little farm so I am not sure if I can kill them for food. But imagining it isn't a good feeling for me hehe. All we have are veggies :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It is good you have the veggies!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes :) Thank you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is a very interesting question actually. Part of it is, and I am just being honest here, I have quite a few bucks in the bank. I can "buy" my survival right now. But that is assuming that survival can be bought right now. What happens when my money can't buy me that anymore? I have never really ever given it much thought because my money can buy me pretty much anything I want and need right now.

But what if it couldn't?

I do not hunt because I cannot kill things. Or at least I prefer not to. But I have no problem eating killed things. Out of sight, out of mind, right. I can pay someone else to kill for me right now and so I don't even think about it. The person who kills, or the life taken. To me it's just meat on a plate.

I stock up on things because it makes economic sense to me to get the best price. But I am viewing that living in a world where it is readily available and my money can buy whatever I want. What happens when my money can't buy that anymore?

Like I said, it is an interesting question, and one I may need to ponder more closely. Hmm. Not sure now.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I'm a believer of buying in bulk, too. Not for the price, but because I hate shopping. And, for the most part, people-ing.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

First of all, I can't also eat animals we raised, if ever. I remember a set of 45 days chicks we raised and had the neighbor slay it for us. When the meat was cooked and served.. dude, I could not take a bite! It felt so weird! 😂 We stopped taking care of chicks after that.

Maybe I'd just go with planting, and being a vegatarian all my life when a day'd come I have to 'survive alone'. No animals. Hahaha.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

We have chicken here also we raise goat but we didn't slaughter them instead we sell it. I really miss them because I remember the days that I feed them and taking care of them.. I hope they are still alive🤣

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I'm not sure I could every live without goats, again. I love them so much.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol🤣😂🤣 i raise animals and i kill them, because i like eating meat, we do this mostly here and than sell some. I love your skills sister much love

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well I agree with your husband, for me they are just crazy people who imagine a society in the future like the one in "The Walking Dead" and dream of shooting the first one who crosses their path. I am a vegan animalist and I have a very different way of feeling and thinking than you. Obviously for me animals are not food, so I don't like to think about an apocalyptic scenario.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I think in today's society, we can get most of our nutrients from plants. I understand the unwillingness to harm animals. Are you also opposed to animal products? Milk, eggs, cheese?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I do not eat or wear any animal products. I have rescued hens and nobody eats their eggs. In my family only my sister, my little niece and I are vegans, the rest eat meat.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It can be hard to have a different food (and clothing) philosophy to your family. I admire and respect your choices. I was raised vegetarian for part of my childhood. My grandparents followed vegetarianism as part of their religion. They did eat eggs, cheese, and milk. I didn't even learn the word vegan until I was an adult.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

In my family, animals were always raised to be slaughtered and eaten. I have no problem with that. And for sowing, I have my vegetable garden at home. I like to plant and eat the vegetables that I plant. I even sell my plants. Now I have spinach, basil, curcuma, ginger, hot peppers, and others for sale.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Just don't let any of your veggies mysteriously disappear

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I keep an eye on them. Hahaha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I could raise animals but not kill them, perhaps I will go with gardening lol but we do need meat..Oh no, I won't survive.. You got lots of skills sis, proud of you :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Vegans all over the world would disagree that we actually need meat. Many vegetables are high in protein and some root vegetables have most of the vitamin B we need. I'm not sure about B12 which is primarily found in meat, milk, cheese, and eggs. So, it might not be possible to go full-on vegan. But I bet if you are hungry enough, you will find out fairly quickly what you are and are not capable of.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My previous work as VA promoted plant-based proteins as most of our customers were vegan..Yeah, I am not sure about the B12 as well. And yup, if one is hungry in the middle of a crisis, he can surely discover what he can eat just to fill his tummy.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I think I could do it too, raising an animal for consumption is different than raising a pet, but I think I could eat my own pet if needed. Snail is a practical type of species so we need to consumpt to survive no need to be picky

$ 0.01
2 years ago

And yes, insects, mollusks, reptiles, and crustaceans are also high in nutritional value.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exactly! Meat is meat is meat. But I raise all my animals like they are pets. Around here they tell me I "spoil" my animals because I give them the same care I would give to any human. Love tastes much better than fear.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am not particularly fond of either term. I lived on a beef farm growing up as a child and was used to seeing animals we cared for being taken away. I have dispatched a few game birds and poultry in my time, and fish is second nature. It is actually quite amazing the amount of people that see meat in a supermarket and have no idea how it got there and where it came from.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Right?! Even way out here in the countryside I've heard people say about hunting, "Yuck it tastes too gamey." And about pasture raised eggs, "yuck they taste too eggy." And about free range chickens, "yuck they are too small and tough." Always an excuse for their dislike of real food rather than the chemical and hormone laden, flavorless, "meats" they sell in the stores.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh god yes, I so like to enjoy the flavours of food. You nailed that!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Raising animals kinda different haha. I raise animals with one of these intentions: to eat it or sell it. I see myself already eating it right from the time it gets bought. The man never thought of it that way, or he's just feeling lazy to do what he has to do to survive...like most people.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

He owned cows. But for sale. He was a very greedy man. Every once in a while he would take a cow to a meat processing plant and have them do all the killing and butchering and packaging of the meat. I don't he would've been able to do any of that himself.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha. Maybe dude was plain lazy about getting to do all the work. Quite similar to a tribe here who rear hundreds of cows and still live miserable.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

He was very lazy and loved to brag about all of his riches (mostly money he inherited from his grandparents through his parents and his wife's money that she inherited et cetera). None of that land or money kept him from dying and he couldn't take it with him.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's the reality he chose to ignore. And to know that the he didn't really work for the money ses to have darkened my perception of him. You live all your materialistic acheivements in this world.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We have chicken here and I experienced to slaughter them but I can't eat them because even if they are food also , I remember those days that I feed them and you know my heart haha. I can't eat them 🤣

$ 0.01
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

I think your feelings are pretty common. I hear that a lot.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is actually common in my country, we chicks and raise it to chicken, then sell some during Christmas and also slaughter some for visitors.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It's pretty common in many countries. That's why my husband says those people (we include ourselves as "those people") are the true survivalists.

$ 0.00
2 years ago