Confession: I Haven't Been 100% Honest

51 77
Avatar for JonicaBradley
2 years ago

I started my read.cash journey taking a bit of a different approach. I've been blogging for money for a few years now and wanted to up my game.

In the process, though I have never outright lied, I have misled you my dear readers.

What's True

Everything I've written here is true. Every personal essay, every gardening photoshoot, every word about past trauma.

All true.

Even my poetry is true.

Every thought. Every emotion.

All true.

Also true is all the encouragement I give to people. I 100% believe in you!

All the photos of me are really me. All the photos of my place are really my place. All the photos of my garden and my walks are really my garden and my surroundings.

This brings me to:

What's Not True

When I started my blogging journey, I used my real name for everything. It has become my brand. I also used my real photo for my profile picture.

I should say, "My real current photo."

Because my profile picture is me. It's my real face.

But.

It's my face from my wedding day, August 13, 1988.

I thought when I started on read.cash I might get more followers of I presented my inner self instead of my outer self.

When I think of me, I look like I looked in 1988. I am always so shocked when I walk by a mirror.

As my birthday approaches in August, I have decided I need to be a bit more honest with all of my loyal readers. On August 9, I'll turn 53.

That's a far cry from my twenty year old self in my profile picture.

Everybody says she is only a number. It's all only in the mind. And I do agree to a certain extent. Until my aging body rebels against me. Until my diabetes rears its ugly head causing inflammation and easy infection. Until the Hashimoto's disease decides I need to experience joint pain. Until my IBS sends me running to the bathroom every five minutes.

You get the picture.

So, being resolved to be more honest, I'm including a current photo of me. I don't take many selfies. So this one is probably from last year. But I haven't changed much since.

July 9, 2020

I think I'll leave my profile picture as it is. It's actually one of my favorite photos of me. I'm happy to have it as my brand. I think I look like I'm up to something.

I hope you all understand and still love me!

I'm off to work on tomorrow's writing prompt.

24
$ 5.76
$ 4.31 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.50 from @FarmGirl
$ 0.20 from @Crackers
+ 14
Sponsors of JonicaBradley
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for JonicaBradley
2 years ago

Comments

Well you still look beautiful

$ 0.01
1 year ago

THANK YOU

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I don't think you lied. Because the same girl in the display picture is still you. Moreover, you also showed your recent pictures through some of your previous articles, so we are not really left in the dark.

I think you and mom are just of the same age. You are both beautiful in my eyes. I can't exactly explain why I am so touched with this article, but I really am.

Thanks for sharing this. I feel attached to this pltform more because of genuine contents like this one.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

When I read your articles way back when I was just turtling around, I thought you're 60 😑 It is because you sound mature. I'm sorry, my bad, you're just 52.

But you look great. Although you look like my strict auntie. Please don't be so concerned of how you look. It doesn't matter. What matter is what's inside the heart.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

My kids can attest to how strict I was!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Still looks lovely Madam.

$ 0.05
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

Hello ma'am! I am happy to read this. The message is simple yet moving. You are amazing for stating all from the core. You aged gracefully too. I wish to participate in your writing prompt.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Feel free to participate.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Who cares about physical features nowadays when we all love to have virtual friends. Showing your recent photo means you value your friends here. And I feel honored to follow and read your articles. And also doing your prompts. I have high respect for you that time you shared about your current state of health and about your friend who lost her comrade. It's no easy sharing those and I applause you fo that maam.

Keep safe and God Bless you always.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Reading your post, I didn't feel or think you lied. You're yourself all the way and no picture will downgrade you from being the real you :)

You're an awesome soul and it's been a pleasure meeting you here :)

$ 0.05
2 years ago

It's a pleasure to meet another farm girl, too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you Jonica :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yaaaaaay! You look so good, mama. I am happy to see your face. 53? You are young at heart mama and no one would have known.

How are you feeling today and I look forward to the prompt tomorrow. Well done, mama. I'm sending a lot of hugs your way.

Your influence spreads like fragrance and I am happy to have known you. Your impact and presence here cannot be undermined.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thanks!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

🤗🤗🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Age is just a number, a product of the calendar. The essence of your being is what matters, despite the ailments that the body shows.

You know, I'm only three years older than you. Today I will turn 20472 days. How old or days am I? I do not know. God only knows how many I have left, not even this one is totally mine. I guess the same will happen to you. So, friend, enjoy the wonder of life.

Although I do not participate by writing in your prompts, I do read yours, and those of your active followers. They have a very positive and jovial image of you.

Your words reflect honesty and trust. By the way, both selfies reflect your temperament.

If you look at my profile picture, you will appreciate that it is a digital avatar, which I amusingly set up. Lol, I imagine that I would look like this in the virtual world, without gray hair, and with a little more hair. I am not dishonest, it is just a manifestation of my imagination.

I think your profile picture is great, as is the '52 selfie.

Any day of these, I will be encouraged to write something, based on your prompts.

Thanks, Jonica for your honesty.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thanks, J. I appreciate it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You aged beautifully, you should be proud that you've reached that age. It's great to see that you can still be competitive at your age with the young ones. Carry on Jonica, you are beautiful!

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thanks, friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You look mischievous, you have posted pics before I remember the one of you with a monk in Laos I believe, so I don't think you were not being untruthful in having the pic you have. It is you, you are an awesome person, an inspiration to many of us here, myself included. You are you and never need to apologise to any of us, just yourself if ever you think you need to apologise. Leo's are the best by the way 😘♌🦁

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Roar!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your age doesn't matter ma'am ..what matters is what you do , you're being real with us and that's great..It's takes a lot of courage for someone else to become real to other and you're doing that without hesitating and that's awesome..A woman is still beautiful no matter what her age is. I really love participating in your prompt..Your making an impact to others like me and that's the most important.😊

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I'm so happy to be making an impact. Thank you for your kind words.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can't say you lied ma'am because you once wrote an article about going to a temple or Buddhist (i can't remember well) in the article, you shared your pictures and from most of your articles you never wrote something to make us feel otherwise.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Yes. It was a Buddhist monastery or temple.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm not 40 yet but I feel old already lol! I appreciate your being true and sharing about you. In this online world where everything can easily be faked, people become untrusting.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I just think of I were going to fake my life, I would make it much more grand!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol! That would work :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Just... how to fake pictures so it looks like I'm on a yacht when I live in the middle of the country side?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your age now we dont mind it at all. You still look beautiful maam Jonica :) your kindness make us like you. You're very genuine. Happy birthday in advance ❤️

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thank you in advance.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Momma, you're beautiful and looking good in the 52nd photograph I understand your feelings you still want to be in your 20s and have been honest thus far 53rd birthday is around the corner and I don't see you in any way getting fade off. Read. cash readers love ❤️ u

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Yay. This makes me very happy.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Uwc ma

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We like you for who youbreally are, it isnt about the profile pictures. Your articles and prompts speaks unity in the platform because everyone struggles to make a topic of it. We love you ma'am.

Happy birthday in advance

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thanks for the birthday wishes!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

One can easily see your insecurities especially with your looks. The question is, does it really matter? I really don't think so. In the first place you told no one you are a beauty queen(did you?) so if you used an old picture of you, provided thats still you, I think it's perfectly OK. What really matters, at least for me, is what you tell me and how genuine your actions are. By the way I genuinely believe you are beautiful for a 53 yrs old lady. Another thing, like you know, beauty is truly in the eyes of the beholder. It doesn't really matter what your perception about your self are.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Among my many insecurities, body image is definitely one. Some day I might share my article on body dismorphia I wrote.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Right from the first day I was told about the prompt words you always posted here, I have developed this kind of likeness for you. Anytime I see your posts, I always rush to it because something tells me that you are been plain and truthful. So, no matter who you are right now, we all right here still live and love you. Someone who is always truthful is the best and you are the best.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

You're going to make me cry!

$ 0.00
2 years ago
    1. Doesn't matter. We like you for being you. Not the profile picture. And you're still beautiful, Jonica, especially your eyes. 😍
$ 0.05
2 years ago

I used to think I had blue eyes because I stared at the sky all the time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hi Jonica! All of us who have been online long enough take things with a pinch of salt, whether it's about life, photo, age, etc. It's nice that of you to reveal yourself but please don't feel bad about "not being honest" because you are you, and that's more than enough. Happy birthday in advance, in case I don't get to wish you on the day itself.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thank you! I appreciate it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Its so nice to be honest. Even sometimes honesty can hurt you. Your so amazing maam. Nowadays only few are telling the truth. Keep it up. You are one of my role model.here in read.cash :-)

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thank you!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your always welcome po :-)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You were honest Jonica, don't worry abou that. I think you have given more photos and explained yourself before. You don't need to be feeling bad about it. You are a great person that we adore, and you should keep using any photograph you want to. We will love you no matter what.

$ 0.07
2 years ago

YAY! I'm glad to hear it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are still adorable btw!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Awwww shucks.

$ 0.00
2 years ago