A Traumatizing Life and Death Battle with Fire

32 47
Avatar for Jinifer
2 years ago

20th of March, 2022

Sunday

 

Fire, water, and the government know nothing of mercy.

- Proverb

The month of March is a fire prevention month and it is already expected that that month will be the month where there will be huge fires occurring everywhere. It is our own duty to prevent fires from happening, to lessen the damage, and ensure that no houses will be burnt to ashes.

A mighty flame follows a tiny spark.

Last night, at exactly 7 in the evening, I was sitting in the living room alone, playing with my mom’s phone. They were in the dining room having their dinner, and I decided to have my dinner later since I was still full. Later on, I felt a little itch in my throat, so I opened the window to spit. I noticed in the reflection from the glass window, it was so bright and an enormous red-light color. I looked at it and was totally shocked by what I saw. I began to panic and shouted "FIRE!" and saw my mom and grandma running towards me. I then ran out to check and my mom also began to panic as she was worried about my siblings, whose house was just right next to where the fire started.

My cousin asked me what was wrong because I was already trembling in fear, and I told him that there was a huge fire in the neighborhood. When I ran outside, I saw my nephew running towards me and was so shocked. He looked so pale because of what he had witnessed. I asked him where his mother (my sister) and his siblings were and he said that they were still in the house because he was the only one who ran first right when he saw the fire. I was trembling in so much fear and my knees were about to collapse. I couldn’t type proper words on my phone because I was literally shaking.

My mom was about to go to my brother’s house, but I told her not to go there since she’s not totally healed yet. I ran down to the neighbourhood and saw my sister with my niece and nephew. She was so worried because she couldn’t find my other nephew, and I told her that he was already at our grandparents’ house. After I said that, I saw her face feel a little relief. I saw a lot of people gathering and I was so devastated to see the houses slowly getting eaten by the fire. I can’t help but feel emotional seeing those people who were not able to grab their stuff and the only thing they had was themselves. I even saw someone who was just barefoot and topless, and the only thing that he had was the shorts that he wore and his phone.

The fire was so close to where my brother lives (my sister-in-law’s house), that my cousin ran immediately and took my nephew to our grandparents' house. The firemen took so long to arrive, and the fire got bigger and bigger until it got into the other houses and then to another. The power went off and the only light that we had was from the houses that were burning. The crying and shouting of people around us were the only voices that were echoing around us.

The house that was just built a few months ago is now burnt to ashes. The house that was currently being renovated is now turned into charcoal. It was so devastating to watch everyone crying helplessly because they couldn’t do anything to get their things back as they were already eaten by fire.

They took all the water they could find, even the fish pond and mineral water, just to put out the fire. When the firemen arrived, the houses were already crumbled to pieces and the house next door was already burning. The dog that was chained luckily escaped all by himself before the fire got close to him. My cousin was about to set him free, but thankfully he was able to set himself free.

The fire started at 7 in the evening and was finally put out at 11 in the evening. They’d been battling fires for four hours, and thankfully there was no one injured that night. Even though there was no longer fire, you could still feel the heat all over the place and there was still smoke everywhere. We were so thankful that they were able to put out the fire before it got too close to the other houses and might get too close to our house too.

Just this morning, we went back to the scene and we still saw smoke everywhere. The people who lived there went back to see where their house was in the hope of retrieving some of their stuff, even though everything was already burnt to ashes.

The hundred thousand pesos that were kept for her daughter, who will be in college next year, were already turned to ashes, and the only thing that she had left was the coins.

 

It was another horrible and traumatic night that we had. The first one was the night when we got hit by Super Typhoon Odette’s havoc and now this. It was even better to get hit by a typhoon than to see your house burnt to ashes.

That is why we should always be aware of everything, especially if it’s involved with fire. No matter how small that fire is, it can grow bigger in just the blink of an eye. Always be cautious when dealing with things that may cause a fire.

Safety starts with awareness. Awareness Starts With You.

STAY SAFE ALWAYS!



All images attached were captured and owned by the author.


20
$ 6.95
$ 6.69 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @kingofreview
$ 0.03 from @gertu13
+ 8
Sponsors of Jinifer
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jinifer
2 years ago

Comments

I'm sorry for what happened to all your neighbors who were once again homeless to live. May God give them enough resilience to carry on.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

it is so heartbreaking to witnessed such thing

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is really sad...thank God it didn't get to you and your family... I pray God helps those who already lost their houses. Awareness and consciousness is really important for our safety

$ 0.00
2 years ago

you're right. Thank you so much shine :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hala, yung pang tuition huhu naiiyak ako sa mga nasunogan. I agree wit you sis, mas okay pa madaanan ng bagyo kaysa masunugan talaga.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

mao lage sis, sa sobra niya ka taranta nakalimot na siya asa niya nabutang ang kwarta nga iyang gi hipos, ang coins nalang ang iyang nakuha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sa akin ok na manakawan kesa masunugan. Mahirap talaga yung makita mo mga gamit mo na abo na lang huhu. Thank God you are safe and your family. Prayers to the victims of the fire.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

buti talaga hindi umabot samin yung apoy, sobrang lakas pa naman ng hangin non kaya sobrang laki ng apoy

$ 0.00
2 years ago

One moment of inattention is enough to destroy everything we have built and created over the years. One moment is enough for us to be gone. We must always be aware of our actions.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

so true! That is why we should always be careful with everything because a single spark can cause a huge fire.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nakakaiyak naman ate. Sana naman mayv tumulong sa mga nasunugan lalo na mag eeleksyon.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

the next day may isang politiko na pumunta sa scene at namigay ng tulog sa mga nasunogan

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ayun mabuti na ung ganun ate. Wait taga saan kayo? kasi nitong pinost mo to eh may sunod din na nagana p sa addition hills mandaluyong. same place ba ?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ay hindi, sa cebu ako sis

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ahh okay sis kala ko taga manda ka lang din.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hala kakuyaw ba atu sis. Maayu kay wala ning-abot sa inyong balay. Ning-uso napud ron ang sunog. Daghan ng insedente ang nahitabo bahin ana ron sa lain-laing lugar.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

basta march jud ate kay daghan jud sunog mahitabo ay, kuyaw jud kaayo. Pero mas worst jud tong naa ko sa city ate kay naay sunog dool sa balay sa akong uncle unya ang atbang kay gasolinahan nga shell.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Buti na lang di umabot sa bahay ng kuya mo at bahay nyo beh.. Naalala ko noong time na nasunog yung katabing bahay mismo namin at wala kaming kamalay malay na naausunog pala dahil pagod na pagod ako that time sa pagbabantay sa byenan ko sa ospital. Naalala ko tuloy un takot ko noon kasi dalawa lang kami ng anak ko.. Kaya ramdam ko un takot mo

$ 0.00
2 years ago

mas nakakatakot kapag nasa hating gabi nangyari yung sunog tas tulog lahat, buti nalang talaga maaga nangyari yung sunog at aware pa ang lahat

$ 0.00
2 years ago

naku yun sa amin eh hatinggabe talaga kaya tulog na tulog kami ng anak ko. then un kapitbahay namin eh gising na lahat at nasa labas na pero kami ng anak ko eh nasa loob pa ng bahay namin kasi nga di ko talaga naramdaman un pagkakagulo nila sa sobrang pagod ko..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pasalamat po ate kay god dahil wala pong nangyaring masama sa inyo, keep safe po ate and I hope na malalagpasan nyo din po iyan, be strong po🥰🥰🥰

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yes we're so thankful and lucky na hindi umabot samin yung apoy at hindi kumalat, kasi it could've ended worst.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Grabe ang hirap nga niyan, tsk sabi nga nila di baleng matakawan wag lang masunugan...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

after nong sunog, ninakawan din yung nasunogan, tas yung nag kuha is hindi taga samin, taga ibang baranggay na pumunta that night. Napaka heartless eh, walang patawad

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm so sorry. I can only imagine the pains of the victims right now. Thank God that nobody was hurt and everyone had the awareness of putting their lives first before belongings or things would have turned out worse

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is so sad to see those people jumping from the second floor just to escape the fire. But they did the right thing of saving themselves first before anything

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I felt sad while reading this. I can't imagine the frustration and anxiety that the people felt while looking at their houses turning into ashes. Sana makabangon sila agad.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

back to zero lahat. Yung feeling na wala kang magawa kundi tignan nalang yung bahay na unti unting nilalamon ng apoy

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Taga saan kayo sis? So sorry for that. Sunog jud pinakadeadly uy kay wa kay masalba maugdaw tanan jud tawn

$ 0.00
2 years ago

okay nalang jud ma bagyohan basta ayaw lang ma sunogan kay back to zero jud

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nakakalungkot naman yan ate hehe. Sana makarecover sila ehhe kung ako yan magkakaroon ako ng thoughts na magpatiwakal kahit di moo naman gusto.. Sana makarecover sila ate eheh magsisimula na naman sila sa wala. Ano raw ate cause nung sunog

$ 0.00
2 years ago

short circuit, hindi kasi napinsin kasi nag cr that time yung girl

$ 0.00
2 years ago