The Geophysical Disadvantages of The Philippines.

12 29
Avatar for Jijisaur
2 years ago

Happy Tuesday! The market is bloody red today or should I say this week. My guess is people are withdrawing some cash from the market because of the holidays. Also, because of the new virus. Maybe the combination of both. In the Philippines, our Christmas is a long celebration. People start to put decors as early as September. We are heavily influenced by the Spanish of Catholicism that's why Christmas for us is very important.

Sponsors of Jijisaur
empty
empty
empty

Thank you, dear sponsors!

Speaking of Philippines, in today's article is about my country. I will be mentioning on things that I do not like on about it but in form and physical aspects of the Philippines. I also do have likes and I promise it is much, much many than dislike.

Let's begin!

1) The weather is Summer all year round.

Image from Unsplash

The Philippines geographical situation is near the equator which means it is in a hotter spot compared to the countries that are near to the poles. I live in the northern part of the Philippines and the coldest I experience this year is about 23 degrees celsius when it was raining so hard and it was signal number three at that time. What we just do to ease the hotness is we open the fan or we drink cold water.

2) The Philippines is a group of island which travel requires different transportation vehicles.

Image from Unsplash

Countries like Japan can travel through bullet trains and can travel the country with it. It is very easy to travel from provinces to cities because Japan is a big chunk of land. In the Philippines, to get to other regions, you may ride a roro or plane. This is also hard is your business is across the different island. The transportation and the risk of losing your products is an effect of Philippines being an island. Well, at least we have good beaches, right?

3) The Philippines is prone to earthquakes.

Image from Unsplash

The Philippines sits on the ring of fire. That means, we are prone to earthquake. I still remember that there is a circulating news that we should be ready for the Big One. I was really scared of it because we are just one kilometer away from the ocean. We are also near a river. So if there is an earthquake, there is a possibility of creating a tsunami. If that happens, we can go to the mountains for safety but I am really wishing that it will never happen because we also have pets and we might not save them all. All we can do at this time is to have an emergency bag to just go with it if ever it happens.

4) The Philippines has a lot of active volcanoes.

Image from Unsplash

This is in relation to the last number. Since we are in the ring of fire, there are many volcanic eruption activities in the island. The one that really hit the news is the Taal volcano that destroyed a lot of lives, livelihood, and houses. I am so grateful for the people who help in the middle of the crisis even if there is a great risk like the ash pollution. The Philippines has also the Mt. Pinatubo and Mt. Mayon which is known for having its perfect cone. These volcanoes are very strong and is always monitored in case there is a big eruption.

5) The Philippines always experience heavy storms.

Image from Unsplash

Because we have a very hot Summer, so we expect a heavy rain in the monsoon season. Being in an extreme weather can make people sick because of the drastic change. Also, having a heavy rains can destroy crops, create floods, and destroy houses and buildings. I experience going home while the road is flooded. I do not have a choice but to take off my shoes and cross the flooded road. I was so sad because my leather shoes is wet and I have to use it in the next day. Maybe because we also have a bad draining system and the trash clogging the drains.

Final Thoughts

There are a lot of geographical disadvantages of the Philippines. These are just some of it. I am not complaining about it but rather just pointing out the disadvantages. In this list, we can create ways on how to mitigate these disasters or disadvantages. Someday, we can be as advanced as the other countries. We are still stuck in the 80s in my opinion. The government must step up their game plan when it comes to these matters. Bottomline is, we are all affected and should always have a good plan.

Thank you for reading my article. Peace- Jijisaur.

Lead image edited on Canva

Opensea/Twitter/Noise.cash: @Jijisaur

You can read my other articles here:

🎄Uncommon Things. Am I Weird Being Friends With My Past? https://read.cash/@Jijisaur/uncommon-things-am-i-weird-being-friends-with-my-past-fbe48637

🎄Who Is Jijisaur? https://read.cash/@Jijisaur/who-is-jijisaur-4565d1a2

🎄Childhood Christmas Memories! https://read.cash/@Jijisaur/childhood-christmas-memories-dc2e7493

8
$ 3.04
$ 2.88 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Eunoia
$ 0.05 from @Cleophia2
+ 2
Sponsors of Jijisaur
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jijisaur
2 years ago

Comments

Yeah agreed, we were on the ring of fire so calamity has really a huge impact. Like today we were again preparing for new typhoon near our place hayst.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yeah, there is a text from the government of high tides in our place. Take care po! 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow! I'd be scared always knowing that I live in a place with so many active volcanos and also monsoon season. What I do like is the fact that despite all of that disadvantages you love your country ❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, I really do. 😊 It will be always and forever my home. All we can right now is to be prepared in case there is a disaster.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for sharing this I never knew it before

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am glad that I somehow benefit people not in the Philippines about our country. 😊 I hope you are safe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kaya minsan kahit alam kong imposible sa bansa natin, hinihiling ko pa rin na sana magsnow kahit sobrang minsan lang. Para makaranas naman mamato ng snowball or di kaya makakain ng snow lol

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Tama, sis! Haha baka pagunaw na mundo nun global warming. Sana naman 4 seasons ang philippines. 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's why we must take care our environment and the mother nature.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dito sa middle east sis malamang sa isang taon isa o tatlong beses lang umulan at nagkaka earth quake lang minsan pero napakahina lang ang worse lang dito ay kapag summer ay umaabot ng 50degress sobrang init na yun.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hala jusko mainit talaga pag walang ulan. Parang mas gusto ko na na lang, umulan kesa wala hehe. San ka sis sa middle east po? Ingat po kayo parati! 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sa Kuwait ako sis sa ngayon dito winter naman .

$ 0.00
2 years ago