Proving Superiority.

17 33
Avatar for Jher0122
2 years ago
Credits to unsplash

Since I was still studying I've been hearing about the fraternities in town that are contributing a lot of change in the society. I admired them silently because of their good deeds to our fellow human especially to the poor ones. I was a highschool student back then when I first heard about them and my classmates which are member of certain fraternity are recruiting me but I'm hesitating to join because I heard also some negative comments about them.

Joining a fraternity back then has been my dream and I was influenced by the wattpad story I read with the title Hell University by Knight In Black. It was a good story by the way if you want to read it. But in that story it's not a fraternity but a gang. I haven't heard any gang here in our place aside from the news about those budol-budol gang who did bad things. huhu.

I heard and witness more positive comments than those negative comments by the way that's why I really want to join a certain group. The fraternity they introduced to me back then was Alpha Kappa Rho and Tau Gamma Phi. They did a lot of good things here in our province aready such as feeding programs in far flung barangays and also sponsoring some events for the children.

It's my dream until now but it's really hard because my family has a phobia regarding fraternities because one of my uncle in father side was killed due to some conflict between two groups. They had a fight head on and my uncle was stabbed resulting to his death. Since then our great grandfather prohibit us to join any fraternities and until now my grandfather is telling the same thing to me.

I had also a experienced about getting involved in a conflict between two groups here. My friends just invited me to some event then a guy make fun of my friend while with his brotherhoods. A fight broke out between them then later on the guy called on a group of guys which is also members of a certain fraternity. I don't want to get involved in their fight so I decided to stay away but I didn't know that my classmate is one of them so he recognized me.

Later on while we are in school, my classmate approached me and asked me if I was a member of that certain group I'm with the other day. I said to him that I'm not and I asked him why he's asking, he only answered "nah you're lucky then, severe your ties with them if you don't want to die yet." He treathened me and I don't want to die yet so I followed his advice.

Later on I found out that my friend who got a fight back then was found dead in a canal with his fingers missing. It seems that they salvage him but the suspects are not clear yet so until now his families are shouting justice for their love one. From that incident I knew that the other group was involved in my friends death. His brotherhood also think the same but they can't do anything because they were back up by a politician and that's the sad part about it.

Then a question was engraved in my mind and until now I can't still understand it.

Is it necessary to use force just to prove who are more superior between two fraternity group to the point of sacrificing of someone's life?

I can't still understand why they had to do it to my friend even if they were the one who started it. It such a toxic mentality within those groups that's why sometimes my respect to them is getting low. Especially those who are boastful when they are with their group.

Witnessing this kind of act from those fraternities makes me doubt their true mission and intension to the whole world. These fraternities and sororities are all over the world and I don't know if something similar to what happened to us is happening also in other countries.


Even though that thing happened to us my admiration to them is still stronger than my doubt because I believe there are still more good guys in a fraternity and sorority who's putting a lot of effort in trying to make our world a better place for us to live in especially to those young generations that are about to be born.

I also admire them for their act of brotherhood and sisterhood. This kind of act is what we need especially in this trying times wherein our country is shattering due to this pandemic and to all other factors that are disturbing the order of our society.

Author's note

These fraternities and sororities are founded to bring change to the society we are living in and not to be used in some bad intensions just like to what happened to us. I hope that the mission and vission of these groups are to be observe strictly in order to avoid unnecessary actions that will stain the integrity of these groups.

There are many groups emerging right now and I hope that before joining them you must know their true purpose. Joining these kind of groups is not a bad thing as long as it will do good to the majority. Long live to all fraternities and sororities out there.

That's it for today's blog and thank you once again for joining me upto this far. See yah and peace to all.

Lead image: I made it in Canva same with the image above.

Thank you to all of my sponsors and to all of my audience out there. Arigatou and Godbless.

Sponsors of Jher0122
empty
empty
empty

6
$ 1.94
$ 1.79 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Eunoia
$ 0.05 from @ARTicLEE
+ 2
Avatar for Jher0122
2 years ago

Comments

It is indeed admirable what fraternities do in terms of community services and all that. I just don't like the initiation where some groups use force and abuse just because they can do it.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I also don't like that po and sometimes they even use it to threaten people.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have never read of fraternities doing that, but it was very scary, I understand your grandfather's concern. It's really wrong to want to have more power or superiority by taking someone else's life. It's best to stay away from fraternities.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Staying away is for the best and for safety also because there's still people within those groups who thinks highly of themselves just because they are part of it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

They will have high self-esteem, but put their lives at risk.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Woah this really shocked me, I knew that TGI and SI that the 2 prats in our university back then, I met and friended also with some advisers and the president, they also wanted me to join because they said they need become officials, I refused because I know my parent will not tolerate that kind. Grabe nangyari, buti you kept silent nalang nang wala nang naging problema.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I think po sa mga universities sila moslty nagrerecruit...may mga scholars din po ata sila..naririnig ko po noon... Oo nga po eh pero nakakakonsensya talaga...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm also like that in my highschool daya I wanted to join fraternity yet my parent won't allow me. I know na kapag dawit ka dito more problems and tragedies talaga, akala ko kasi dati ang ganda ganda at pag solidarity talaga yung mga frat but as what I see in todays situation it's far from my expectation.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Imbes na mapaganda pa sana yung pagjoin mo..hindi na kasi damay damay kapag may malaking problema ang grupo which is hindi na maganda ngayon na ginegenaralize ng iba..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Fraternities where all good back then but because of some bad incidences day by day it happens to be a sort of diversity in young generation instead of being united as one.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

That's true po.. Instead if using it to unite the society or for good purposes..they use it for personal agendas..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, and fraternities now are being controlled by politician, they are funded every election. So their credibilities are stained.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is really heartbreaking Jher. 😭 I don't know. My heart broke with this. I felt pity what happened to him. Your friend need justice. 😭 I realized it's really unfair. If people belong in the middle or in the poorest even they are the one in the right side, the one who are in the top will always will win even they are the one who did a mistakes. 🥺 So unfair. 🥺

$ 0.03
2 years ago

It's really unfair po talaga pag ang dehado is yung mga nasa laylayan... and just to be safe we kept our mouth shut for the whole time..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo Jher. Yan talaga ang katotohanan. Nakakasad lang talaga. 🥺

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Me, I am kind of negative when it comes to fraternity and sorority because of the news that I learned before. There are people died due to initiation rites. I know some are not bad and it is not good to generalize it but that is just my opinions about it. Good thing in your area, they are good ones.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I also watched it in news ...that just so sad.. They had good leaders here that's why they conduct many feeding programs..They even do some cleanings in schools..

$ 0.00
2 years ago