An old woman told some history.

8 72
Avatar for Jher0122
2 years ago

Learning the history of one thing can be done in school but there are things that are not taught in school such as our own history. History of ourselves are not included in the scope we learned in school. Do you know your history? Are you aware what your parents went through before you were born?

History can be the greatest memory we can have so let's take a look at my history. The woman who taught me was my grandma. She has the habit of telling the stories which happened in the past especially my parent's story.

Sometimes she remembered those what happened in the past during our meals or after meals. Then I will asked her to tell more then she will say, I don't remember it well na but she's talking and talking and it's like her story will never end. haha. Are your grandmothers the same with my grandma? lol

History of my father

He is the eldest son, they are four siblings ,the second one is my uncle then my aunties. Look how cool their pairs, 2 boys and 2 girls. The same with the brother of my grandpa, 2 boys and 2 girls also. How did they do that? If I will have my own family in the future I want to have that kind of pairs. My eldest are boys then followed by girls.

My father is good in basketball and he got a MVP trophy which validates the story of my grandma about him. Well I see him plays with the other guys here and he also became a member in our basketball team here in our purok everytime we celebrate our fiesta before.

I also play basketball before and when I got in highschool I got no time for it because of my studies. Maybe I became a player also in our barangay but nahh, it seems playing basketball is not my thing. What I play is volleyball which I belong to the group that represented our town competing to other towns here in the province.

My father is very industrious and I can based it in his past because at young age he became a tricycle driver, funding his tuition fee in college. Life is so simple back then and you don't need to attain high degrees in order for you to be respected.

History of my mother

She's the eldest, they are four siblings also but the difference is that they are all girls. I don't know much about the history of my mom because I'm not that close in her sides especially to my grandparents there. My mom graduated in college and she worked immediately at printing press.

How they fell inlove?

Well they are close friends with the other guys and girls here before. They often visited the house of my grandparents which is the house we live in now. As you know being friends is the starting point of love. Do you agree or not?

One day they visited here together with the gang and they did something called Lubi-lubi wherein they mash in some cassava. It's like they had picnic beside the river here and ofcourse a tradition in every friendships they drank liquor.

When they were all drunked, my father confessed to my mother that he likes her. My father didn't know that my mom was already inlove with him and she just confessed it to him making my father very happy. Since that day my father courted my mom and their relationship became official to both of their parents that's why they decided to settle down for good.

How I came into life? Well you already know the answer haha. You're not innocent about that anymore because I'm sure we all learned it in school. I was in my mother's womb already when they had their wedding and the next day I was born. A boy was born after their wedding and I didn't undergo such complicated facilities in hospitals. I was born right here in the house I'm in now.

With the help of an old woman who is veteran in that field, the operation was successful and here I'm now. I just celebrated my 21 years last January. Happy and having a simple life. Living in a house where everything has started.

Author's note

Learning these kind of histories about my parents is such an opportunity because it will serve as a memory which I can share also to my future children and grandchildren. Everytime my grandma tells about the past I listen carefully and later on we are both laughing about it. These kind of scenario serves as a bonding to us both which makes me very happy.

Thank you reading my article once again and see you again next time.

Lead image: I made it in Canva same with the image above.

To my sponsors and avid audience who always supports my articles, Arigatou💚.

Sponsors of Jher0122
empty
empty
empty

10
$ 3.89
$ 3.67 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.06 from @Ling01
$ 0.05 from @Alther
+ 4
Avatar for Jher0122
2 years ago

Comments

This is one thing that I've never had with my maternal grandparents. They were the silent type and not much said between them so there are not much stories that I have heard from either of them. I got so comfortable with their silence that I didn't bother asking them for any stories.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My mom and dad started as friends to until they fell inlove and they had me. Your dad is cool he even got an MVP trophy and I am sure you are a basketball player too right? Nice to meet you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's good to have a story telling bonding to yoyr grandparents hehez my grandma is so talkative even I hear tge same old story of her again an again I wouldn't mind because seeing my grandmas reaction while telling her stories and experiences makes me smile. Her reaction is priceless.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Same here po..she tend to repeat it and I don't mind.. as long as she can tell what's in her mind and heart ..that's ok for me.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang saya ng ganyan, pero ndi ko yan naranasan sa lola ko kasi mataray un masyado hehe at napakastrikto

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Totoo po ..masaya po talaga na may lola kang mapagkwento ..ikwento ba naman yung mga bagay bagay na nangyari noon ..talaga nga naman na mapapatawa ka nalang..ayy hehe..lambingin niyo po ..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang sarap makinig sa mga kwento ng mga matatanda no? Namiss ko tuloy nanay ko. She used to tell us stories before we go to bed.😊

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Lalo napo pag after na kumain na busog kayo ..tas masasaya mga kwento nila....For sure mamimiss ko ito..

$ 0.00
2 years ago