Writing for your interest or for an audience.

4 27
Avatar for Jento
Written by
1 year ago

While there are many writers on this platform who insist on writing consistently for an audience. I have another intention for this platform. This is the only writing avenue I have. It will be too hypocritical to claim I’m not here for the tips but that is only secondary to the 1st reason, which is to write. There is a great difference because while you write for an audience, there is a need to stimulate their interest to follow you while on the other hand, my interest in writing my thoughts that’s been accumulating in my head. To put it to rest by writing. The God series writing was really more of a convo until I put it into writing. Thus my reason to believe in writing.

As you continue to stimulate interest from an audience, sometimes it drains you that makes you do a lot of things to the point of… writer’s block. Another disadvantage is that you struggle to keep up the interest of your audience so that writing no longer becomes fun and enjoyable. It’s one of the reasons why writing becomes dull as time goes by. Many writers undergo depression and a series of illnesses for the love of the craft, not realizing that writing is detrimental to their health.

In history, there were many poets who wrote for the love of the craft. Though the “Thanatopsis” written by William Cullen never really pursued the craft, he was a lawyer and an editor. Hmm, John Keats, another poet I admired died young and was recognized as one of the greatest English writers never came to age because he died as early as 25. His writings were not as flourishing as he was around, but are immortalized when he was gone. So, the earnings, the royalties for his work? Where did it all go? Oh! Local writers suffering the same end? Graciano and Marcelo are two I am familiar of.

Playwrights write for the interests of the aristocrats and the rich. Though Shakespeare is entirely on a different scale but still. They get the privilege and fame of being favored by someone who can afford to finance their play(s). But in the run, pressured to keep up making plays that interest the audience. It’s such dismay when a sponsor walks out in the middle of the play or becomes uninterested or offended. It’s like killing the play before it hits the stage.

I didn’t believe I have it in me! To write because I never explore but I do enjoy reading history and literature for that matter. Now I am writing, it never crosses my mind to seek an audience because I don’t want to feel the pressure of writing to please an audience. I’d like to free write and don’t ridicule myself just to please an audience.

Now, it's becoming alluring and famous to play the victim in their composition for an audience which I don’t find attractive and this theme is earning a lot. Though I have to admit that earning does help me a lot and I am grateful. For the 10 months here, I believe I have earned at least 2BCH which I cannot find somewhere else. It's already lucrative for me because all I do is contribute. And I am truly grateful. Staying here is very entertaining and keeping up with current events is truly amazing while many I find hilariously funny, entertaining.

I am not really the kind to keep journals, so I write it down the most way I feel comfortable. Freely written not on the constraints within the norms of other writers. They have their own criteria. While I have my goals, enjoying, having fun and excitement are my goals while building a portfolio is the least of my concern. I am a nobody in real life, just trying to live as the day goes by! I am not into building an empire that only last while it lasts. I want to build connections that last a lifetime. Encouraging people to write with simplicity and in a time share their thoughts, share stories as we grow together on this platform.

Thank u for the read! God bless.

July 21, 2022
Image: pinterest

6
$ 0.34
$ 0.33 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @Mayt
Sponsors of Jento
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jento
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

""am a nobody in real life, just trying to live as the day goes by! I am not into building an empire that only last while it lasts. I want to build connections that last a lifetime. Encouraging people to write with simplicity and in a time share their thoughts, share stories as we grow together on this platform"" I like this a lot! same goes with me. Exactly what i want to happen.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

By writing you are increasing your level of grammar or spelling and improving your syntax.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I love the style how you write. It's very obvious that you love reading books and other writings as well. :) Keep it up.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

writing is a way of exressig our feelings, troubles and dismay to the world. I feel refresh when I write

$ 0.01
1 year ago