Politics: It's just everywhere!

6 28
Avatar for Jento
Written by
2 years ago

A few minutes back, I thought it was going to rain. But the sun shines fervently as the day continues on an unpredictable Tuesday.

"School na Scam" by @Aimure

I woke up very early for my 1st on a 5am-2pm shift. This shift rotation really had been on a spiral these days! The more I wanted to linger inside the house and don’t go out. But… OBLIGATIONS!!! If, I was lucky to be supported instead, I would gladly give up working! Lolz.

Daily politics.

Now… Aimure’s “School na Scam” really made me think about a lot of things.

“Gone are the days when school is a guarantee for success or a good job with good pay. All that luxuries are now for those who know the right people”

Well, my share of experience in this arena is that not everybody can afford to go to school so it definitely a “luxury”. Our family struggled through it and even my mom’s sisters were helping me go through College. And it almost exhausted all of mama’s inherited lot just to send our youngest sister and graduate nursing. But… We all get the most of it. We are all professionals and thanks to that hard work and diligence with God as our Partner, yes!

Spoilers. Yes, there were times I really thought I didn’t have to graduate. Unfortunately, the truth was that you have to prove to people that you are above average or really that good to be hired without a diploma, especially on this side of the world. Others actually have to sell their soul just to be in. Gladly I didn’t have to make the choice. You see, people “MOCK” you simply because you have the guts and didn’t graduate.

To the quoted statement? Oh! The tragedy of the description is that “it's really WHO you know gets hired”, which has been true all these years. This is the reason why people connect, befriend people with a position as they have the “influence” and say to almost everything that surrounds them. Like the “mayor” for a sample. I mean, who doesn’t know the mayor? Ei, with one recommendation, of course, who would dare refuse? Right? That’s human culture and that’s how politics works, in gov’t and private sectors. This is just how politics is play in daily lives.

Even us simple citizens, are playing politics in our daily lives. Like office politics, it’s an advantage or disadvantage of “who you know” if the one you know is “not liked”, beware! If you were the kind to kiss ass, well, stay away! In our friendly connections, we either win or lose favors on this one. The more in the position you have as friends, the more you think you are in a better environment? Oh please! Remember, the higher the position, the tighter the competition.

School

Even at school, there is politics. How’d you say those who bully? However, it is actually in this arena where you can actually showcase your abilities both in classrooms and in general student life! If you had the zest to get through what you want, then this is the opportunity for you. Running for student council gives you an edge over ordinary students, especially with the play. The connections you establish and a lot more. It’s simply not just governance but your ability to stay connected and future plays.

Classrooms provide the opportunity to showcase your brain and diligence and a bit of hard work if you were bright but a lot of hard work if not. Sorry, that’s just the reality in life, not everyone is bright, some smart, some plain, some gutsy… It all depends on how opportunity is used by anyone who cared to know.

Without politics

I love this. I don’t get to go to unnecessary birthday invitations and spend a lot of time making faces and knowing people. Opppsss! Sorry, I really love my cave. Cozy, simple, unkept, nothing to hide, just me… Worst, I don’t have to be like a “gaga yaya going all over the place with madam and have to keep up with her moods all the time”. I am really sorry I’m not like that.

So, successful without a diploma? Oh hell yes! Before the days of BILL GATES, my uncle was a high school graduate who married my aunt due to early pregnancy. He gave up all and started a family at that age. He worked day and night going to the fish market, buy and sell fish until he was able to make good money from it, and eventually purchase his own boat with people working for him. Time gone by and build a house, a building of his own. He became rich because of his hard work and due diligence. Still, as his children grew older by the year, loved it if they all graduated but still ended up like both parents. How they’re now, holding up and taking their share of their business.

Yes, a diploma is not for everyone. Us? I believe we were born professionals and were earning. Our nurse is actually earning good money with her diploma but still with hard work and diligence.

Me? I’m not so proud of myself, I am actually a product of “who my mom knows” so… before that I got through work on my own. And this current job is through someone I know. Wow! But my siblings, really, on their effort.

Sorry for a long read. Thank u.

June 07, 2022
Image: pinterest

6
$ 1.40
$ 1.20 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Aimure
$ 0.06 from @Alther
+ 2
Sponsors of Jento
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jento
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Beautiful! Found this stimulating and enjoyable too. Thanks for the mention and reference.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Include politics in school life is something that let students not think about exams and go in politics events and could affect bad their marks.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It's a matter of managing their time... A good day to you!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

politics is unavoidable. you can always see it wherever you go. lucky the country who has an integrity, and love for the people.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Am I allowed to ask whether you are from Nigeria because every single Nigeria student going to school today is not going and having this thought in mind that when he or she comes out he will have good grades and get a job that pays well and take care of the family no youth is thinking that way now because everything even ordinary security work that pays like $20 per month you still need to know some that will connect you first

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oh! I don't mind... I am Filipino and this is happening everywhere. Just presenting you our perspective, encouraging you to do your studies instead of walking out the door with all the doubts in the world. hmmm, should I continue making articles like this one that help you think better about going to school? I'll try... based on our experiences, perhaps in a way you can relate.

$ 0.00
2 years ago