How much can we afford to lose!

4 25
Avatar for Jento
Written by
2 years ago

Inspired by The painful grip of mental health problems by @valo.

Reality bites… It’s not every day the sun shines because the rain comes too! Sometimes, stormy weather or just too sizzling hot summer. So, that’s the reality of our world. While us, our reality also is like that. Not every day we get to enjoy a lively day, sometimes very busy, and most often too tired to enjoy the weekend. Sometimes, sulking makes us feel good or better, other days we are just filled with so much enthusiasm that no one can match our almost drunken mood.

Sponsors of Jento
empty
empty
empty

There are many times our mood is not a choice but at the end of the day, it will become a choice because the consequences in life will be all too compounding if left undecided. Like, our lazy mood. It’s a bodily dictate and if it went all the way from one weekend to a month then to a quarter to year, its most likely to close doors of opportunity that only comes in once in a lifetime. It is so because we will never know our fortune in the future, next month, year and a decade after. We may miss chances of a lifetime is we let it go its way. Then comes priorities, we have to look into our priorities then assess. So even if we feel like being lazy, we really don’t have much choice but to shove it away because we cannot afford!

On the other hand, there are few people with excessive luck that they can actually afford closing doors. But, only too few… to equate it, its actually the reason why there are only bunch of rich people vs the poor. So, by this you already have the idea. Not many can afford missing one bit of opportunity that’s why they have to shove off slackness and be in the best possible mood.

Mama had years of depression until she decided to shove it away. Why? The feeling lingers that more you pamper it. She discovered that the more she submits to her fears, the more it haunts her. The more cripple she was and the more… unhappy she becomes. One day she decided to shove it off, she regained little by little her confidence. Oh! mental breakdown? It was all a "breakdown". And she was happy because with all that, she was able to send her children to college and graduate. She was not alone though, but still she made efforts of not embracing it but face it.

I have my share too… the articles “I wanna write my sadness away!” and “Aggrieved” are articles/poems I made because my heart is sulking, just recently though I had some in the past. I am not even aware of their existence until it was revealed to me. To satisfy the “sulking heart”, it demands a paradigm shift and another one that I must take because this heart will not settle in unless it is done. And I still have so much to do, like I have to make and publish a book. Then write all the articles I need and notes to prepare for the shift and I am nowhere near it. It’s not all the time we make “excuses” sometime we are compelled because the feeling is triggered and we are held hostage until that feeling is satisfied with the “provided” resolution. That’s why many are crippled and cannot do anything but linger on. As I thought of lingering on this feeling, it is bothering me and the boys are getting uncomfortable. They are silently complaining but they see it that “momy is just tired” so they let me be, as they put their faith in me to resolve “this” in my time.

We all have to face it all in our time but the bottomline is, “how much can we afford” to delay? Me, my answer is simple… I cannot, I have boys to feed and a house to manage – we single mom really don’t have much option. We really can’t help it but… go on! Thank u for the read, til next time.

May 2, 2022
Image: pinterest

4
$ 1.33
$ 1.27 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @valo
$ 0.02 from @Aimure
+ 1
Sponsors of Jento
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jento
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Thanks for the mention, I'm glad that my post inspired you to write your article, even though it's sad that we "have to" express such strong feelings. At least there are platforms where one can do that and feel free. Keeping it inside of us is pure torture. The way society works is sometimes beyond my understanding.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hmm. This is quite strong. From the first line, I read reality without mincing or spicing it. Truth be said, monsters are first humans before they become a monster. Life issues can drive one into what they do not bargain for initially. This is just what I need for this period.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I can't afford to loose much to be honest. And depression is a serious health challenge that must be looked at with all seriousness. Shoving it off doesn't wish it away. It only compounds it.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Here, when I stated "mama shoved it away", she worked her way out out it that's why it took her over a decade shoving it away... Even to her death, it still haunted her. But, it was not a crippling as it used to be.

$ 0.00
2 years ago