A sister from a different mom, she said! Revolutionizing friendship…

2 33
Avatar for Jento
Written by
1 year ago

Part II of an article inspired by My Friends Left Me by @yoieuqudniram, inspired by an @ARTicLEE article.

Killing me softly will be difficult… hihihi! I live from a different dimension. Lolz. So, God took her instead of me? Hmm…

We had a common perspective, we are devoted to our family. While she was more on the financial side, I was more on moral support. We were high school classmates but we were never close. 2010 hubby died and we started to reconnect on FB as FB was already alive and kicking. 2011 she told me: “you want change? Come and follow me!”. I grabbed the opportunity and still working for the same company for a decade and 2, to date.

2012 she started hanging around me while I quarreled with her to keep her at bay but it wasn’t a deterrence. She stayed despite and I came to accept her for that. Then we fought battles we chose to fight. She ran away from our devotion while I came hiding after a while. Her alligators and dragons, parents/siblings, because of the constant demand financially. While, I wasn’t feeding my alligators and dragons, but only left to defend my mom’s battlefield – her struggle with my dad, the first line of defense! Now, mom’s gone so I’m in the hiding… Lolz.

When she ran away, to Australia, we talked like she was just next door. Every day… Like I was the 1st person she chatted with when she touched down and got used to Ausy life. Then her family complained we talked too much (after years of doing this) and that she barely had time for them which wasn’t true. But she complied, and I didn’t complain. I was happier and finally?... But.. She sends in projects to help me financially as a reward for being there whenever she messages me. And lately bribed the kids before cancer consumed her.

Still, her family felt a little jealous despite my returning her to them on her last days. Perhaps because they never knew, we call them alligators and dragons, for surely they will be offended. And we laughed out loud at it. Shared the very moments which was not available to them. The things that scare her the most. Me not minding her making me a clown, chasing her blues away whenever she ended up in a private hospital room @Perth.

While my family thought of her as my best friend!? Lolz… Truly, she was not. I never asked about her favorite color. I don’t know who was her 1st bf or her 1st kiss nor how many boyfriends she had. Nor do I know what her dream or ambition was. And likewise, she knew none of the mine nor met any. But one thing she made clear, I was the sister of another mom. Her mom is named Julia while mine is Julie. Coincidence? Lolz…

She made me believe it was possible. For a relationship to be purely dependent on nothing. Not a relationship bore out of the “benefits” ripped from this connection but just really purely sharing what life had to offer. Like most people only post good vibes on FB to invite good vibes, pa twittum/pa-cute moments on FB for likes and subscriptions.

I really prefer it to real. I don’t like it to be a relationship because it’s convenient for me because one day I will find out “it was all for nothing, just for the show” and vanishes life a “puff” in the air. It's a disappointing act. Naturally of course because what's the use of spending time together if not to bond? Really? To pry on my life and will be very jealous of the simplicity of my life, - the joy it brings to my family? Oh, common! A competition? Sorry to disappoint, I'm very non-competitive in every way! Yet, this is what I found, “a sister from another mom!”.

There are actually many more, “a mama Vine, Ate Lorna, si Ate Marlyn, Anty Fe, nurse Vega and many more” genuine relationships that touched my life. Who took care of me while I was growing up and guided me while I was trying to cross untraveled shores. Supported me in troubled times and pushed me to face adversities I didn’t have the courage to face. Then I grew.

I am grateful for all these. Something my family never knew! For one thing, I know, they never knew me… Yet they BELIEVED IN ME EVEN IF THEY WEREN’T SURE OF ME… They had faith in me and that faith pushed me to work the best for them. And I carried that in my heart that even if I was alone, I have their support carved in my heart! Forevermore…

December 1, 2022
Image: my own

5
$ 0.00
Sponsors of Jento
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jento
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

Ang ganda lang sa feeling na yung mga mahal mo sa buhay napaka supportive sis. Mas lalo kang maganahan na ma motivate always.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

A sister from another mom is a reputable story these days.

$ 0.01
1 year ago