11 years and still kicking! Work, work, work and never forget to write!

6 32
Avatar for Jento
Written by
1 year ago

Sept 06 marked my 11th anniversary at work and quite satisfied with the achievement. Despite the hurdles, “I made it through the rain” –sung by Mariah Carey. A total of 16years working and still kicking. I've been trying to make money all these years but still I am broke and bankrupt! hahaha! But luckily SSS is already good for pension.

At this age, what do I have to lose? When everything at this age is nothing but a bridge between living and going! I am not young anymore and I am not sensitive about it. Actually, I welcomed it as I already got through a lot of storms but most likely –anxiety is still visiting, hihihi! One good thing about my aging is that, I got a year older at writing which I never experimented on in my younger years. This is what I’d appreciate the most is writing now because this privilege was never available during our time. It was available but not prevalent and quite a competition. Oh, oh, oh! Now, writing is made convenient using WORD and publish with a click! You can only imagine how hard it was to be a writer during my time, all the more during classical times. To point out, either on a typewriter or journal or notes, imagine the kind of editing you have to go through to perfectly submit an article. PLUS, the research? Imagine how many books and newspapers you have to scour just for an article? Hours? Oh no, days or weeks!

Avenue for new writers before is not as privileged as we have now on MEDIUM and as lucrative as READ, Publish0x or HIVE, just some I know. Publishing before, locally? OMG, you have to be related to the publisher (newspaper) to publish an article. You can never soar anywhere without knowing anyone, while now, OMG, search the net and you have READ, MEDIUM, and many others. If you want, you can publish by having your own website, free or for a fee. Now my earnings on writings are stored, -forced storage, at coins.ph because I never thought that my transaction increased incrementally this year! I cannot convert my BCH until I upgrade my verification. Since it rejected the document I submitted, I cannot do anything but wait for the year to end and my BCH will be collected by then. I have no back up money from this point on. Waahhh!

But, I am grateful for the years that I had spent living. Why? Hmmm… Well, let me share with you a story here at the office. We support US customers so we are in operation 24 hours. We work on shift, unlike manufacturing, they have HOLIDAYS, us we don’t. Our Leaves (SL and VLs) are non-convertible but not allowed for long leave like a week. So, our body is most likely exhausted. Hmmm, little did we know that our colleague was already suffering from hypertension. We didn’t know until he had an attack here in the office and died. He was only 36 years old. He died on his workstation, tried to revive him but was just too late. Sad, and we were all at awe knowing the fact he didn’t go home because he was supported and was already told to rest but he couldn’t go home because… I guess home wasn’t much of a home, so he’d rather work. And another story? A colleague actually suffered a rare blood cancer that he never knew, he passed away in less than a year. He was sick one day, hospitalized and months after he died - COVID pandemic story. He was only 27.

Hmmm… I mean to kick hard for the next years, and about 2 decades before senior. Me, reaching this age is already a blessing as I just really learned from the interaction with my colleagues that they were already suffering from hypertension as early as 27 and single. So, having a heart problem at 40s is good enough. At least I was able to prevent it longer than they had. Not that I am comparing, but can’t help but look at this point of view looking back and knowing that I have gone far enough, is good enough. Take note, I just lost a friend this year too – 41. Either I lose myself with insurance or prepare myself for early retirement are possibilities I’m willing to explore. But if I can prolong it more, -that’s the goal. Hahaha! Well, I’m a girl my hair is thinning but at least I'm not losing hair! Lolz! I’m losing weight, another 2.5 kilos for a week. Hoping to hit 50+ before the month ends…

Thank u for the read... Bless us all for more years!

Sept 08, 2022
Image: pinterest

12
$ 1.63
$ 1.57 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @ARTicLEE
$ 0.01 from @Mictorrani
Sponsors of Jento
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jento
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

Congratulations It is not easy to reach this stage

$ 0.00
1 year ago

After good period of work break becomes mondetary to resume our energy and be back in force to work.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Congrats to you my friend. 🎉 Just continue in life and explore different things that's what I did also friend.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Congrats! Cheers to more years :)

Indeed the potential is exponential it seems in this digital era.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The company is lucky to have you! Sometimes we realize that we are lucky to still be kicking while knowing people close to us to stop aging.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Woah! You have reached this far. Congratulations for a job well done mate. You are awesome!😲

$ 0.00
1 year ago