Mommy, please let me

11 35
Avatar for JenThoughts
2 years ago

It's another day given to us by our Creator, a new day to be here, to be with you, read some articles and learn, and lastly to write one.

When you have kids surely you can relate on this topic.

Children are curious about things. They wanted to experiment and they want to imitate what we are doing.

In everyday living, there are lot of things you are doing in and out of your house. Everyday, our child is watching. They are observing everything we do. Every act is being recorded in their mind.

Have you noticed that everytime we are doing something, our children is there wanted to help. We usually hear them saying Mommy, please let me. We feel being annoyed by them and sometimes we will be angry towards them.

Let them help

We wanted to finish what we are doing and don't want some distraction from them. But sometimes we forget the fact that our children is growing. They need to know about the basics of life. They need to learn to do things alone. They need to be taught how to be independent someday and they need us to teach them how to survive life in the future.

Mommies, daddies, let us allow our children to learn by doing something.

Let them help. Let them try. Let them play and learn.

Doing house chores may be difficult to our little children, but sometimes we didn't realize that these things is FUN for them. Yes, you read it right. I don't know if you noticed that, but I did.

When I am doing some household chores, my son will tell me, Mama please let me. Honestly, I felt being annoyed before. But the moment I let him do it, I saw how happy he is in doing it. He finds it fun and enjoyable.

When I am sweeping the floor, he will keep on telling me, Mama please let me try. Mama, please I will do it.

My son sweeping the floor

When I am cleaning the floor, he will find his own rags and will do what I am doing. Having this kind of activity, they thought they are just playing but in a silent way, we are teaching them. We are also having a mother and son bonding, a quality time to be cherished.

My son cleaning the floor

They will be happy in doing so. For them, it is like they are playing. See? they are playing and at the same time they are learning. We are also helping them to develop a habit in doing the household chores. We are also teaching them to be helpful in everything.

My son washing the dishes

They are just practicing. They are not perfect so don't expect too much on what they are doing. We also need patience on teaching them the steps and helping them to do it.

Let us also allow them to learn the wonders of God's creation. Allow them to help us in the garden, allow them to plant and take care of it. They will be amazed seeing the plants grow day by day. They will be excited in watering it daily, removing some weeds and above all they will be happy picking some harvest on it.

Mommy, let me help. Mommy, let me try to do that. Here are some list where our children could help us:

  • Washing the dishes. Sometimes he will play with the dishwashing paste and water. Supervision is needed.

  • Mopping the floor. Watch them do this because the floor may become slippery.

  • Sweeping the floor

  • Sweeping the front yard

  • Arrange and keep the bed

  • Removing some dust in every things

  • Cleaning the table

  • Putting some plates and spoons

  • Wash the laundry. I just let him put the clothes in the washing machine and let the hanger be prepared.

  • Help prepare the vegetables (malunggay and other leafy vegetables). I haven't let him slice the vegetables for now because it is still unsafe to do it in his age.

  • Fold the clothes even if it is not perfect atleast they are enjoying doing it with me. Sometimes I let him remove the hanger.

  • Help in the garden. He is happy removing some weeds in the garden and in the front yard.

  • Watering the plants

  • Help in cooking/baking. He really wants to mix something I cooked. He is the one who beats/scrambled the egg.

There are lots of activity that our children could help. They just need our help and guidance in doing so.

Ending thoughts

Parents, the Bible wants to remind us about this. "Train up a child in the way he should go,and when he is old he will not depart from it". - Proverbs 22:6

Training our child should start at home as early as possible. It is easy to teach them when they're still young and their mind is so open about it. Children's mind is like a blank USB, and day by day the data will be stored upon it. Let's be careful on what we say and do because everything is right in the eyes of our children.

Sponsors of JenThoughts
empty
empty
empty

Thank you my wonderful sponsors. Thank you my dear readers, commenters, subscribers and upvoters.

See you again in the next article. I hope you learn something.

Pictures were mine.

3
$ 0.41
$ 0.37 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Ellawrites
$ 0.01 from @Bibijani01
Sponsors of JenThoughts
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for JenThoughts
2 years ago

Comments

Beautiful, All that letting will help them to grow in actual means . Your logical thought wo surely let them to have fun in home chores as well as these experiences are beneficial for their future too. If I'll read your great article in front of my mom she will be piss off at me and will start taunting , see other parents are teaching all home chores in this small age to their children, me being 20 still like to hide from home chores.. Lol

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You mean your parents didn't teach you about household chores? Might be you grow with some helpmate in the house. You can also learn it by yourselves. Common household chores should be learned by everyone.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love the zeal your son has for doing things like this. Very true Jen, we should let them help, by doing so. We are also bonding with them and at the same time; training them.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes sis this simple way is a big help for them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's right ma'am, we need to make children independent. In that age we should teach them how to work independently. They know the basic skills.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Knowing the basics of life will help them in the future

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well said, that's true ma'am, basic skills in life is crucial.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Love it sis🥰, your right we should let them know some thing's that can help them in the future, we are the first teacher of our dear children, and it's our duty and responsibility to guide them. ❤️

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes sis specially the mother, we are the one to teach them about it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

children do have curiosity and curiosity higher than adults, sometimes I am like that too, let children do something especially if they want to help us, the most important thing is to monitor their every activity so that they stay safe. great mom.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, supervision and guidance is very needed.. choose activity din na pwede na sa kanila

$ 0.00
2 years ago