Some words are worth more when they are silent

21 53
Avatar for Jelena
Written by
1 year ago

I recently participated in a literary contest in my country, which was organized for people who like to write poems. My poem was praised and published in the official book of poems. Here it is.

The poem was written in my language, Serbian, but I will translate it for you at the end of the article. I was happy and somehow proud of myself because someone found my work commendable.

The theme of the contest was, "There are words that are worth more when they are silent". I write poems because through them I express my deepest emotions. I know paper can handle everything. So, I write everything I feel without fear of encountering someone's misunderstanding.

Sometimes you can’t say everything that comes to your mind out loud because words can hurt. They can cause disagreements and quarrels. I am afraid if I told everyone in my environment everything that I thought about them, I might be left completely alone because the truth is harsh and not always sweet. That doesn't mean I'm insincere. I just keep quiet sometimes.

If you keep quiet in certain situations, your words will be worth more because some words lose their value when they are spoken. You don’t have to tell your partner every moment that you love him/her. Keep quiet and show him/her that. He/she will feel your emotion much more than when you say it.

In a poem for the contest, I wrote about my feelings about losing my father. That is most often my inspiration because I find it difficult to talk about it.

I liked the topic because I agree that sometimes words lose value if we say them. When I say "I'm sad about my father's death" it can never convey how sad I am. So I keep quiet and write.

And here is my poem.

Every attempt will be in vain,

to say what is silent in me,

because if I say,

it may fade

and it won't be worth that much,

not my voice,

not even this day,

not this hour,

how much silence is worth.

If I say,

only emptiness will remain,

and I could talk about it for a long time,

for days and nights,

in vain.

So I choose to keep quiet,

and I keep my words from being lost

in some new chance to get out.

In silence, they will always be worth it,

and I know that's how they will live

in a closed wound,

and open thoughts.

Thank you very much for reading.

The article and the photo are original and mine, as well as the poem.

14
$ 3.28
$ 2.99 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.06 from @Ezelazra3
$ 0.05 from @Alther
+ 6
Sponsors of Jelena
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jelena
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

I congratulate you. Never be afraid to write, my dear. Absolutely, as they say, a gunshot wound heals, but a tongue wound does not. I liked your poem very much, my dear. There is a poem of a poet, I take refuge in the Castle of Silence. The theme of the competition reminded me of that poem: translates translated it differently, i will write the original( Susmanın Kalesine Sığınıyorum)

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thanks. I will write while I am alive because writing is a medicine for my soul. 😊 In what language was the poem you mentioned originally written?

$ 0.00
1 year ago
$ 0.00
1 year ago

Poet Jeka, I like that :) I have poems too. But they echo in the eternity of silence.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thanks. 😊 I would like to read some of your poems.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Maybe, one day I'll post a poetry article here :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's a beautiful piece. Congratulations 🎊 this is indeed worthy of spot in that book

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you very much. I wrote it from my heart. 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's so beautiful. Deep words with unsung feelings. Can I have your autograph mam? Being a huge fan.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Oh Luci, you are so kind. 😊 Thanks. Writing a poems keeps me alive.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It heals me.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Its true dear, most words are often better left unsaid, to avoid chaos and fights

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Absolutely. Many people sometimes do not understand us, especially those who are unstable and insecure, and then it is better to keep the words to yourself.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I also like tk write poems when I was in highschool, after reading this I might try again to write, hehe it's been so long..

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I am glad that I have motivated you. 😊 Try, why not, writing poems is very relaxing.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I will try to write again hehe. .

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is true that's why I sometimes choose to be silent that to speak because I don't want to hurt other people especially my husband. Anyway nice poem. I make poems too

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Oh you also write poems? Very nice. I feel the same. If we always talked about everything we thought, divorce would be very close. 🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes. I also wrote a spoken poetry for my husband. Yeah that's why it's better to stay quiet and silent

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nice poem... many feelings encrypted in beautiful and honest words. Writing can be a good therapy or a good way for expressing what we can't say in a normal conversation from the deepest part of our heart.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you so much. 🤗 Yes, I often express my feelings through poems because I can't say everything. Writing is my therapy that saves me in times of stress.

$ 0.00
1 year ago