Back to the 19th century

14 34
Avatar for Jelena
Written by
1 year ago

If you would like to travel back in time for a moment, come with me to the Residence of Prince Milos Obrenovic, the ruler of Serbia in two periods during the 19th century. At that time, Serbia was an autonomous principality within the Ottoman Empire.

His residence is located in the most beautiful park in Belgrade, called Topcider. My son loves this park very much so we often go there and it is especially beautiful during autumn. Although we are there often, we have never entered the Residence of Prince Milos, so we decided to do it.

In front of the residence there is a London plane tree that you cannot fail to notice. The tree has such large branches that are supported by poles.

According to legend, Prince Milos ordered the tree to be planted when the construction of the residence began.

Finally, we got inside.

When we entered the residence, I didn't feel comfortable. There are a lot of weapons, sabers, cannons and guns...

I don't like guns. And I don't like the violence that was used very often in the past when conquering new territories. Unfortunately, history often repeats itself.

On the walls of the residence, there are many bloody pictures that bear witness to the battles of my ancestors.

Thanks to them I live today right here in Belgrade. But regardless, I don't like this period of history when people lived in fear. Milos ruled absolutistically and enjoyed the awe and great respect of the people. The freedom we have today did not exist then.

Their clothes were very interesting, especially the women's oriental costumes. They look very classy.

As well as the uniforms... The Ottoman sword was worn with them.

There is also an authentic suit of Prince Milos.

We saw a lot of strange and interesting objects. A big needle...

Shackles...

Authentic copper vessels.

Prince Milos Obrenovic's pipe.

His cap that he wore at home...

And then we went upstairs.

During Prince Milos's time the main residence and reception rooms were upstairs. In the centre, there was the public hall with porch (Turkish divanhane).

It was a room for conversations. It looks like a very relaxing and charming place. It is decorated in an oriental style. Prince Milos had a large family and many children.

We also visited the other rooms. One of them was very beautiful. In Serbia at that time, oriental and European styles were intertwined.

All the rooms were painted and the decoration in the main rooms was preserved. I was amazed by the colorful decoration of the walls and ceiling. Prince Milos loved art.

As I looked out the window, I could imagine for a moment the life that took place in these rooms. A different way of life was lived there. And here we are now, after so many years, and the residence is just as beautiful as it was then. It has stood the test of time.

Thank you very much for reading.

The images and article are original and mine. The article was previously published on Hive by me.

11
$ 0.46
$ 0.33 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Duvinca
$ 0.05 from @Coolmidwestguy
+ 2
Sponsors of Jelena
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jelena
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

Wow very impressive . I felt myself at that time for a moment. i would like to visit there

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I also felt like I was back in that time. Amazing experience. 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Es una belleza, los arboles bien frondosos y todo esta ben cuidada, me gustarΓ­a conocer el lugar.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I am glad you found it interesting.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's great that these are still preserved and protected. It's like a journey to the past, it's nice to see the Ottoman traces there!

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I'm glad to see you. πŸ€— Yes, there are a lot of them. At every step there are traces of the Ottoman Empire. Not only in Belgrade, but in all cities of Serbia.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It is really an interesting tour... thanks for sharing this...I have not gotten the opportunity to visit any ruler

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I love visiting museums. Then I feel like I'm traveling through time. 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh, wow. this is amazing. Hoping to visit Serbia in the future.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I hope you will. You are welcome! 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow! Thanks for the virtual tour. They are all beautiful. Including the entire place.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I'm glad you like it. The place is very inspiring, especially during autumn.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

So I visited the residence of Prince Milos Obrenovic in no cost hahhaha thanks for saving my money everything is so beautiful specially the art work on the wall is superb

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I'm glad you had the impression that you were really there, it was a pleasure to share the experience here. 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago