Eureka!

14 39

Yah! A new month is here friends and not just any month but the last one of the year; December!

I woke up to see a lot of messages and status update on Whatsapp; announcing and celebrating the new month.

(Note this article was ought to be published yesterday; 1st of December, but I was so busy and it was completed and published today 2nd of December)

I have absolutely no reason not to join millions of people around the world in the praise and thanksgiving to God. For it is by His grace that we are alive and healthy and able to witness this day.

Left me drift away from the merriment and celebration of the new month into the topic for the day.

Yesterday I participated in a riddle game hosted by @Happyboy on noise cash.

Here is the screenshot of his post

Can you answer the riddle in the picture? Well if you can't don't worry you aren't alone.

After reading the riddle twice I also couldn't find the answer I decided to close my phone.

As I was about to; voila! A thought popped up in my head. Without yet being confirmed I firmly believe I have gotten the answer

I typed the answer to the riddle which is "tongue". Yes tongue! It is tongue because despite you drinking water it still get thirsty and it is the only organ surrounded with saliva.

Immediately I made my comment true to his (@Happyboy) words. I was reward with $1. I felt so elated and I was pumped up like a football player who just scored his first professional goal.

My happiness wasn't because of the monetary gift but because I got the answer. I also was amazed on how fast I got the answer. While I as in the muse of that I remember the "Eureka effect"

The origin, meaning and the story behind Eureka.

"Eureka" comes from an ancient Greek word meaning "I have found it"

In modern English dictionary Eureka is defined as an exclamation or interjection indicating or used to celebrate sudden discovery of invention.

Eureka is attributed to the ancient Greek scholar named "Archimedes". I know many science students or scientist would know or must have heard of the greek scholar through the popular "Archimedes principle" taught in physics.

According to stories told years over years, it was claimed that when Archimedes went to have his bath on a fateful day as he submerged into the water bath he noticed that the water level rose.

Of course that can't be the first time Archimedes noticed that, after all he isn't a baby.

What was special about his observation, was the discovery that the volume of water displaced must be equal to the volume of the part of his body he had submerged. This then made him realized that the volume of irregular objects could be measured with precision, by simply submerging them in water.

He was so eager to share his discovery that he leapt out of his bathtub and ran naked through the street, shouting "Eureka! Eureka!"

Eureka effect

In relation to what happened to Archimedes the terminology "Eureka effect" was coined to to represent such a similar experience of suddenly understanding a problem previously not understood.

This effect can be said to have led to many discovery and invention of things or concept we have in science today.

Eureka effect made Sir Isaac Newton discover gravity from a falling apple. I am sure that wasn't the first time Newton was seeing apples fall from trees but on a fateful day. One apple change the way we think of the world through Newton discovery.

Albert Einstein is said to also experience the eureka effect in the the creation of the theory of relativity.

It was said that Einstein was having a discussion with a friend. And after the discussion he went home and he got the answer to the problem discussed. The next morning he was so excited that without greeting his friend he told him: "I have solved the problem." And the rest was history.

Such discovery comes suddenly that the discoverer might be bemused on how he or she got the problem solved.

Hope we all get to experience eureka effect that can bring about greats things in the month of December.

Thank you for reading and special appreciation to my sponsors.

7
$ 0.38
$ 0.10 from @Fexonice1
$ 0.10 from @Peter-Molnar
$ 0.05 from @HappyBoy
+ 5
Sponsors of Jehoshaphat
empty
empty
empty

Comments

This is very interesting. I am amazed how you came up with the right answer. I did not think of that. Suddenly that light bulb got lit in your mind and that's what we call eureka effect or moment. Congratulations!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you sir Peter, I never knew you would go ahead to find this article and read it. I appreciate this I'm so glad.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Congratulations on the winning of competition,majorly I have learn new thing tomorrow

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I learnt something new today, thanks for sharing this . Congrats on the competition bro.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Every day is a day to learn something new. Thanks Gaftek

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I didn't know the meaning of Eureka until now and I have read and learned the story behind it. Congratulations on winning the $1 too

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks Princess B.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That feeling of the struggles you've had, finally achieved. An awesome feeling it is.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I can remember one of my teachers in Secondary school explanation the Eureka feeling to us.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is a very pleasant feeling. Thanks happboy

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Eureka.. I might not know the words that much but anytime I heat it, Archimedes comes to thought. I also used it once or twice in my words before 😆

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's great Rookie

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So, one can say this effect is responsible for some of the greatest inventions of our time

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes a lot although not all. Thanks Methion

$ 0.00
2 years ago