When Something Bad Happens, You Are Given These 3 Choices To Make

2 115
Avatar for Jeaneth
1 year ago

Life has its own way of writing our stories. It's uncertain, we don't know where life takes us, it's mysterious, nobody knows when and how we die, it's harsh, we don't know if we're gonna meet people we decide to entrust with but are actually gonna hurt us.

It's a path where we don't know which way to go but that's the beauty of uncertainty. Life is full of surprises and challenges. Your growth as a person is defined by how you responded to these situations.

In line with this, I came across a quote I saw from a TV program I watch during Sundays. Let me share you this:

"When something bad happens, you have three choices to make. You can either let it define you, let it destroy you, or let it strengthen you" by Dr. Theodor Seuss Geisel.

Like I said, it's really up to us on how we respond to situations we are facing. It could make us or break us. It's a matter of embodying good decision making skills. But what if you made a terrible decision and it changed your life big time? That's when you choose between these 3 choices.

Let it define you

This means that you allow the negative event or circumstance to completely shape your thoughts, emotions, and actions. You may become consumed by it and let it control your life.

This is something I have been struggling with since that incident happened to me. For years, it has been and still defining me of who I am as a person right now. That is the reason why I feel so small and incompetent. I lost my confidence and I have always been hiding since then.

However, to counter it with optimism, I am still here breathing the same air, staring the same sky, standing the same ground, and still existing as you. I am blessed to have this opportunity to maximize every second I have in this world.

Let it destroy you

This means that you give up and allow the negative event or circumstance to defeat you. You may feel helpless and hopeless, and may even give up on life altogether.

I have already given up on life once and that incident happened. I let that incident defined me and I can feel that it is slowly destroying me. However, a big part of me is hopeful that I can bounce back and recover from that circumstance.

The fact that I did not die on that instance is a message that I may still have something to do in this world and I'm excited for it. Oh God, please keep me away from danger and guide me always.

Let it strengthen you.

This means that you use the negative event or circumstance as an opportunity for growth and learning. You may choose to be resilient, develop coping mechanisms, and use the experience to become a stronger and better person.

I have already experienced how to be cheated on and that was awful. It seemed to me that I had to experience that so that I would know how to handle situations like that in the future. I'm not hoping for it to happen again but at least I already have an insight about it andI think that's huge.

Just being alive is such a great opportunity to change mindset. It's a process. It doesn't happen overnight but with practice and consistency, it will surely change our lives. Life is too short to focus on the bad things. Let's choose to be happy and let these bad circumstances strengthen us.


Was there an instance in your life where you let it defined you or destroyed you?

Let me know in the comment section below.


Thanks for reading.

Keep safe everyone!

7
$ 0.73
$ 0.51 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @Coolmidwestguy
$ 0.01 from @Reclusexantho
+ 1
Sponsors of Jeaneth
empty
Avatar for Jeaneth
1 year ago

Comments

Tinuod kaayo madam. Kanang mga negativities pwede na nato gamiton na as strength. Makamao ta mulaban, magpaka strong.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

There are times that I always question myself for the bad things that occur in my life Ate, and it sucks. So I decided to change my perspective in life, I used all the bad things happening in my life to be my strength to move forward in life. Let's choose to be positive, and be happy always and in all ways Ate, God bless! 🥰

$ 0.00
1 year ago