Sunny, My Shih x Poo x Jap x Pom Best friend

33 42
Avatar for Jeaneth
2 years ago

Most of you probably know about Sunny. She's my pet dog. I had her in 2019 when she was only 2 months old. We met in September 2019, she was so tiny and fragile back then.

Months before I had Sunny, my cousin who is a veterinarian was told by one of her staff that she has puppies open for adoption. The dog gave birth to 5 puppies and Sunny was one of them. My cousin told me about it and I got so excited learning it from her.

I thought that it could be therapeutic for me because I was still recovering from the events I have gone through months before that. Getting a pet would help me recover and divert my attention to positivity and get rid of negativity.

However, I was sad to know that Sunny was the only survivor among the puppies. They all died because of stomach parasites. Sunny is an inborn warrior. She fought through difficulties just like how I managed to get up from my frustrations.

My cousin sent me this photo and I was giggling seeing her and knowing that we'll gonna meet soon!


I finally met her after several days and she was so cute! My cousin put her in a tiny bag, it was enough for her to settle and take a nap. Here's a photo of her first day in the house:

My nephew played with her too because classes were still faced to face back then when the pandemic hit us. Who would have thought we'll encounter such life-changing situations in 2020 onwards.

Why we name her Sunny?

We thought about what name best suits for her. Haley, Max, Rain, and Teddy were some of the names we considered naming her but we ended up naming her Sunny because she brings sunshine to our home.

The family welcomed her and took care of her the moment she stepped into the house. Everyone was so fond of her.

Bee-talk, her first toy

Bee-talk was her first toy. The day she arrived here, I introduced Bee-talk to her right away and she slept on it by leaning her head to its body.

Months after, a lot of toys were introduced and she started to grow fond of them as well. But her favorite is Bee-talk among all the toys.


The challenges we faced having Sunny

Sunny likes to chew leaves outside. She likes to run and whenever she's outside, she looks for leaves to chew. I was very protective of her and forbid her to not go outside because she might upset her stomach again.

There was one time when she was not feeling well. She just hide in the corner under our bed. I knew she was not feeling well. Dogs' body language is pretty predictable. She was not in the mood to eat and she was having diarrhea.

My cousin told me that it could be indigestion or a stomach parasite so I have to deworm her. The early months were manageable to feed her a tablet by inserting it directly into her throat because she's still a puppy.

However, as she has gotten older, she learned to refuse and vent out her anger whenever I try to administer her medicines. That's very challenging for me.

Sunny had an ear infection

Sunny has never gone out for a trim inside a clinic. I was her trimmer since then. To my mistake, I forced to trim the small fur on her ear area and I accidentally cut the skin of her inside and got it infected.

I blamed myself for seeing herself suffering and wearing the e-collar. The good thing is that my cousin is a veterinarian so I wouldn't have to worry that much about the expenses and I can easily get advice from her.

After weeks of forcing her to let us pour ear drops to her ear, she recovered and we can see how stress-free it was for her the moment we let go of the e-collar.

The recent challenge I encountered with Sunny

Just months before to now as of writing this article, I got very anxious about Sunny's condition.

Sunny likes to eat bones. We give her plenty of it every time our viand is "nilagang baka or baboy". One day, when I carried her, she was shouting in pain and I was so shocked to see and I hurriedly put her down checking her what's the matter.

I thought she got wounded from somewhere but I don't see anything. What worried me most is that she's trembling and whenever she tries to move, she shouts in pain. I asked my cousin if she can visit her and she did.

She suspected that she had indigestion or constipation and so she gave her pain reliever for the meantime and told me to buy Virgin coconut oil as her medicine. It helps to soften the stool so she won't have a hard time doing her business.

The next day, Sunny was in pain again. The medicine only took effect for hours so my cousin increased its dosage and I told her that I'll just bring her to their clinic and have her checked for an X-ray to see what's happening.

I was really worried because it was a different Sunny I was seeing during those days. Way different from the energetic and grumpy Sunny before. But then after forcing her to take the medicines, which took me hours of doing so, she finally recovered.

My cousin suggested just give her a soft diet and not her bones anymore. Poor Sunny. She's doing fine now. Thank God!

Why Shih x Poo x Jap x Pom?

Because she a mixture of four breeds. Her mom is a Shih Tzu x Poodle, while her dad is a Japanese Spitz x Pomeranian.

You guys might wanna share about your pets too.


Thanks for reading.

Keep safe everyone!

12
$ 4.93
$ 4.66 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Eybyoung
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
+ 5
Sponsors of Jeaneth
empty
Avatar for Jeaneth
2 years ago

Comments

I love that you adopted a puppy so you can take care of someone else and forget a little of your anxieties. I only have two cats, they adopted me. They are like two little kids to watch out for.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That is sooo cuteee. There are pups or kitties ready for adoption though it's just that people fail to look and consider them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love my kittens.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wahhh she's really a fighter, that Sunny. I remember Sunny Go from her hehe. Wala lang pumasok lang sa isip ko ship nina Luffy UwU

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ay na remember ko rin pala madam. I named her Sunny kase fan ako ni Yoo In Na sa Goblin who played as Sunny. 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sama mo din yan minsan kapag nag rerecord ka ng piano mo 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ay nakooo, malikot to and maldita. Dili mo atubang sa camera. Haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ohhhh. Nice knowing about Sunny's story ateeee. Cute2 ehhh. Bawal nga raw po yung bones sa dogs sbi nila ate Jea.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kay dili mahilisan. Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Cute ni Sunny.. 😍

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Salamat sa ayuda madam. Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Metmron kmi madam dati si heidi kaso namatay dahil nahawa sa peste ng mga asong askal

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sakit ng mga aspin madam? Baka distemper yun. Kawawa naman si Heidi.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lagi kasi sya sa may pintuan namin may harang naman kaso may space pa din at nung time na un daming aso ang namatay eh laging may nakatambay sa harap naming aso ayun after ilang araw tumamlay sya, naconfine ng ilang araw taz nung umuwi ok na, kaso ung boyfriend ng kapatid ko pinakain mg spicy sisig ayun hanggang timamlay uli at namatay na

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oooh nooo :( bakit naman pinakain ng spicy ay 😞💔

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sunny is such a cutieee. I want to pet it. Just so you know I love dogs so much and seeing one makes my heart warm.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Awwwe, thank you so much. Do you have a pet dog too?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wahh a dog? I want it too eheheh. Wala kasi akong alaga kahit isa

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mag adopt ka madam. Super saya. Instant companion sya, and they never leave you. Therapeutic pud kaayo, tell you ❤ kaso lang, need pud ka mag invest og time and attention to take care of them. Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kaya pala ang cute ni Sunny eh, ang daming lahi. Heheh.. Ako madam di ko binibigyan si Odie ng buto ng pork or beef, chicken langnun malambot na kaya nya ichew.. Delikado kasi sa kanila un eh.. Minsan eh bumabara pa sa bibig

$ 0.00
2 years ago

In fairness kay Sunny madam, gina paak-paak jud niya into pieces before niya tunlon. Ang uban man gud dogs kay tunlon ditso maong masangit sa airways, di na nuon ka ginhawa. 😞

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mau jud madam pero indi n intawn pag tagae si Sunny ug hard bones ba kay may history na sya.. Nakatry ka na pakaon sa iya ulo ng manok madam? Ilaga mo. Lang sya then slice into pieces

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mao lage madam. Natagam nami. Ayy, allergic si Sunny og chicken madam oy. Favorite na niya sauna unya sige mag katol-katol, gi bawalan na.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ah yes, nakakacause ng allergy talaga sya.. si odie eh bihira ko lang sya mapakain

$ 0.00
2 years ago

One of my friend was asking me if I wanted a poodle kasi nanganak yung dogs niya. She will give it for free, the problem is bawal dog sa apartment namin. Sobrang saya sana ni Reva

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Poodles are the cutest! 😍 sila yung living stuff toys talaga. Bakit naman bawal sa apartment?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

One of the rules yun nung lumipat ako ng apartment. Baka daw maka perwisyo yung ingat at akoy sa mga ibang nangungupa

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sabagay. Baka tahol ng tahol din. Maka abala.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo. Pero sayang yung poodle. Libre pa man din

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sobra. Super cute sana yon.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm glad that Sunny is okay now madam. Ba't naman ang cute ni sunny madam. Gusto ko yung ganyang aso yung mabalahibo. Ang cute tingnan. Yan talaga ayaw natin madam nuh yung magkasakit mga pets natin kasi sobra tayo mag alala.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kaya super protective ako sa kanya madam to the point na parang na suppress na freedom niya. Lately, I let her roam around the yard narin para maka explore. Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo madam basta kunting ingat parin madam.

$ 0.00
2 years ago