River Flows in You (Piano Cover) and its Meaning

42 1028
Avatar for Jeaneth
3 years ago
Topics: Music, Life, Experience

Since I have no other contents that I can think of writing here, I guess I will be publishing articles more about my piano covers and movie reviews.

So who is the composer of this famous song River Flows in You?

The man behind this emotional, beautiful song is Yiruma. Yiruma is a South Korean-British composer and musician born on February 15, 1978. His real name is Lee Ru-Ma, which means in the Korean language, "I shall achieve".

At the age of 5, he began to learn the piano. At 10, in 1988, he moved to England to study at Purcell School of Music. He graduated in July 1997 and he continued his passion for music at King's College London and majored in Composition in June 2000.

Even while studying, he was able to release his debut album entitled "Love Scene" in the year 2001 through DECCA records. In the same year, he released his 2nd album entitled "First Love" where he got his breakthrough on these famous songs, River Flows in You and May Be are on it.

This is one of my favorite collaborations with Yiruma. He is with Henry, a South Korean famous actor, singer, and performer. Henry is known for his music particularly singing OST of kdrama "While You Were Sleeping". That was so kilig 😍 He also starred in a film entitled "A Dog's Journey" which I also truly love. It is a must watch.

Yiruma also made history when he was acknowledged as the first Korean artist to receive an invitation to perform a musical tour in Cannes, France (2002).

After being successful with his music career. He decided to give up his British citizenship and serve in the South Korean military. He enlisted himself in the Korean navy in 2006 and completed his service in 2008. From then, Yiruma made a comeback Tour, "Ribbonized" and went over 20 cities across Korea.

Yiruma Place is the name of his youtube channel where the videos including his one of the most famous pieces, River Flows in You, Kiss the Rain, and May be garnering over a hundred thousands views.

You can check all the information in detail about his music career here.

So what does "River Flows in You" really mean?

The phrase itself kind of mysterious, I should say. I think Yiruma never explained the meaning behind this so it is up to the listeners how they take its message.

Yiruma is known for his classical solo piano composition which makes him unique as a musician. His style has a taste of connection with nature and emotions. Although Yiruma is often compared to Ludovico Einaudi, an Italian composer-pianist, who became famous for writing solo piano tracks including β€˜Le Onde’ and β€˜'Divenire but Yiruma established his fame across his name too.

His compositions vaguely stood out to the audience without needing to deliver the song through lyrics. His musical style is to convey a message by feeling the emotions of the song. His compositions are actually subjective. It depends on how his audience carries the purposes of it.

As expressed, although his music is hard to comprehend but he plays his songs from his heart.

I believe, classical music is the least appreciated style of music by the public because of its unpredictable riffs and rhythms, but for those who deeply love music, classical is one of the best. Yiruma's songs are not easy to understand but once you hear them, it will surely strike your hearts.

So,

@Ruffa and @Hanzell , here's your request mga madam. πŸ˜πŸ™ˆ

By the way, here's a bonus intro video of my Goblin (OST) although nagkamali ako sa dulo. πŸ˜†

Check out my other piano covers:

214 by Rivermaya (Intro only)

10,000 Reasons (Bless The Lord)

La Vie En Rose

Moon River

9
$ 2.14
$ 1.82 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @ellimacandrea
$ 0.10 from @tired_momma
+ 3
Sponsors of Jeaneth
empty
Avatar for Jeaneth
3 years ago
Topics: Music, Life, Experience

Comments

I just wake up and I wanted to sleep again because your cover is very relaxing. Ang sarap pakinggan. Thank you for playing the piano and showcasing your talent.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I appreciate your nice feedback madam πŸ™ˆ thank you sa tip. Hehe.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow! Beautiful song and ganda ng cover mo! Youre so talented!

Parang gusto ko na rin manood ng 'while you were sleeping' haven't seen it yet.. I think ive seen that in Netflix, im watching it!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hehe. Thanks friend ❀

It's a nice series of Jung Sok and Suzy Bae. Tapos yung osts nila talaga. Make sure to watch it. Andun pa si Jung Hae in 😍 haha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ohhh beautiful life- and omg you played yiruma!!!! I'm sorry i just saw now :"" i was too tired recently to look through my notifs :"" but you've been getting beter at playinnggg!!!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Haha. Thank youuuu ❀ been practicing it a lot so that's why πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Your article is great, I learned something new. Piano, as one of the most beautiful musical instruments.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you so much ❀ I appreciate your nice comment.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Parang gusto ko talagang sumigaw ng IDOOOOOL! Ang galing niyo talaga Ma'am. Kung magkapitbahay lang tayo, siguro magka-banda na tayo.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Uuuuy, noypi ka pala? Hehe.

Thank youuu ❀hehe. Ilang beses din ako ng film kase palagi ngkakamali πŸ˜† anong instrument pala gina play mo?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Guitar, mostly. Meron din akong alam sa keyboards, pero konti lang. Ako kasi ang moderator ng music club sa school namin dati. Pag musician ang isang girl, medyo malakas ang dating nun sa'kin. hehehe.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I see. Same din sakin, if musician ang guy, iba ang charisma for me. Hehe. Virtuoso ka rin pala. 😍

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Not really. Rock music is my fave, not much "virtuosness" there, at least from most people's perspective, hehehe.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I see. Hehe. I'm not really into Rock music eh. Pero, I like Alternative Rock. Ano fave band mo?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Alternative rock is actually the thing. It is the best kind of Rock music kasi, for me. My fave bands are Splender and Oasis. Sa local, Eheads.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sameeee sa local and Oasis 😍 yung Wonderwall talaga eeh. Fave ko rin ang Augustana. Familiar ka nyan? Yung Sunday Best nila na song pinaka fave ko. Try mo pakinggan. ❀

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I never heard of that. I'll look it up. Wonderwall is one of the best alternative rock songs ever... it's very very soothing. Ang cool mo pala Jeaneth.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I agree. One of the classic songs I'll never get tired of listening.

Hehe. Hilig ko talaga music eh. Cool mo din 😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Napaka-nice pala ng music ng Augustana. I can't believe I never heard of this band before.

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Hihi. Dibaa? That's my kind of music talaga. Magkakasundo tayo. πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Siguro nga. Who taught you Music Ma'am?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Self-taught lang (sa keyboard) πŸ˜… I played the guitar before but I can't play it anymore because of my hands now. I used to play the flute as well when I was in grade school kase required. Then I discovered na I can play songs in my flute through ears, so tinuloy ko love sa music.

Haha. Ang chika lang πŸ™ˆ

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow, amazing. Chat tayo sa FB Jeaneth, if it's alright.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You on telegram? Hehe

$ 0.00
3 years ago

No.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh, haha πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Amazing!!! Ang galing mo nman Jeaneth!!! Patuloy ka lng. Ako wLa. Tinamad nako mag piano. Binenta ko nlng.. hahaha.. 2am n pla. Hindi ako makatulog.. tas nakita ko to. So papakinggan ko nlng to kasi ang ganda.. ❀️

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hehe. Thanks miss andi. πŸ™ˆβ€ sayang nga eh. Pero anong songs na na play mo dun?

Ayay, insomnia. Bakit?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

How great is our God tapos 10,000 reasons Bless the Lord. Hehehe.. sinasanay ko lng self ko.. kasi simula monday graveyard nako.. ng resign nako sa current job ko.. new job na sa monday.. hehe

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ooy. Hehe. Marunong din ako sa 10,000 Reasons 🀭

Call center pa rin? Hehe

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Parang natetempt din akong bumili ng piano. Pero mas bet ko ang guitar. Mahilig ka rin pala sa koreano😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hehehe. Dun ka muna sa mas feel mo. Mas excited ka kase if mas bet mo sya.

Di nman masyado. πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Korean fan ka dn pla πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahaha. Medyo. Pero iilan lang mga kilala ko. πŸ˜… thanks sa tip ❀

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ehhhhh? Yiruma is a Korean? I just base it on his name and I just presume that he is Japanese πŸ˜…, he's half half pala. Anh h3 has a lot of beautiful piece ha, galing galing, gaya nalang Kiss The Rain lovely lovely. And Henry, omoo my kyeooo baby Henry, ang galing nyan sa kahit anong instrument nakaka mangha. Una ko sya nakita sa Oh My Venus, ang cute cute nya kahit maliit sya 🀩😻.

And thank you for this, ang galing galing mo. Nag papiano kaba sa church? Mga talented na kagaya mo kasi minsan sa church ko nakikita ee, sana all talaga magaling mag piano 😻. Bat niputo mo ung sa Goblin, maganda din yan ang galing mo talaga 😭, penge talenttttt.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Haha. Thank youuu for your nice feedback madam. ❀ I didn't know Yiruma is Korean though until I did my research. Si Henry naman, nakita ko rin sya sa Oh My Venus. Ang hot niya mag English 😍

Di ako naga play sa church eh, recently lang ako nag-aral nito. I still have a long way to go. Di ko na kabisado ang sunod sa Goblin, medyo mahirap na aralin para sakin. Haha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I. Love it ❀️❀️❀️.. Very relaxing.. I'm planning to buy a small keyboard for my son at itatry ko din magpractice baka sakali may pag asa pa ako.. Haha!

By the way favorite ko din Goblin.. 😊 I want to hear more of your covers.. Ang galing naman 😍

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hehe. Thanksss ❀

That's a good choice too. It's one way of reducing screen time away from radiation. Although it requires extra patience if you're still a beginner.

With regards sa Goblin, I don't think I can continue learning it. It's too complicated for me, it's hard to learn. Haha. Will pick a different song na lang. πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Correct.. plus baka it can help me reduce my anxiety.. Ewan ko bah i've been away for weeks and its frustrating lang kasi i want to go back to normal yung marami akong nagagawa. Ngayon kailangan ko magrest from time to time para di ako atakihin πŸ˜” anyway.. Sayang naman kasi gusto ko din kantahin yon pero same, complicated yong tono kapag kinanta ko.. Hahaha!

May naalala pa pala ako.. Ito yung song sa music app na favorite ng anak ko.. Hehe..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It does help to reduce anxiety. My mind is full of negativities but when I land my hands on the keyboard, I forget all those bad stuff. Kmusta na pala eyes mo?

Piano Tiles ba yan? Hehe

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Got my glasses yesterday lang.. So far nawala na yung sakit ng ulo.. But ng aadjust pa kaya nahihilo pa din minsan.

Yup piano tiles pala yun.. Minsan din ako naaddict dun kaya dinelete ko.. Haha! πŸ˜‚

Parequest nga ako ng faded 😁.. Hehehe.. Bekenemen

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's normal naman. It takes days or a week for your eyes to adjust, same as mine.

Dinilete ko narin yung akin kase nakakahilo na pag sobrang bilis na ang kanta.

Cge cge. I've tried playing that on my toy keyboard though. I haven't played it yet on my current. Will upload it soon. Hehe

$ 0.00
3 years ago