How Strong Is Your Alcohol Tolerance?

49 121
Avatar for Jeaneth
2 years ago

So I posted a photo of a liquor that I drank earlier. It was my cousin's birthday and she gave me this:

It tasted like a soda (Sprite, in particular) but it has a subtle bitter aftertaste. I managed to drink three-fourths of the bottle only because I felt that I'm already having a headache. In fact, while writing this I still have a mild headache but can be tolerated after I took a nap.

Since I did have not anything in mind to write for an article, I thought about writing my experiences with drinking alcohol.

I can really say that I have a low tolerance for alcohol because I can't even finish a bottle. My father was the first one who introduced me the alcohol. Although I did not drink any because I was still a kid when it happened. He introduced me this:

Fighter Wine

Image from Google

I saw him drinking this liquor with our neighbors (my friends' daddies) outside our house. I was curious about how it tasted but my father didn't allow me to. Now that I researched this, I just learned that it has 17.5% alcohol content which is huge! At least for me. Is it? Already?

I also remember a moment in my childhood where a drunkard visited the house and asked for help. He was not yet drunk at that time. My mother gave him 5 pesos. My father observed him as he left and as soon as he reached a store, he bought this Fighter Wine. We got scammed!

Novellino Red Wine

Image from Google

I noticed this wine every time we celebrate Christmas and New Year together. Back when we were younger, my uncle used to bring this wine to every celebration. They said that kids are not allowed to drink this "colored water" because it will make us sick. So I didn't bother anymore.

This wine has 7.5% alcohol content by volume. I first tasted it when I was in 2nd college if my memory serves me right. It tasted like grapes but has a bitter aftertaste. I felt the effect of it when I drank half of a glass. My body felt hot so I stopped after drinking enough amount of it. At least for my tolerance.

Carlo Rossi

Image from Google

This is the most minted bitter wine I have ever tasted. I tasted this along with Novellino and I preferred the former compared to this. I didn't like the taste of it. When I tasted it, my body felt hot minutes after.

This has 10% alcohol content.

Meanwhile, here's my favorite non-alcoholic drink I used to cheers with my cousins back in our younger days.

Cali

Image from Google

We used to drink this when we spend the night before Christmas at our cousin's residence. Our bonding was to buy lots of chuckie and put it on the ice cube trays and let it stay for hours. We buy clover chips, roller coasters, and Cali as our main drink.

We put up a tent in their backyard and stayed outdoors for stargazing. It was indeed a nice bond with my cousins. I miss those days. Now, I don't think it will happen again because we do have our own lives already.

Just earlier when I met 2 of my cousins' boyfriends. It is slowly sinking in that we're already in the age range of dating.

Red Horse Beer: Extra Strong

Image from Google

Oh my, what can I say? This beer taught me to never drink alcohol again. I know for myself that I haven't reached my limits yet in drinking alcohol but this was the farthest I have taken so far.

It happened when I was already working as a call center representative in Cebu. Our landlady invited us to their relatives to attend a celebration for the fiesta. As a newcomer in Cebu, we wouldn't want our landlady to think of us as disrespectful so went with her and there, the adventure begins. I rarely go outdoors so my anxiety goes up to the moon when it happens.

A guy handed me a glass full of yellowish bubbled water. As a sign of respect, I drank it bottoms up. During the first two drinks, I was still enjoying the conversation. It's unusual for me to enjoy conversations as I'm an aloof person. On the third to fifth drinks, I already felt something in my body. It felt heavy and that I'm losing my sense of balance.

I went to the comfort room to pee and there I confirmed that I got tipsy and that beer hit me. I remember that I lost my sense of direction as I was only going sideways and I was laughing for no reason.

We went home safe and I pledged to myself that I will not drink that beer anymore.

This beer has 6.9% alcohol content.

Baileys and Tequila Rose

Image from Google
Image from Google

Just 2 years ago when I drank a mixture of these two. We spent our Christmas at the beach the following day when we celebrated it at midnight. We traveled by car and visited the breathtaking view of Monte Richi's Beach Resort at Misamis Oriental, Philippines.

My cousin handed me a shot glass filled with a brownish, caramelized, milkshake drink. I tasted it and it was good. It didn't taste like alcohol. It tasted like chocolate with a mint aftertaste.

I had several shots taken of it, probably 4, and stopped because my body was heating up and I got a headache. I went to our room and then slept.

Tequila Rose has 15% alcohol content, while Baileys has 17%.


So that concludes how weak my alcohol tolerance is. How about you? Are you a hardcore drinker or a weakling like me?

Lead image Source


Thanks for reading.

Keep safe everyone! ❤

19
$ 11.38
$ 10.75 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @gertu13
$ 0.10 from @tired_momma
+ 11
Sponsors of Jeaneth
empty
Avatar for Jeaneth
2 years ago

Comments

Okay aq kay smirnoff or yun apple/lemon ng san mig parang cali lang.. Ayoko mg lasa ng totoong beer pangit hhahaha.. Ayoko ng mapait ma lasa

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha. Red horse ang classic na beer talaga or san mig bale pelsin.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ayoko mga yan pangit lasa hhahha.. Yun parang cali lang like smirnoff

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Current fave ko ang CALI apple. I like the apple better than the pineapple flavor.

I have low alcohol tolerance I remember joining my friends with the usual night out but I make sure I sit beside someone who can take the shots for me hehe.

I am not a fan of vodka. I like tequila. Tequila sunrise is the easiest cocktail I can do at home haha. That baileys and tequia rose! ... SARAP din!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe. Parehas pala tayo. Yup, sarap yung Baileys and tequila rose na pinaghalo. 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

while i just go wth gin or vodka since i really like mixing my own drinks

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haven't tried those two yet. 😬🙈

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Out of all of the above, I've only tried smirnoff, and that was only once. The alcoholic drink that I like is a traditional drink called TUAK. In addition, I also drink wine that I make myself from fermented fruits. I can make my own wine because I used to work in a winery.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow. Working in a winery before is a plus. You can make your own with your taste preference. 😍

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, I can make delicious wine for you :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The redhorse, haha lakas talaga ng sipa nyan. Tumatawa ka kahit walang nakakatawa haha. Nakakabusog din yan 😅. Now ko lang narinig yung fighter wine.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha. So true. Tumatawa na for no reason. Kakaloka 😆 sikat yang fighter wine before. Not sure if meron pa ngayon sa market. 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have a medium alcohol tolerance I mean I can able to drink one bottle of alcohol drinks that you mentioned however, I don't understand myself why I am so very weak in Red Horse. That is just the only alcohol Drink that I hate the most because of it's bubbles foams 😑

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A lot of people like the foamy beers though but yeah, Red Horse is something I wouldn't drink again.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It was like an alcohol advertisement, one after the other. I think my alcohol tolerance can affect me even a few bottles of beer that has been drunk fast. I don't drink very often, just a few glasses on special occasions. I had drunk enough to get drunk once in my life and had a hard time finding my way to the toilet. Whereas the house belonged to me, hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha. Then I can say that you are a responsible drinker. How was the day after you got drunk? 😬

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There was no such thing as the next day, since almost all of the day was spent sleeping. The only attraction is that you can forget all the troubles and sorrows for a while.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, for a while and then you get headaches because of hangover. 😬

$ 0.00
2 years ago

whaaa fave ko yung bailey at tequila rose... pero mas masarap ang patron LOL

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe. Pero lakas tama din nong dalawa ay. Ang init ng katawan pgkatapos. 😅 ma check nga ang Patron.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm a camel hihi. Natutunan ko Yung term sayo hahaha

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

Yes my yen. Certified camel. Haha. Saludo ako sa alcohol tolerance mo.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Noon lang yon hehe.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

Novelino palang natitikman ko jan. Ang sarap kaya nya madam, nasasarapan ako jan kaso ayaw naman akong bbgyan nila Mommy ng madami. Talagang sa maliit lang na tasa di pa puno aguyy.

Anyways, dahil di ako palainom, diko alam if malalasing ba agad ako o ano. Pero baka siguro, lalo na di naman sanay.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe. You can drink with someone you're safe madam then install CCTV. Find out how you behave when you are drunk the next day. 😆

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sakto ateee haahha. Kakainum ko lang ng dalawang baso ng beer ngayon dahil.pinilot ako ng mama ko tapos nahihilo na ako HAAHHHAA. Jusko sobrang baba ng alcohol tolerance ko huhubu.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Parehas pala tayo. Hehe. Red horse ba yan? 😆

$ 0.00
2 years ago

San miguel lang yun ate

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Can't relate si selfffff. Ni isa sa mga 'yan? Wala pa akong natitikman. Hahaha weakling na ba yorn? 😂 Pero may ibubuking ako sa isa sa mga next articles ko. Haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's exciting. Hehe. Tsaka mo malalaman pag nasubokan mo na. 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha wait mo article ko about 'dun, Ate. Ibubuking ko sarili ko dito, pero 'di kila Mama. Baka mapalayas ako ng 'di oras. Hahaha XD

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Weakling. Mabilis lang ako malasing hahah! awa ra nagkatawa na ko nagbasa lang gani hahah!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe. Team weaklings diay ta. Grabe ang uban ba, ma tolerate jud nilag inom dgahan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

haha. pinaka the best ata yung experience mo sa red horse madam. hehe. Di pa naman ako dumarating sa puntong ganun kasi iniiwasan ko uminom ng marami. hehe. but they said alcohol is also good sa katawan natin

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pinaka lala yung red horse madam pero petty lang yan for others. 😆 pero na tipsy kana?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

parang di ko na natry matipsy sis? or feeling ko lang hindi. hehe. pero parang oo ata. hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Madam sobrang baba alc tolerance level ng katawan ko.. Two to three shots lng kaya. .natikman ko na res horse at novelinonn d ko bet 🤣 okay sakn yung may Ice chenes sa label nakalimutan ko na name 🤣 bsta dami flavor.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tanduay Ice ba yan madam? Hehe. Marami pala tayo dito na mababa tolerance.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ay ayun. Haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aawh.. I missed my redhorse and T5 days while reading this.. haha! pinakaisug nga alcohol nainom nako is Tanduay Extra Strong which contains 50% alcohol, next was chivas regal, pastilan nice kaau akong memory aning chivas kay nagshopping kog pinakalit imbes mouli ko kay mag ilis..hahaha! wala diay koy kwrta ako rapd giuli ang akong gipangkuha .. . so, wala ko maulaw ato kay baga jud kaayo akong feeling sa akong face.. Lol!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hala, grabeha anang 50% alcohol madam oy 😬 perting huboga nimo ato?

Ikaw njud ang taas og confidence. Haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahah! Taas kog alcohol tolerance dugay jud ko mahubog except atong one time nablack out jd ko pero mixed na ako mga nainom.

Buntis ko that time nag inom atong tanduay xtra strong unya wala ko kabalo.. Pra buyag puti pod bia akong anak.. Hehehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We have almost all these drinks here as well. My first experience with Smirnoff was something else, the brand here tastes sweet. It was like adding sweetener to palm wine.

I took about three bottles and the rest was history for me, you have quite a funny experience but there are times I just want to feel tipsy. I just do it indoors to avoid embarrassing myself.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha. I wanna experience that too with someone close and whom I feel safe. 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wine half glass pampatulog pag sumo bra lasing, pag tanduay ice tapos naka isang bote ako lasing na ako non. 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Parang same lang pala tayo madam. Enough lng na maliit amount. Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I sell all of them in my store except for Fighter and Novellina. What about one of the the more famous alcohol beverages of the Philippines, Emperador?! LOL.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Di ko na kaya yan madam. Yung mga Fundador ang ek ek 😆

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I drink maybe 1 or 2 drinks total per year. Usually it is around the holidays (Christmas and New Years).

$ 0.00
2 years ago