How Do You Recover From Bad Decisions?

28 44
Avatar for Jeaneth
2 years ago

For those who made mistakes in the past, this is for you.

We make decisions every day. We decide when to get up on the bed even if your alarm went 50 times already from snoozing. We decide what food we will eat for our meals. We decide when to take a bath or skip today because the weather is cold. We decide what clothes we wear for work. We decide what to take for transportation. We decide everything.

As humans, it's normal for us to make bad decisions. Nobody is perfect. Even superheroes make bad decisions of choosing who to save first whether his family or the welfare of the community. Everything involves decisions.

I am sure that anyone here has made a bad decision and not just a bad decision alone but it could have greatly affected their lives because of that. And so when the time comes that you are already facing the consequences, regrets are coming in. Since you already made a bad decision and you are now facing its effects,

How do we recover from bad decisions?

Own up and say "I did this."

One of the hardest things to do in life is to admit your mistakes.

That's right. It takes a lot of courage to own up to your mistakes and admit that you made a bad decision. Guess what, owning up to your mistakes doesn't make you less of a person. Instead, I'll be proud of you for taking the extra mile of bravery to own it up.

Sometimes, people would look for someone to stand up to their mistakes. They're cowards. They use someone as a scapegoat to clean up the mess when in fact they're just making it worse.

Why is it hard to admit mistakes? It's because of pride.

If that's one thing you can't let go of, you are gonna have a tough time admitting your mistakes. It may be you are not fully aware of what's going to happen after you made that decision, you are in denial and so for you, you did nothing wrong.

Then again, it will ruin your relationships with other people. You're blessed if you have someone who's there to make you realize that it's okay to make mistakes. That's where you learn the most.

Instead of blaming someone or yourself for the mistakes you made, say "I failed but I'm gonna stand up again and make up for it."

Apologize for hurting people.

When we make bad decisions, it's so easy to look at other people's faults when in fact it should be you taking full responsibility for that mistake. When in a negative situation, we are not that conscious of what's going on and so we tend to hurt other people without us knowing.

If you finally managed to come back to your senses, you need to apologize for hurting people. Let go of that pride, you won't gain anything from it. The last time I checked, pride doesn't make you rich. I mean, you become rich in feeding your ego but that's not how you should live your life.

Asking for forgiveness is not for the other person. It's about you freeing yourself from the pain in the past.

Reflect on the lessons you've learned from the mistakes you committed.

Experience is generally viewed as the best teacher but I don't think it is. It becomes the best teacher if you reflect upon it. It's the reflections that you have pondered along that experience.

The same goes with committing bad decisions. When you just keep on committing it but don't reflect on it, then consider yourself like a broken record.

It's like digging for diamonds and gold beneath the ground. You have to go through the dirt before you discover a treasure. That's how you reflect on your bad decisions.

Focus on the present.

If you have finally learned your lessons, don't get stuck in the past. You need to focus on the present and unpack those pieces of baggage (mistakes, regrets, failures) you have in the past. Instead, make them your inspiration to do better and be wiser in the present. These things will hinder you to attain a smooth journey in the present and future.

You see, today is a new day. It's a message for you that you need to move forward and realize that each day is a chance for you to make up for the bad decisions in the past.

Take action.

Realizations are not complete without actions. It's like buying a ticket for a bus ride but you don't wanna take the bus to travel. Then again, you had a history of failures. Fear is gonna prevent you from taking action but I believe with God's presence, or if you don't believe in God (the universe), you're gonna get through it.

It's going to be a tough or traumatic one, but with courage and trust, you'll make that possible.


Lead image source

Reference


Thanks for reading.

Keep safe everyone!

13
$ 10.92
$ 10.47 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Jinifer
$ 0.06 from @King_Gozie
+ 8
Sponsors of Jeaneth
empty
Avatar for Jeaneth
2 years ago

Comments

It is more realistic and beneficial to accept the mistake, face the mistake and learn from the mistake, rather than sitting down and regretting and lamenting about the wrong decisions taken in the past.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The only bad decis ions I made was helping out others financially. It broke me and my children. You do not get over that, not even if you find a -kind of- way out.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Did they scam you or something? Hi! It's been a while since I saw you here 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I've been scammed andere fort high amounts, by friends andere neighbours. I'm stille here. 🍀💖

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Madali Naman umamin sa pagkakamali hehehe. Di Kasi ako mapride na tao. Pero pabebe lang minsan haha

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

For some they find it difficult to admit because they believe in their own truth 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What I normally do is that I Own it. Yes, whatever it is that happened, happened. ... And I make sure I Learn from it. ... And I Write out what you would like to do.. And finally Make a plan for something you can do that might help to cancel out what i regret

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's a nice coping mechanism. Make those plans in action ❤

$ 0.00
2 years ago

it's hard to accept mistakes but accepting it will teach you a lot of things. and yes accepting mistakes make it easier to move on too.... nice one sis.. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks madam 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I admit that it's really difficult to accept my mistakes, however, I learned from it I also don't want to put the blame to others wherein fact it's my fault after all. Realization really need to put in action.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's totally right. You surely know how to deal with it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We who are Christians refer to these mistakes (as you call them( as sin. But again, not all mistakes are sin. One has to possess the wherewithal to discern the dichotomy. Reflection is introspection. We Christians are prompted by the Holy Spirit when our mistakes are sin, and if we are obedient, we confess that sin and repent of it.

Overall, well written. But I do not observe a Christian theme here, unfortunately, but hey, it's your article. Finally, we Christians have someone (or should have) to hold us accountable. Thus, when we are in denial, they can call us out on it. It is very helpful in that regard.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have written this article in general perspective because some of our friends here are not Christians. My religion is Roman Catholic and as much as I could, I follow everything in the Bible. Thanks for sharing your opinion.

What's your religion?

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I used to be a Catholic and then the more I read the Bible and studied it, the more I observed how wrong some Catholic teachings are. I moved to evangelical Christianity.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Is it Protestantism?

There are certain events in the Bible too that made me wonder, scientifically unexplainable like the animals gathering to Noah's ark. Does it mean, animals from Antarctica went back to the continent too when the flood has ended?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, protestantism. Honestly, I haven't studied much about the Flood except for dinosaurs being on it, There's a website of Christian scientists explain a lot about the flood and dispute evolution. https://www.icr.org

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Woooa, I didn't know Christian scientists exist? And what about the dinosaurs?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Follow that link and you will discover more than you ever have in school or university - by scientists.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

In addition, there will always be a bad decision in face of everyone but not for who the one decides. For me either good or bad decisions made if make me sleep the night it's fine and I think I will survive more, but when I decide things that cant really me fall to dawn. That's the time I think I made a bad decision and needed to correct it if possible. I don't know but saying sorry for me wasn't normal lol, maybe pride too IDK.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Uuuh, I'm not really sure what you're saying but I guess what you're trying to say is that you know where you are coming from, you know where you stand and you know your truth. Is that it? 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We all have Bad Decisions at some point. So this is what we all need to know. Mentioned some points that I like. People are just wrong. Many times I make wrong decisions under pressure.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree. Most of the time, we made decisions under pressure and it turns out so bad 😬

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice and useful article. We have to face our mistakes and face our fears in order to recover and become better

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah right. Fear is only in the mind so let's beat it. ❤

$ 0.00
2 years ago

How do I recover from the mistake I made? This made me think. Of course I did some mistakes and the outcome was not really good. I was stressed for a months. What I did? I accept the fact that no one to be blame except myself. I was the one who decide not anyone.
Good thing after months I recovered.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The first one to do is acceptance talaga and acknowledgment. Mistakes are there to leave us lessons only if you reflect on them. More than anything else, it led you to where you are now.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True, at least now I know to consider things first before deciding

$ 0.00
2 years ago