How Can I Stop Overthinking?

29 64
Avatar for Jeaneth
2 years ago

Is this something you want to overcome? Is this something you've been and still struggling with every time you go through a crisis?

I believe it is a basic response for a human every time he/she goes through a crisis. Most especially in this pandemic, everything and everyone is affected by it.

You probably already know these steps I'm gonna share with you but as Bruce Lee said, repetition becomes an unconscious behavior and so you'll never have to remind yourself anymore because it becomes a part of your routine already.

Reframe every day.

Life is not about your story. It is about how you tell your story. When things don't go in our way, we tend to react negatively. We often lose composure and focus. The same goes for how you take every situation that leads to overthinking.

Does it also happen to you when you pray for something to happen but the exact opposite happens? Then you doubt God, where are you? Are you there? I can't feel your presence. I'm confused. Where are you taking me?

It's so easy to say to trust Him but when in actuality, it's so difficult especially if you are unsure of what's happening. The uncertainty is overwhelming.

Personally, I pray for all my ideals. I pray for good things to happen for myself, my family, and friends, society, and the government. I want to get what I want.

However, he has better plans for me, to you, to everyone. It's about how you respond to the situation. 10% is about what happens to you, and 90% is about your power to choose your response.

Reach out to "safe" people.

Do you have a safe person? If you have one, you are such a blessed human being.

Sometimes, we don't need advice. We already know the solution but we just need someone to listen to our sentiments. When you can verbalize your thoughts, and express what you really feel, it's like a pressure valve that makes a "psssh" sound when handled. It brings out the pressure in your mind.

Don't do life alone. Life has taught me about this. We need someone who listens to us, someone who's there for us no matter what happens, someone who advises without judgments, someone who stays true to us.

Develop a grateful heart.

Expressing gratitude to God or anyone means so much for you and for the person you're thanking for. It is a helpful way of overcoming overthinking.

Praying has become my routine before I go to sleep and after I wake up in the morning. I would be a hypocrite if I pray sincerely every day. There are times, or a majority of the times, I pray just for the sake of doing my routine. I'm guilty as heck. I only pray sincerely when things are rough and when I need his help.

Focus on what you can control.

You need to realize that you cannot control everything. You cannot control the pandemic, you cannot control the covid cases, you cannot control the people surrounding you, you cannot control a lot of things.

However, what you can control is your mind. You can control your attitude, the way you respond to a situation, the way you decide for a particular crisis, the way you behave, and your actions. That way, it magnifies the things surrounding you as well. It's a healthy habit of surpassing overthinking.

Do daily exercises.

Do you have daily exercises? I'm guilty again. Research says that exercising is one good way to counter overthinking. It brings you out to movement. A motivation that would help you find your way to get out of that dark room full of negative thoughts.

Get sunlight every day.

There's something about sunlight that makes you feel lighter and better. It's like the heavy loads you are carrying are lifted. You will feel good, believe me. Getting sunlight is an effective way of overcoming depression.


These steps are all easier than done but with repetition, I know all of these will just be pieces of cake. I pray for consistency and success in overcoming overthinking.

Lead image source

Reference


Thanks for reading.

Keep safe everyone! ❤

16
$ 15.74
$ 14.06 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 1.01 from @ewyr
$ 0.13 from @meitanteikudo
+ 11
Sponsors of Jeaneth
empty
Avatar for Jeaneth
2 years ago

Comments

As for me , natutunan ko ng Hindi kwestsunin si Lord kahit na madami akong unanswered prayers Kasi Alam ko may better plan sya for me Kaya nga Ang life verse ko ay John 13:7 hehe

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

Oh wow. You have strong faith my yen. I admire you for that. Hindi ako maalam sa bible eh so napa google ako agad. Haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nakita mo ano nasa verse na iyan? Hehe.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

Ang hirap supilin ng overthinking e. matic na po siya. Pero I find your list to be, probably effective. Safe people nga lang, I can't find someone whom I can categorize as safe. Magbilad na lang ako sa araw

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Someone close to you, you feel you can trust with?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

with everything that happened, I can't tell who's who.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kaning overthinking, usahay murag pranning na gyud ang tao. naa ko ani nga cases labi na pag abot sa akong mga anak, kanang naa silay ginabati, bisan unsa nalng ako mahuna hunaan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Di gyud malikayan na madam pero at least aware ka nga ga overthink naka so make the choice to distance yourself from the overthinking self. 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haven't been doing the exercise thing here po, miss jeaneth, lol, though still practice having a grateful heart still here po, as for the sunlight, few days ago, walked under the sunlight so i guess, not overthinking po eh, lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exercise tayo miss bheng. Hehe. Then pa-araw. 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Murag sa exercise jud ko waley ma'am.hehe Dili kay mura ra, wa gyud diay ko ana. Bitaw, dili gyud malikayan nako ng mag-overthink ma'am.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Basic stretching lng madam. Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Suki nagyud ko aning overthinking ay haha pero luckily maka get over raman sad ko. Padayon lang tas atong kinabuhi hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Laban lang ta madam. Kung aware ka nga ga overthink na, hinga malalim then focus. ❤

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Been there, murag pirme nlng hehe! Dili jud malikayan labi na pag naay mkatrigger, mag overthink na dayon ko. Great tips usually I divert myself to these things..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hello madam. Di jud na maiwasan lage pero kayanon jud nga dili padaog sa overthinking.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hndi tlga maiwasan madam kht gustuhin hndi mag overthink. Dami kc provoking things na nakikita

$ 0.00
2 years ago

How do you divert your attention pag nag ooverthink kana madam?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Over thinking is not a healthy thing for us because it doesn't stop at just having a physical effect on us, it comes with a physiological effect as well that can ruin a person physically and mentally.

You have given well detailed points and I am sure that they will help us overcome the habit of over thinking.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hello George, insightful comment as ever. Thank you so much ❤

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Very good advice my dear. Accepting that we don't control anything is a big step in life.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exactly. Thanks, gertu13. See you around ❤

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is my problem too, this article was so useful, thank you 🙏

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hi, Ellen. 😁 I'm glad you find this article useful.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Overthinking is my problem. Well done for talking about this. I will try to comply from now on.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you Ratin. See you around! ❤

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't have Sunlight anymore haayyss. I should change my daily routines. Or else I'll die haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Gawas gawas pud kay mosamot ka kaputi ana, mura naka bampira eyb. Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha mugawas gani tana ko ron human naku basa sa imo article sus nag ulan sad 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago