Are You Friends With Your Exes?

48 74
Avatar for Jeaneth
1 year ago

Is that even possible? This question is case to case basis. It depends on how you take it, or what perspective you have.

As for me, it depends on how the relationship ended. If it was a healthy breakup, you can stay as friends then otherwise, it is better to maintain distance with each other and recognize that you both had history that you don't wanna dwell on.

I've had 3 past relationships. 2 of them were puppy love and the other one was the recent and serious ones. I also have 1 recent "situationship" which I'm gonna share in my next articles. If you're curious what that means, stay tuned on my next or you can just look into uncle Google's library. These generation Z terms are overwhelming indeed.

Back to the question. So to answer this, no, I am not friends with my ex (the recent one). The 2 puppy loves I had, I remained friends with them. It was just one of those playful relationships you had in your teenage years where you were both still immature to handle such situations.

With regards to the recent one, I don't think I can ever be friends with him. The thing is, I thought the breakup was okay. I thought it was not toxic but I was wrong. It was late that I found out I was cheated on. I found it out 7 months after the breakup.

I figured it out because I saw his profile on my timeline. We remained friends on Facebook after the (so called healthy breakup that I thought of) so he appeared on my feed. He got married 7 months after we broke up. I was actually very happy to see him on that photo wearing a suit with his wife. I got curious who the wife was so I stalked their profile, and there I found out everything.

It turned out, I was cheated on all along. I was fooled, I felt betrayed, disrespected, taken for granted. It hurt like hell. I have to admit, there was a moment in my life where I took the blame of why it happened but after recovering from that emotional pain, I realized that this isn't about me. It's about how pathetic he is as a person.

If he couldn't remain faithful to me in the first place, why would he do such a thing without my knowledge? That speaks how coward is. He was being dishonest to me and even to himself actually. That one night where I all figured everything out, was already the closure that I needed. That answers everything and so there's no need for me to reach out and ask him questions about anything.

I went through the 5 stages of grief but I skipped on the bargaining stage. I could never imagine myself getting back or hoping for another chance with a cheater. That speaks so much of his character already. I got mad, of course and I certainly believe it was valid.

That is why, for me to establish healthy boundaries with myself, it is better to maintain distance and not be friends with him anymore. I can forgive and I will never forget.

After what happened, my trust issues went so high. Well, you guys can't blame me.


Thanks for reading.

Keep safe everyone!

14
$ 1.09
$ 0.76 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Porwest
$ 0.10 from @Coolmidwestguy
+ 6
Sponsors of Jeaneth
empty
Avatar for Jeaneth
1 year ago

Comments

You didn't deserve that, ate. ๐Ÿฅบ Anyway, the answer to your question depends on the situation. I'm friends with my other exes, but the recent one, nope. It was a toxic relationship too, and maybe it's better for us to grow apart.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Boundaries should be established Cherry, it's the best for us. Kmusta kayo ni Daren?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Okay naman kami ate. :) Sulat ako ng article about sa amin soon.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Relationships ending with no trust or a bad taste to me have not ended with friendship. Why add more pain or suffering leaving open communication with them? Sometimes to be friends you need a little distance after the relationship ends anyways.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

What for should I be friends with him? There are people who are the right ones for me and for sure, he's not one of them ๐Ÿ˜… If I'll be friends with him if ever, that would be a scratch to my wound and I don't want that.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Exactly not worth more pain to just be friends . Also it just gives more opportunity for them to repeat unwanted behavior, imo.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wag na nga magfriend madam if ganun ang ginawa, parang babalik at babalik lang ang sakit kapag makikita mo pa sya

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I feel you sis, naagian pud na naku ang naagian nimu ba, for me depende gyud ug healthy lang ang inyong panagbulag, pero same nimu pinaka hate pud naku ang mag cheat and dishonest person,pero ang dapat natong buhaton sis mag move on nalang ta,hehe,bahala sila ganern.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Totally sissy. Move forward ta oy. He's not worth the emotion, energy and time anymore. ๐Ÿ˜†

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Tumpak sis, dli gyud nila deserves ang atong pagmahal.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Traumatizing ate... Ito ba ung last ex mo? Grabe sarap sapakin ni kuya. ๐Ÿ˜ก

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yup, sya yon dee. Haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

gravity paano niya natiis na ilihim ung ng ilang months. loko loko tlga.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hmm, 2 years I supposed dee. Kase may photos na sila nong girl early 2020 eh. ๐Ÿ˜†

$ 0.00
1 year ago

sheeeet ang saket. Sarap krompalin nitong ex mo ate as in.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yung recent mo madam..nkakagigil yun. Kung ako yun, aba magcocoment ako sa fb post nla .bka kc hndi alam ni girl na double pla kyo ..lol. Friend ko sa fb si 1st bf. Si 2nd naman okay lang kami. .pero wala ganun commu . si 3rd. Aigo. Yun pinaka hate ko hndi nagbayad ng utang ๐Ÿ˜‚

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Juskooo, may monetary obligations pa pala yung last madam? Kaloka ๐Ÿ˜†

About naman sa wife niya, not really sure if she's aware but it's no longer my issue na to figure out. It's their lives anyway. I value my peace. Haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sabagay haha. Kakainid lang kasi eh.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Scratching a wound will only make it worse madam so hayaan na yan sila oy. Haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

kagigil yung mga ganyan tapos minsan magppm pa yan, manlalandi ng konti hahahaha. Pero personally I didn't remain friends as in close friends but we remained civil/friends to each other. I have 2 exes na okay naman kami after later nung nagkaroon na kami ng kanya kanyang buhay. It's also about how deep and mature your relationship has been nung together pa kami. The other exes that I had were toxic and I'd rather not to be friends with them. Yung 2 exes an in good terms naman kami, I am happy na one of them found the love of his life and the other one is getting better in life na din. They are the 2 exes that I really want to know if they have found a partner better than I am and naging mas okay din sila as jowa/asawa.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Glad you have those mature relationships. Sakin kase, I thought it was pero I was fooled. Eh di wow ๐Ÿ˜†

$ 0.00
1 year ago

ginawa ka pang side chick eh, tapos kapag nagkabistuhan ikaw lang yung mapapahiya ng todo kung sakali. Better to not be friends with him if ganyan, sarap kurutin sa itlog eh

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I wanna boil those two balls and slice them into pieces with chili on top ๐Ÿคญ๐Ÿ˜†

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The past must be left behind, so I congratulate you for turning that page.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you so much Rei :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Jeaneth mao ni siya katong niadtong Canada or lahi? Mao gyud pud ni ang reason nganong mahadlok ko musulod sa uyabยฒ, gusto ko nga ang Ginoo na ang mupili para sa akoa, lisod na nga matunong ko sa tao na pasakitan ko physically, emotionally, spiritually etc. Let us pray that we find good partner in the future, in God's way and timing. โค๏ธ

$ 0.01
1 year ago

The Canada guy is my situationship Syd. That's a different story to tell. But yeah, after what happened to me, taas na kaayo akong trust issues.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kaya pla my trust issues kna. Char. Hehe. Buti na lng din nalaman mo madam at least no regrets na ng break kayo. Importante now you were able to move on from that coward na lalaki

$ 0.01
1 year ago

True sissy. At least, I found it out. It is for me to not live being fooled for the rest of my life pala. Haha. Kaloka

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Mga lalaki nga naman ano๐Ÿคฃ

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes it's possible but what for? For me lang madami pwede pa maging Kaibigan. Wag na dun sa taong maaaring magbigay ng future conflict sa Buhay ko. Kahit ja sabihin mong okay kayo.

$ 0.01
User's avatar Yen
1 year ago

Uy true madam no. What for? Leave the past behind and move forward.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

well I believe, it shouldn't effect your friends how you ended up a relationship with any person, they have a different zone of friendship with those, and this can't be denied none can ask them to leave those, and none can force them to do that

$ 0.01
1 year ago

As for me, it should affect the way you treat each other especially if the relationship ended badly.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

thats true, if they had treated you bad in that time, they arent allowed to be in your friends circle

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kapag seryoso ang relasyon sempre masakit ang breakups. Mahirap maging friend ang ex nandoon ang emotion, memories, questions. Kaya mas mainam na lang dumistansya.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I agree with you sissy. You have created that emotional connection eh.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Same as me it depends on how the relationship ended. If the relationship ends really really bad I will find it hard to keep friendship with my exes lol

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Right on point. Haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Each person handles relationships with their exes according to the importance of their relationships or breakups. I think feeling cheated on is a very painful situation.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

And with that, I don't think I can ever be friends with him. What for? ๐Ÿ˜†

$ 0.00
1 year ago

He is not a trustworthy person. He is not worth it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Absolutely not.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

So far naman sa lahat ng naging ex isa Lang ang hindi ko friend at wala na din chance na magkausap kami kasi patay na siya eh. When the time nakipag break siya sa akin eh he blocked me in fb until sa namatay siya.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Oh yeah, I read that article of yours madam. Sad kaayo to oy. His emotions and impulsive actions got ahead of him maong nahimo to niya.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

not him madam kadtong oldie nga kano hehehe.Si Michael imo pasabot kadtong nagsuicide

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ay hehe. Sorry sorry madam.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

okay lang madam..dami ko kasing ex eh ehehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago