A Random Test Of Patience, Conscience, and Decision-Making

11 50
Avatar for Jeaneth
2 years ago

Mondays are usually an errand day for me. It is when our stocks at home usually run out. As the young adult of the house, I take charge to buy groceries, going to the market or do business as the queen orders.


I woke up feeling fine. I do feel anxious for some reason because I know my period is on its way and it's testing my patience to wait for it. Menstruation is one of the most inconvenient factors that happens to us girls and we want it to be over right away if it comes along.

So when I woke up feeling not having it yet, I decided to take it as an opportunity to buy groceries and stuff so I won't be going outside when I have my period. It's such a heavy feeling, you just wanna lay in bed all the time.


Falling in line for the ATM

My grandma just recently got her ATM card from grandpa's beneficiary for survivorship to his death. It was a long process. It took us more than a year to process it since grandpa died. Government agencies are sluggish.

She ordered me to withdraw her money because the bank releases it every 8th of the month. While I was riding the public transportation vehicle here, I was in a dilemma if I should get off the vehicle near my former school which has an ATM or continue to ride along until we reach the destination I told the driver.

It was too late to get off the vehicle near my former school so I just rode along until we reached the destination. I got upset because the line was too long already. I could have just stopped by to my school and withdrew there, for sure it'll take only a minute for me to transact.

The next paragraphs were the ones I shared on noise.cash:

While I was on my way to withdraw my grandma's pension, an elderly woman is sitting on the sidewalk. I just passed by her because I was in a hurry. I told myself to give something to her when I came across her again.

When I was heading towards her, I took my coin purse and reach over something. My mind is telling me to "give her 5 pesos". It took a while before I found the coin, gave it to her, and walked hurriedly.

While walking, I was bothered because I could have given her a bigger amount, a 20 peso coin which I found it first before the 5 peso coin. But then I chose to give her the 5 peso coin instead because I don't want to spend the 20 peso coin.

I asked my friends on the site and I appreciate them for telling me that what I did to her was a good act, for sure majority of the people will just pass by but I chose to give something to her.

A user named zolabundance commented on my post and he said:

While I understand this dilemma of yours, and that since the holidays are approaching and we should be more generous, the public has been constantly warned about giving money to these Badjaos because many of them are working under a syndicate. So, we don't really know if they keep the alms for their needs or if they are collected by syndicate leaders. If you really want to be of help, give them food or clothes the next time you see one. That way, you know it will be for their use.

After reading this, it blew my mind. I didn't expect that something like that is possible. At my age, I consider myself as still innocent as to how the world works.

@meitanteikudo also commented something similar on my post about these people who may be working for syndicates but they're kids. In fact, he has already written an article about it and it is something to ponder too, very heartbreaking also.

Here's the title of the article:

Am I Complicit in Exploiting Kids?


Now I'm having thoughts of giving them coins. It's hard to figure out who's truthful and who's not. It is better to give them something to eat or wear. That way, they can make use of it. However, a big part of me is telling that "for as long as your intentions are pure, God knows you did it with sincerity".


While buying groceries, I noticed that the stores are already following the city's ordinance of using paper bags or eco bags as bags for the stuff you buy. Before, only a few of them are following and now all of them are already doing the same, Probably because of the penalty. (Except for those stores who sell ready to eat food, they need cellophanes to pack it).

I'm just glad that finally, we are doing our parts to save mother Earth. We should have done this earlier to help prevent disastrous events but at least, for sure the Earth appreciated it.

Let's get rid of plastics! Wooo, kind of a shady statement. Haha


Thanks for reading!

Keep safe everyone. โค

8
$ 16.33
$ 15.89 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.22 from @meitanteikudo
$ 0.05 from @MizLhaine
+ 6
Sponsors of Jeaneth
empty
Avatar for Jeaneth
2 years ago

Comments

Menstruation is one of the most inconvenient factors that happens to us girls and we want it to be over right away if it comes along.

and speaking from the other side, this is a very inconvenient thing too. We also want this to be over quickly. Emotionally, and physically. :D

Agreed, I think it's better to give food or something that they can already use for themselves instead of money.

And yey!!! Let's really get rid of these plastics: humans or otherwise. :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha, because guys serve as human sponges absorbing our tantrums ๐Ÿฅด๐Ÿ˜† Yup, let's get rid of plastics (living or non-living things).

$ 0.00
2 years ago

human sponges?? Oh yeah, that was totally what I was talking about. Hahahahh

Say NO to plastics! :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naa sad daghan ing-ana diri sa among lugar ma'am. Mga bata kasagaran ang mangayo. Maong ang akong ihatag, pagkaon nalang. Unya kay mahigam man, mubalik unya magda ug laing kauban๐Ÿ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha. Mao sad lage. Manganad pud ba. Pero sge nlng, at least nakakaon sila.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nung isang araw nung bumili ako ng gulay dun sa Bata kasabay non e may namalimos na badjao . Diko binigyan madam. Pero minsan kapag may barya nagbibigay din Naman. Pero mostly pagkain binibigay ko

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

Mas mainam nga talaga siguro pag goods nlng ibigay kesa money, kung saan pa magamit. Pero if pure talaga intentions mo, di mo ma blame sarili mo eh. Naloko ka lang din.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ahaaaa! You just gave me another idea on what to write for today, Ate. Actually, meron na akong naka-line up na article ngayong araw pero unahin ko muna 'yung related dito sa article mo. Hihi

Giving coins to this kind of people was already normal to me. I mean, ang dami din na ganito sa bayan namin. 'Yung iba talagang susundan ka pa, pero I usually don't give some to them. Lalo na kapag kasama ko si Mama? Ay nako, lalakihan ako ng mata 'nun. Haha, joke. Kapag kasama ko kasi s'ya is sya 'yung usually na nagbibigay tapos kapag lalapit din sa akin? Iilingan na ako ni Mama pero wala eh. Malambot puso ko, hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe. At least nagbibigay mama mo pero may makukulit din kase eh. Still, we should choose to be the bigger person. Tayo yung privileged eh.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Daghan diri karon mga nitibo na mag ask og money, akong ginahatag kay food, biscuits, noodles, hesitant ko muhatag og money, bisan pa sa uban na nagapangayo. Muingon, mangayo pampalit bugas, food akong ginahatag. Kaya lang usahay, mangita pa man og lahi na item oi. hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mao bitaw ay, naay uban nga mo demand jud og kwarta. Kanang mga gasuroy sa mga balay2 ba. Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago