A Christmas Gift With Sentimental Value

6 33
Avatar for Jeaneth
1 year ago

Writing this article made me reminisce such good memories I had in Christmas throughout the years. But there's one Christmas that is so unforgettable to me. I'm excited to share how a simple christmas gift became a core memory in my life that I'll never forget. It had made so much impact and I would say, strengthened my relationship with my family.

December 20, 2008

Ever since I was not yet born, it has been a family tradition to spend the christmas together in our grandparents' house. Even before I existed, mom and uncles were still on their college years until they got married, we grew up having each other's presence available on christmas and new year.

The date stated above was the most unforgettable memory I had in Christmas so far. I was in 2nd year high school at that time. It was during those times when keypad cellphones with cameras were getting introduced. It was on its rise that the public shouldn't miss about.

I got my first cellphone from my uncle. He gave me his Nokia 3310. I was 1st year high school at that time. My classmates even teased me because of the letter "X" keychain that I attached to the phone. It is because it's the first letter of my crush's name (Xerxes) and eventually became my boyfriend the next year but only for half a month. It broke my heart.

But that's not where my article is heading. Since the phone is a little too old already, it had some issues and eventually it broke down. What good timing it is when mom got her bonus so we went to a Chinese cellphone store and looked for a phone for me.

I was very excited when we went to the store. I had a hard time which one among the cellphones should I choose but eventually I finally had chosen. I remember the phone costed 1299 pesos. It was pretty expensive already at that time.

Keeping its sentimental value

In fact, I still have it with me. I kept it even if it's no longer working. For a budget China phone, one would not expect it to last longer. I had it for 4 years probably. Yeah, I remember because I still use it even after I graduated in high school (2010).

Here's the phone my mom bought for me:

If you look closely to its name, it states NCKIA. Pretty obvious that it's imitation. But I didn't really mind. As long as I have my own cellphone with 2 megapixels camera and has a 512 mb memory card.

It's crazy how technology evolved so fast. I can't keep up with its pace. Those features before were to die for. Meaning, it's something you can brag about for already. Too bad, I lost its memory card. The low quality photos before were a memory of the past that should have been kept.

Best childhood memory in Christmas

When grandpa received his retirement payment, he bought a multicab as his service and also for public use as a means of transformation within the city.

Back then, my uncles don't have their own vehicles yet so grandpa had to fetch every family on their houses to gather everyone in the house.

This memory is still so clear in me. I go along with my cousins riding grandpa's multicab to fetch my uncles and aunts. While on our way, we greet every person on the street while the vehicle is moving "Merry Christmas!" and it's heartwarming to see people smile and greet us back "Merry Christmas too!".

Even then, you don't childhood if you don't go out caroling in the neighborhood. As always, I go out with my cousins caroling within the village. I remember my elder cousin wrote the lyrics on the manila paper and conducted our song practice before performing. It was so hilarious and precious but at the same time, it cringes us. Then again, those were the days I'll never forget in my childhood christmas time.

This old photograph mainly subjects our grandparents, on their younger days, opening their gifts on Christmas day. That's the most exciting part of the day. And that little girl not on her back is me. I must be so focused to open my gifts that time.


This serves as my entry to madam @Jane 's Christmas Gift-Giving With Bitcoin Cash event. Thank you for hosting this giveaway madam. I had fun reminiscing those moments back in the days.

You still have time guys! Don't miss this. The giveaway is simple. Refer to the link I highlighted above.


Merry christmas everyone! Happy holidays!

4
$ 0.28
$ 0.20 from @Coolmidwestguy
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.02 from @LykeLyca
+ 1
Sponsors of Jeaneth
empty
Avatar for Jeaneth
1 year ago

Comments

Your right on technology getting a jump. I think I'm still trying to catch up, haha. I too have found childhood memories in the past. I miss the days of having Christmas break from school and not having many worries and responsibilities.

It great to see you taking on Jane's writing challenge. May you enjoy the rest of the year.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thanks for the upvote, Bob! Likewise ♥️ Merry christmas again

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hala grabe buhay pa talaga Nokia mo madam?! karaan na pud kaau ang picture ayyy, priceless! Have a merry Christmas!

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Sayang lage kaayo madam oy. Naa didto akong mga jejemon photos. Haha. Merry christmas sab madam ♥️

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks for joining madam... Kala ko magiging silent na contest na to 😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hehe. Salamat madam. Naalala kita nong nag chat ka sa telegram natin eh.

$ 0.00
1 year ago