Images I'm posting in articles submitted to community

6 33

I have been writing articles that includes photos. I search it on google or any other platform and put it in my article. At first, I didn't know it was not safe (or maybe I still don't know until now). Then I thought as long as you put credit and the source of an image, it will be okay and all will be good. But no. That's still not how it goes.

I don't have enough knowledge when it comes to copyright images or whatnot. I always thought that what you see in search pages as long as you put credit, it's okay. There are many factors in including an image in your article that you need to consider. If anyone can only tell me how to select photos, how to know if it's okay to put the photo, how to know if its creative common. Where to look at? How? Just how?

I have put my efforts and time in writing an article and it really is frustrating to get rejected. But I respect their decision. It was the right thing to do.But I still want my articles to be good and want to become a better writer. If anyone has advice on how I can improve and how I can know if it's legal to put the image. How to see creative commons and such... I really want to know and I need experts advice. I don't know where to locate or how to locate details in an image to know if it's creative commons or if it is licence-free. Can anyone tell me, please?

I read this article: https://read.cash/@Read.Cash/legal-images-e66e9f1c

But it does not answer the question I had in my mind. If I search an image in google, how will I know if it is licence-free and where can I find the details in that particular image?

2
$ 0.01
$ 0.01 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Jdine
empty
empty
empty

Comments

Just try to search this sites ,you can find there free photos or images you want. I know that's all had their free images: 1)Stick PNG; 2)PNGIMG.com; 3)PNG All; 4)PNGPix; 5)FreePNGIMG

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you so much!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I know I was the one who started your thoughts about this, so I better answer to it as well.

First I suggest you read this article by @Velalisieur. It is long and perhaps a little heavy, but it explains copyright profoundly. The last part is about images.

https://read.cash/@Velalisieur/understanding-copyright-d06b5b58

How do you find out if an image is free to use or not?

That is not always easy, but if nothing is mentioned, you must assume that there is valid copyright, and then you may not use the image at all, unless you have explicit permission by the copyright holder to do so. If there is a license or if the image is released to public domain, it is normally stated in connection with the image.

If an image, or any creative work, is in the public domain, that means that there is no valid copyright. You may use it.

Copyright also expires when the creator has been dead for a number of years - how many differs between countries - so very old images are normally in the public domain for that reason.

If there is a license, you may use the image with certain restrictions. That is, you may be required too post the link to the source, not use it commercially, etc... Exactly what is required, depends on the license. A copyright holder can grant such a license with any conditions he sees fit.

Creative commons is a standard set of such licenses, where the type of creative commons reveals exactly what rights the license grants.

If you want to find free-to-use images (public domain), these pages might be of help:

https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/Category:Public_domain https://www.webfx.com/blog/web-design/sites-public-domain-images/

$ 0.00
3 years ago

On the contrary, I started to be curious when somebody told me about the cc thing and I didn't know it before then. I just got more curious when you told me about these things. And that's fine. I just really want to learn more about this matter.

Wait? public domain? how do you know if it's public domain? if i'm not mistaken domain is the website url right?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

No, that is another use of the word "domain". That something is in the public domain means that there is no valid copyright, which, in turn, means that anyone in the public can use it without permission and without paying anyone. Everything old enough is in the public domain (what is "old enough", depends on which country we talk about), then the creator and initial copyright holder, can choose to release his work to public domain. If that is the case, that release must be made public somewhere.

There is no general way to now about an image's copyright status, unless you find it stated in connection with the picture. Since copyright is automatic for the creator, no statement normally means that there is a valid copyright and that the image cannot be used.

This is not always the case though, a public domain image can also be used without stating copyright. But note that the copyright holder doesn't have any obligation to state anything, he has the copyright automatically. Then he can choose licensing the image for use. Unless you see such a license from a credible site, you are not allowed to use the image.

If you use an image illegally, you have no valid excuse, unless you have found a credible license for that image or have established that it belongs to public domain due to age (and expiring copyright). It is your own responsibility to establish the copyright status of an image before using it.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

nicely explained. very helpful. Thank you so much!!!

$ 0.00
3 years ago