Things To Consider In Choosing A Crypto Wallet

22 153
Avatar for Jane
Written by
3 years ago


October 11, 2020

As a beginner in the crypto world, it is a pretty challenging decision for me to choose which wallet is safe and secure for my crypto assets. Several crypto wallets cater to different requirements, and most are easy to access, set-up, and even do transactions through mobile, computers, and other gadgets. But as a beginner, you should be wise in choosing what wallet to use to keep your assets safe and secure.

In my part, I have four different crypto wallets installed on my phone. These are coins.ph (a crypto wallet designed for Filipinos), Trustwallet (for my ETH coins), Coinbase wallet, and my latest downloaded one which is a Bitcoin wallet. Among these wallets, only coins.ph doesn't have a recovery phrase and that is the reason why I decided to download a Bitcoin wallet for storing my Bitcoincash and probably store Bitcoin as well in the future.

Bitcoin wallets can be classified as either hot or cold.

A hot wallet is connected to the internet. This is easier to set-up and access. However, this makes it more susceptible to hackers and other technical vulnerabilities. Meanwhile, a cold wallet is offline and disconnected from the internet. It is more secure, thus, is recommended for storing a large number of bitcoins.

Think about a hot wallet as your pocket wallet that you can bring anywhere and a cold wallet as your bank book that is too valuable that you cannot bring anywhere.

There are several types of wallets catering to various requirements in terms of security, convenience, accessibility, and more:

1. Paper Wallet

Photo credit: medium.com

It's a document that contains a public address and a private key. The public address is used to receive bitcoins. On the other hand, the private key allows you to access Bitcoins stored at that address. The main advantage of a paper wallet is that the key is not stored anywhere. It is also called as a ‘cold storage’ solution because the information exists offline, which means, they are out of reach of theft and hackers.

2. Hardware Wallet

Photo credit: steemit.com

It is a unique cold storage type of Bitcoin wallet that stores the user's private keys in a stored hardware device. That is the most secure way of storing any amount of Bitcoins since they are offline and it generates the keys and the device.


3. Desktop Wallet

Photo credit: hedgetrade.com

These are designed to be downloaded and installed on laptops and personal computers for storing your private keys on your hard drive. The desktop software gives you complete control over your coins. Which means you don't have to trust the third party to lose or steal them.

4. Mobile Wallet

Photo credit: bitcoinist.com

These are designed for users who are actively using Bitcoins daily. It is an important tool that carries out as an application on your phone, storing your private keys, and allowing you to spend or transfer your Bitcoins directly on your smartphone. However, these are very prone to hacker attacks.

Online wallets are the easiest to use among types of hot wallets. Generally, you can access your Bitcoins from any device if you have the right password and internet connections.

Since many prefer to use online wallets especially mobile wallets, here are things to consider in choosing an online wallet for storing your crypto assets.

1. Private Keys

Photo credit: blockgeeks.com

It is a unique cryptographic secret so there is no duplicate on any crypto networks and is also a secret because whoever has this private keys can send transactions and spend currencies - who owns the keys, owns the coins. Each bitcoin wallet consists of one or more private keys. They are saved in the wallet file. It enables to secure a user's wallet from theft and unauthorized access to funds.

The private key is stored in a digital wallet. Once a transaction is instigated, a wallet software generates a special digital signature with the use of the private key. If the transactions get altered, the signature will change as well. It is important to save the private key in a secure location because once the user loses his/her private key, he/she can no longer access the wallet.

Aside from digital wallets, there are several ways in which a private key can be stored.
The private key can be stored on paper wallets, printed with the private key, and QR code on them. When a transaction needs to be signed, the private key can easily be scanned on the paper wallet.

It can also be stored on a hardware wallet using USB or smartcards to generate and secure private keys offline.

It can also be stored in an offline software wallet. It has an offline partition of private keys, and the public keys are stored in an online division. In an offline software wallet, a transaction is moved offline to be signed digitally and then moved back online to be broadcasted to the cryptocurrency network.

2. Multi-Factor/Two-Factor Authentication (2FA)

Photo credit: ekransystem.com

When I first heard the 2FA, I didn't understand the usage of it and it sounded like a time-consuming chore. But when I dig dipper about 2FA, it is an extra lock for your valuable accounts just like your crypto wallet. Multi-Factor Authentication is a method of verifying a user's confirmed identity by using something they know (password) and a second factor other than something they have or something they are.

Multi-Factor Authentication isn't only used as extra security to your mobile crypto wallets but can also be used for other valuable accounts such as bank accounts.

The multi-factor authentication scheme may include:

Something you have: a physical object in the custody of the user, such as a security token (USB stick), a key, a bank card, etc.

Something you know: such as a password, PIN, TAN, etc.

Something you are: physical factors of the user, such as a fingerprint, retinal, voice, or facial scan, etc.

An example of the second step in two-step verification is the user sending back something that was sent to them through an out-of-band mechanism (such as a code sent over SMS), or a number created by an app that is known to the user and the authentication software.

Examples of third-party authenticator apps include Google Authenticator and Microsoft Authenticator.

The last process that you may consider in setting up a mobile crypto wallet is;

3. Back up your wallet

Photo credit: an alternative to net

Bitcoin wallet and other crypto wallets are non-custodial, therefore, no one can access your wallet but only you. So you are responsible for keeping your wallet safe and secure. The recovery phrase or seed phrase is designed to be your backup plan which can help you recover your assets in case you forget your password, or if you lose your mobile device with step-2 authentication enabled. It is advisable to write down your seed phrase and keep it in a safe and secure place.


You can look for a “Backup wallet” or “Export private keys” option in your Bitcoin wallet menu. These includes:

1. Cloud Backup: connect your Google or iCloud account to keep your assets safe in the Cloud. You will need to set a password to encrypt your backups for additional security.

2. Download a Recovery Fil: once you have synced your wallet with the cloud, you can also download a copy for safekeeping

3.Manual Backup is also recommended for additional security.

Online backups are also prone to theft and hacker attacks. Encrypting your backups is important, so in case someone received the backup files, they won't be able to access the backups. Just make sure not to forget the password or else you may lose all your funds.

Use many locations in storing your backups, single location is not recommended. You can save your backups in your USB, hard drives, or disk drives, so you have multiple sources of your backups.

It is recommended to backup your wallet regularly and store your passwords in a separate secure location. Once you have backup your wallet, you can recover your wallet any time you lose access to your mobile or wallet app.

Take Note:

When choosing a crypto wallet, make sure to choose a Non-Custodial wallet. is a decentralized type of wallet, where the user owns a private key. When setting up a crypto wallet, a user will get a file with private keys that includes a mnemonic phrase (recovery phrase/seed phrase) which they will be able to recover their funds. Having private keys means that you have full access to your funds.

Written By: @Jane

Sources:

https://youtu.be/vipMFw5iB3g

https://www.investopedia.com/terms/p/private-key.asph

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Multi-factor_authentication

22
$ 5.10
$ 4.99 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Omar
$ 0.01 from @Serg0213
Sponsors of Jane
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jane
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

I am one of the Victims. At first, the investment company seemed to be really professional and authentic. I found many favorable reviews about their performance and delivered results. So, I decided to invest with them and try to achieve success in the online trading sphere. Soon, I realized that the software was swallowing all my investments. IQ option is nothing more than a dangerous and fraudulent platform. I invested over $140,000 and couldn't withdraw my money, months passed and still nothing. So, I reached out to a Certified Binary Options Recovery Expert www Bitcoinrecoverlord at gmail com to help me recover my funds, I have been able to recover $100,000 and the remaining $40,000 is in progress. I really can't tell how happy I am. Whatsapp or text: +1 615 274 8672

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Cryptocurrency is expected to be the legal tender of the future but the web space is infiltrated with a lot of scam crypto investment websites that makes bogus promises of high unrealistic returns. In my early days as a newbie I had fallen for a couple of them and I knew it wasn’t a great experience. This has made it even worse for people to show interest in crypto investment or dealing in crypto generally. If you find yourself in this type of situation where your money had been stolen. Please reach out to hacktified /. C O M so you can get your crypto recovered "

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Have you lost your hard earned money to;
1.Binary option scam?
2. Forex trading?
3.Romance scam
and any other kind of online investment? 
I have a good news for you. Contact; recbtc17 at g mail com
I had doubts it was possible to recover the funds I lost to binary options. However,big thanks to the recbtc now for helping me recover a huge sum back and still working on full recovery for me…also they are reachable via text or whats app though this number +15187224413

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Please beware there are many fake bitcoin mining/clouding out there, I have been a victim once but now a certified blockchain consultant and I know better. The whole plan was so smooth I could not doubt it. Bitcoin is actually a great investment option but one thing I discovered over time is that it is not possible to mine bitcoin so don’t be deceived. I invested $25000 on a particular website called eurekaminingblock, I monitored the profit yielding but was told to open a new blockchain account to receive my payout. A public wallet was imported into the account and I was made to believe that was my profit. The bitcoin was labelled non spendable and it took me 2 years to be able to access it without the knowledge of the company. The non spendable bitcoin is the scam out there now and a lot of people are falling victim of it. I found Mr Dawson Wright on Quora who helped me access my investment together with the profit without the knowledge of the company. You can reach out to him also on fundsretrieval1 @ gmail . com if you need help, he is genius. Goodluck!

$ 0.05
3 years ago

I don't want to try mining and never tried tradingbas well. I don't have much knowledge about it yet. But thank you for this information. That money was so huge. ☹ good thing that someone help you solved it

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow grew article. I am also creating an article on crypro wallet at the moment. I saved it as a draft awaiting finishing touches. But on reading yours, I feel min is not near completion.

I will work more on it.

I currently use Trust et, Tron Wallet, Blockchain wallet and Coinbase wallet. The Blockchain wallet is my main wallet. I use trust and tron wallets main for the DAPP browser for smart contract investments.

Thank you sharing.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

How long you've been using crypto ? Am actually new here.. And thanks to this platform I learned so many things bout crypto while gaining bch

$ 0.00
3 years ago

My first attempt at crypto was in 2017. I only cared about the investments. Smart contracts tha accept Bitcoin. I was not really interested in understanding it. I wish I took I more serious then.

Not I am ready to go into it fully and understand it more.

I am not any better than you are. I started reading up on it last month. An I just joined read.cash and will Lee sharing what I have learned as I go.

I still have a lot of reading to do.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I don't think you can consider yourself a beginner haha your already a pro lol your lying hahaha well lets joke aside for now having several safety measure is the best one its only a matter for user how they safely do it for me I use different wallet and different mail since crypto is don't had a physical body so its better to spread than keep it in 1 place to ensure my assets.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Exactly.. it's better to keep in in more places.. I'm really a beginner here.. I don't even know yet the technique in trading 😅 Btw, what's your publishox's name?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

there is a copy trade you can used , and also there is a lot of academy where you can learn it just make sure you have enough time for it since every word of it is important. I'm still using Agilaxxx there in publish0x

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Coinsph has 2fa so it's safe pa din ba,? Haha, I Already download that Bitcoin.com wallet, I moved all of my money in coinsph wallet to bitcoin.com wallet, i just leave a small amount for load nalang. Nakakatuwa din yang bitcoin.com na yaan, all of our bch are safe kasi meron nga sya nong seed phrase, na set up ko na yun sakin agad para safe, and I already back it up too, and na connect ko na din sa sa read.cash account ko nakakatuwa naman. Pero ang dami ko pa din palang di alam sa mga crypto wallet na yaan, gaya nyang hot and cold thing, merong ibang wallet diba na may mga trade buy and sell feature, gaya sa coinbase. Di pa naman ganon kalaki laman ng wallet ko pero pinaghirapan ko din yun kaya sayang pag na hack lang, kaya dun tayo sa safe, trust....

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Safe pa dn ang coins ph.. Pro prone to hackers padn, mas safe kung my seed phrase, and incase mawala phone natn, madali lng mareretrieve ang fund using seed phrase.. Kung sa coins.ph nmn, dapat email add gamitin mo sa 2FA wag phone#, kc kpg ganun nga mawala phone, prang hndi mo malolog.in acct mo sa ibang phone kc # nung phone and masesendan ng confirmation..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hmmm, 🤔, sa coinsph ko naman ay email gamit ko, pero pwd ding cp number para madali, minsan kaso tamad ako mag open ng email lalo na ambagal ng connection🤦,

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Haha..ganun dn ako.. Pro mas safe kpg email.. Though prone padn sa hacks mga online wallets

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Haha, online wallet diba ang bitcoin.com?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow. Are you planning to have a cold wallet?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Im considering that..hehe..but not this time.. Maybe when i reached 1BCH already 😅

$ 0.00
3 years ago

haha,

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I think private key and 2FA are some very handy solutions..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

True.. But of course always back your wallet

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That is important too...

$ 0.00
3 years ago