The Final Challenge, New Place, New Life

40 71
Avatar for Jane
Written by
2 years ago

June 5, 2021

ALERT! READ AND EARN LATER

The Run Away Girl Found A Job (Part 1)

Solo Exploration In The Giant City (Part 2)

I Thought One Bird In The hand Is Worth Two In The Bush

I was fighting with my mind whether to pursue my application or not. As the old folks say, if you don't feel good, then do not go, it's a bad omen. I felt the same feeling before and I only regretted the output. It might be a wasted opportunity, but sometimes my instinct is true.

So I just called the agency and told them not to wait for me because I don't have the money yet for the training. That was my reason, even though I already saved money for the training fees. And I thought that one bird in the hand is worth two in the bush.

The Japan Caregiver Job Result

It was still June when the POEA result was released and I went to Cubao to check the names included in the list of eligible applicants. I was nervous that day, and I thought that I won't pass since I don't have much experience, unlike the other applicants. Based on my conversation with other applicants, I found out that many were nurses and other caregiver applicants have experiences working in a home for the aged. I guess, I was the only one who worked at home as a private caregiver.

And my instinct was right again. My name was not on the list. I was sad and disappointed, and I felt like I failed again. I wanna cry that day, and my family was expecting something since they knew about my application to Japan.

I Almost Give Up

Meanwhile, the HK agency did not call me again and my hope was lost already. I even think of going back home, maybe my father was right. My pawned jewelry just matured I wasn't able to redeem it. I still have remaining jewelry though, and I was saving them for future use. I only have small cash in my pocket, and I was demotivated to continue seeking a job.

The Search For Part-Time Job

I thought to look for a part-time job instead to support my stay in Manila. I went to different Call Center companies. I went to Makati, Pasay, BGC, Cubao, Parañaque, I even went to Muntinlupa. I always passed the initial interview and technical exam, but always failed in the final interview. Some were looking for full-time applicants, not part-timers.

May 2017, my hope was lifted when I saw an advertisement of ComGlasco while walking across the Muntinlupa area. They were hiring IT Staffs and they prefer IT graduates for a certain position in their head office. I gathered all the requirements and went to one of their branches in Parañaque.

I was hesitant at first, what if the HK agency call again? That was in my thought. But I was eager to get a part-time job, so I submitted my application. The branch officers interviewed me about my past experiences and educational background. All my past experiences and credentials were included in their requirements. The staff told me to visit their head office for the final interview.

I passed the final interview and was even praised by the interviewers when they heard about my solo exploration in Manila. (BUT, I did not tell them about my plan of going abroad so they will hire me). A provincial girl exploring the giant city alone is truly admirable. A week after the interview I was called to start my job.

New Job, New Life?

I was an early bird on my first day of duty

This was my working station as one of the Comglasco Head Office IT Staffs. Surprisingly, one of the staff was from Samar too, my province. She was about to resign and I will be the replacement. My work were not really hard, it was more on paperwork. I thought I will be handling the system or will be fixing computer problems, but I was assigned to be with Baby Jane and process the paperwork and store transactions in the system. Yes, there was still a system to be managed, and nice! we have the same Jane on our names and from the same province.

I also meet two more new employees and other staff were approachable. I almost forgot my goal, to work abroad.

Change Of Mind

On the third night, I was thinking so deeply if my decision was right. How about my dream to go abroad? I was asking myself. On the fourth day of duty, my ID was released and I was an official head office staff of the company after signing the contract. But I felt heavy that day and seemed like I don't want to continue my work. I managed to finish my work that day and went home with a heavy feeling.

On the fourth day I messaged Baby Jane that I will not work anymore. I don't have the thick face to pass a resignation letter since the previous day was just my signing of the contract. It was too inappropriate and what I have done was more unprofessional. Baby Jane knew about my plan of going abroad, and the reason why I resigned is because I want to pursue my application.

I Finally Found The One

Abby, the lady I've met while applying jobs in different agencies told me that Angelex Agency will be conducting an interview. (Abby is one of my closest friends here in HK) We both attended the interview and I easily got some job orders, perhaps, because of my education level and job experiences. But again, I rejected their offer due to some reason. I wasn't choosy, I just don't want to regret later if I choose them.

The next day the agent posted another job order again for HK, and I commented on her post and told her my experiences, this time, the job order was my cup of tea. After a few days, the agent texted me and told me that the HK employer chose me among all the other applicants. I was so happy at that time and I said to myself that I will not reject this opportunity again.

The NCII Training

I processed all the requirements without second thoughts and negative emotions. After a week, I was required to attend the training. It took me three weeks to finish the training. Each day I felt positive and traveling from Taguig to Malate, waking up at 4:30 am just to avoid the road congestion.

Every available time, I was learning the Cantonese language in advance because I heard from my co-trainees that the language was too complicated to learn and some of the proctors were quite strict.

The OWWA Training

After a few days before my training ends, I attended the OWWA training for three days, and the OWWA exam happened on the last day. Each night I tried to memorize all the information given to us so I will be confident on the exam. The language was like a tongue-twister and singing do-re-mi as each word has a corresponding tone and the meaning depends on the kind of tone - wrong tone, wrong meaning -that is how the Cantonese language is.

Luckily, I was able to pass the exam and all I need to pass was the Tesda NCII exam. We were all nervous during the NCII exam but we were able to pass it through group cooperation since the exam was conducted by groups.

(I met my HK friend Rachelle during my OWWA training)

Visa Waiting Like Forever

Finally, everything has been settled, and all I have to do was to wait for my Visa which took like forever. I thought I just need to wait for three weeks based on the experience of other applicants. So I did not go back home after the training because I want to wait for my Visa first. As they have said, once the Visa is there, I can go back home then wait for the flight ticket.

But the waiting took more than a month and I have regretted it so much. I should have visited my family during those days and spend the remaining days with them, but it didn't happen. When my Visa arrived, I was stressed when I found out that I only have a few more days left before going to Hong Kong.

My First Time Traveling By Air

I visited my family after processing the remaining requirements but only for one day. It was also my first time riding on an airplane since it was the only option I had. I slept at the airport because my flight was 7 in the morning the next day.

At the Tacloban airport, I saw my parents waiting for my arrival. They looked happy that they finally saw me after more than six months. I visited our farm for the last time before going to our home.

My one-day vacation at home was just spent packing my stuff and it was so sad seeing my little siblings looking at me while packing my things. The next day I went back to Manila with a heavy feeling, it was like I want to go abroad, but I don't want to leave my family. But then I need to face the reality, I need to leave to support them. I still remember the worried faces of my parents when I bid goodbye to them at the airport. That was the painful moment I needed to withstand.

Here Comes The Storm

After taking my last medical examination, sad news came about a storm coming to Manila. My flight was then rebooked and was delayed for one week. I was sad, one week was too long already to stay with my family. If the storm only happened earlier, I should have stayed at home longer.

September 21, 2017 Marked The Day

The day has come and time to leave my beloved country, and I made sure to stay positive before stepping into the foreign land. But on my way, several 'what ifs' ran in my mind. "What if my boss is strict, what if they don't like me, what if they fired me and send me back home immediately, what if I fail to do my duty, my hardwork will be useless."

Those were the things that made me worried because the Chinese believed in Feung Shui. Once they don't feel good about their new employee, they can fire them at any time even, on the very first day of duty. It's easy to work in HK, but can easily be terminated as well. But I was wrong, the family is good and they don't fire an employee.


Lessons Learned

The first year of working here in Hong Kong was very challenging. There were moments that I miss my family and all I can do was cry inside my bathroom because crying in front of them is unlucky. But I was able to beat the homesickness through social media communication, and going out with friends (co-applicants I met in Manila) was also helpful to overcome sadness and loneliness.

There are a lot of lessons I've learned from my past experiences while living in Manila for six months before working abroad.

  • Everything happens for a reason. I have rejected many job offers, maybe because they were not meant for me because I was meant for this job.

  • Do not give up, even how hard things are. The tough moments where I almost give up just made me stronger, not physically, but mentally and emotionally. I learned how to conquer the tough challenges thrown at me, for my dream, and my family.

  • When one door closes, another door opens. The reason why I went to Manila was to pursue my application at the agency I first applied to, even if I wasn't sure if they will still accept my application or not because it was too late already. That door closes when after several months I received no update from them. But then, another door opens when I got multiple job offers from different agencies. I rejected them though for some reason. But I was blessed that another door opens when I got this job offer. Indeed God is good to those who persevere.

  • Self-belief and hard work will always earn you success. There were times that I doubted myself and my capability. I thought I can't make it this way, but then here I am, achieving my goals my dream while helping my family.

For our dream and our family, we need to be strong and withstand the challenges life thrown at us. Just trust the process, we should always believe in ourselves, and leave everything to God.


Additional Stories:

Do you know that every time I was lost in the big city, it seemed like my feet were dragging me to the right place?

This church is Sto. Niño de Paz at Greenbelt Makati City. It was my first time visiting that area of Makati where I was looking for a part-time job in some call center companies. But I was lost that time and doesn't know where to go, and I ended up walking to this place.

One day I was looking for an agency somewhere in the Baclaran area. After submitting my application, I was looking for a place to eat because I was starving. I also lost direction and doesn't know where to wait for the bus or jeepney going to MOA. But my feet dragged me to Baclaran church. Beside the church were fastfood restaurants and just a few walks from it was the terminal for jeepneys. It was also the day when I learned about the Baclaran street where I can buy cheap merchandise just like Divisoria.

Maybe God was leading my way to his home, to surrender all my worries, pains, regrets, and uncertainties.

And here are some of my jewelry that saved me when I have no money in my pocket. The rest were left in the Philippines and my mother kept the redeemed jewelry I pawned when I ran away from home. I always bring some with me because I might be needing them if unexpected uncertainty happens. My investment has been my savior.

These two are my favorite

Three months from now will be my fourth year here in HK and I don't want to extend my contract anymore. Four years is enough, and if I will work as a Caregiver again, I want to render my service to a new family, and I hope, it will be in Japan 🤭.


Read and Earn!

While writing and reminiscing my past experiences, I have noticed something similar. From my first and second duty to private hospital work, and my part-time job, as well as my contract here in HK. Seems like I was destined to end my work that long.

If you have read my three articles, then you know the answer. What's that something similar I am referring to? The main word starts with the letter "F."

The first person to answer will get a $1 upvote.

Goodluck 😁

Some of my Hong Kong Gala 😁

It's not to brag but to inspire 😁. I hope you enjoy reading my stories and learn some lessons from them.

14
$ 6.94
$ 6.43 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @LykeLyca
$ 0.10 from @Idksamad7869
+ 6
Sponsors of Jane
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jane
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

SO inspiring naman this sis. Grabe talaga yung determination mo at yung pagkagusto mong magabroad. di ka napigilan ng mga pagsubok na meron ka sa Manila nun and now malapit ka ng umuwi baon mga aral na natutunan mo sa stay mo jan. Soar high sis :)

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thanks. At another challenges sa pag uwi 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Totoo. Panibagong adjustment na naman 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your journey is really inspiring. They way you left home to support family, undergone many difficult things but remained intact. Great ☺️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang masasabi ko lang, nakakainspired po talaga ate, sa dami ng struggles mo you finally made it! Good luck sa next country na pupuntahan mo! I'm happy for you po! 😁

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Sana nga matupad at walang maging sagabal.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Opo yan. I'll pray for that po! :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Finally read it! Very inspiring Jane, your life journey is still ongoing. I hope your next journey will be to the land of the rising sun.

You life struggles and decisions made have brought you to where you are and made you who you are, a strong woman with determination to reach for her dreams! Keep on inspiring Jane.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you ya.. Hope sana walang maging sagabal sa susunod na plans

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kakatuwa nmn mga kwento natin in the past, dati iniiyakan natin ng sobra ngaun natatawa nlng tau. Astig kc dba parang been there and done that kya we mature too in a lot of ways.. Congrats sa life na makulay 😉

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I know pinagdaanan mo rn yan.. Hehe..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Woow! Long article but worth it super! Ang haba rin po ng journey na nagpagdaanan nyo! And to think na dami struggles talaga na makakaharap mo sa bawat hakba, pero kinaya nyo pooo! Huhuhu wooow. Congratulations po! You really deserve whatever you have right now 🥺

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you.. And I hope I can do better

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I read this article and all about your hard journey.Hope so after reading the other two I shall get answer with winner name.😍

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's done. ,😅 Hey your acct is moved to spam

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Grabeh ngayan sis imo mga guin agian. Nakaka inspire tinood. Guin basa ko talaga katikangan. You are tough enough to be fix with your decisions of going abroad. Your Faith does leads you to the right path. Kudos to you sangkay! 😊

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hello waray waray 😁salamat han pag agi.. May account ka ngayan dinhi. Welcome 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe. Salamat! Baga pakachance pala pamagbasa dinhi. Diri ako maaram mag aano. Mga usa na kabulan ako nag create account dinhi. Yana pala nakagtikang pa mag comment ug post. Hehe Salamat han pag welcome! 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Practice practice la pag himo article. Basta ayaw mangopya kay bawal dinhi 🤭 feel free to comment ha iba pra maka gain ka subs

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Amo ngani. Salamat. Tulo pala yana akon nakomentan. Hehe Kamaghaglaba man ngayan mga article ngahi. Manose bleed man ako nganhi. 😁😁 Hinaot unta mag improve akon writing skills. Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wahhh finally, after the kong wait naka lipad ka rin. Pero frabe talaga madam. Bat ganin walang resignation haha. Naaalala ko tuloy yong ginawa ko sa robinson. Nakakahiya kasi 1 day lang ako pumasok tapos the next day hindi na. Hindi ko talaga kinaya ang lamig sa loob swear 😵. But anyway, ang dami mong pinag daanan grabi, nakaka inspire lang kasi dika sumuko. Sa iba iba lang yan, ewan din. Pero sana makahanp ka ng bago ulit pag nakauwi kana sa pinas. Japan it is, masaya sa Japan sana matupad yan 💪

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Sana nga walang maging sagabal.. Pro madam. Pwd kna man mag jacket sa robinsons. 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pero ang daming need gawin. Need patatagan ng logi nila, pati bra, panty, ung uniform kulang nalang pati ulo palagyan ng logo nila. Kala mo gay nanakawan. Tas echecheck kong may kinulimbat. Ang iba lang, aigoo. Pero Good Luck madam ha 👏👏🙋

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hala ganun pla dun.. Nag apply kya ako robi dati... Pro iwan d ako tinawagan 😂 Over qualified ata.. Lol.. Mababa lng position inaplayan ko as part time lng kc..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ehhh, hahaha buti dika tumuloy.. inspection to the max ja din naku haha. Akin kasi promodizer niapplayan ko, for experience lang ba. Tas nakatayo lang maghapon. If nagtuloy sana ako dun wala sana anmkong bilbil ngayon ahahaha. Tas wala din ako dito aguii haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pro baka malamang dami mo na varicose veins 😂😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Let me save this for later coz my battery is down and it's raining outside

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sure

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I admire you for sharing your story ms. Jane. I thought my experiences when I conquered the big city was the greatest experience in my life, but after reading yours, I realize it's only the beginning of my journey, there are more challenges and difficulties that i will be encountering.

I like how you follow that gut feeling or instinct of yours that,"this isn't for me", "I was meant to be a caregiver", I like how you take responsibility and accept consequences of your actions and decisions.

You story alone will uplift, inspire and motivate your readers. I admire you a lot!

Anyway, You took only FOUR DAYS to realize and feel whether the job is for you or not.

$ 1.00
2 years ago

Are you still working in Manila? Goodluck sa mga darating pa na pagsubok syo.. Makakaya mo yan

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No ate, I'm no longer working in Manila, I'm back here in my province, but hopefully, when things get fine, I could go back there. It's too risky kasi. 😊

Anyway did I guess it right? 🙈

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yup you did it. . and you will have the prize later 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yey, thank you so much ms. Jane. I'll consider it simple reward from reading, cause the lesson, inspiration and motivation is the grand prize here ☺

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mas nakakatouch yang sinabi mo 🤧

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aw, but it's the truth, and that's how things should be.

Big thanks ms. Jane. 🙏

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Welcome

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That was quite long, but worth reading. I can almost relate cause I have been through lots of job hunting/jobs as well. From a bank employee to an ofw to a call center manager to a virtual assistant. What more can I say? You go, gurl. I myself is proud of who you have become. Aja aja!!!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hndi naman ako nag call center manager at bank employee 😅 Pro thanks sa pagbasa 😁

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Parang ganun na din, sis! Sa dami ng pinagdaanan mo! You're welcome 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nakita mo na request sa notif mo?

$ 0.00
2 years ago