Should We Spend Lavishly On Food?

27 56
Avatar for Jane
Written by
1 year ago

|17th Nov 22|18:00|

Food is life. That is given. Apart from traveling, I would lavishly spend money on food if I wanted to because I believe I can. Besides, it's my way of rewarding myself after a difficult week. If I want to, I can go to fancy places. It's just that my practical side takes precedence over my stubborn side most of the time.

Whenever I plan to visit a fancy place or buy fancy food, my mind tends to process several thoughts, including budgeting and saving, which can sometimes thwart my plans for some self-indulgence. Oftentimes, when in front of a restaurant checking the menus and prices, my mind would say, "with that $100 price, I could buy more food in other restaurants." Or "With that $100 price, I could buy food and dinner." So most of the time, I ended up going to the usual places and eating the usual food. Because why not? There are far more important things to consider than spoiling myself with food when I can simply buy one that will satisfy my stomach.

However, there are times when I don't care about prices, especially when I am curious about the food inside a restaurant or want to try something new because I am tired of eating the same set of foods. I'm referring to my holidays.

My curiosity drove me to try a new restaurant and sample one of its specialties one day. Would you believe me if I say that I ate more than a hundred dollar worth of Italian pasta? This is true. And I shared about it on Foodies Bee Hive. You can click the link if you want to read it.

This set of food, Italian spaghetti, and iced tea was worth HK$180. Well, if you don't want to believe it, you can check the Pazta restaurant's menu here.

This was to feed my curiosity and to know how does a HK$130 worth of spaghetti taste like. The tea was HK$50 by the way which is enough to buy a complete meal set in other restaurants.

I was curious as to why the pasta was so expensive, so I tried it. Furthermore, the restaurant's settings and architecture left a great impression on me. As a result, my expectations for their food were also high. Unfortunately, it fell short of my expectations, leaving me with disappointments and regrets.

The food did not taste the way I expected it to. I even thought the recent food I cooked, udon in tomato sauce, is better than this Italian spaghetti. So I definitely felt like I had squandered a lot of money by trying this pasta and satisfying my curiosity.

I understand that there are factors that influence high food prices in most Hong Kong restaurants, such as rent and location, but that was too much for a single serving of ordinary pasta. I believe they tacked on some extra charges to the price that did not appear on the receipt. I should have saved the receipt as a souvenir, lol. However, I left it along with my disappointments and regrets.

Should we spend lavishly on food?

Well, there's nothing wrong with lavishing on food as long as it's worthwhile. If I'm going to spend a hundred dollars on food, I'd rather go somewhere where I can have more, yet delightful. That was a lesson to learn. The look of the place and the number of customers in it doesn't define the taste of its foods. Sometimes, most of them are just curious like me as well who want to try the cuisines.

You better eat the ordinary one, yet healthy and delicious, for as long as it will satisfy your stomach. Healthy food, happy yummy 😊.

What about you, what was the most expensive food you ever eat? Were you satisfied, or disappointed?

Share it below.

Btw, I uploaded a nee video on YouTube 😁


**(Check out the new noise.app here and let's be connected. noise.app/Jane1289)**

Follow me on:

read.cash •noise.cash •HIVE •Ecency      PeakD Torum •Twitter

18
$ 2.79
$ 2.29 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @Coolmidwestguy
$ 0.05 from @Codename_Chikakiku
+ 10
Sponsors of Jane
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jane
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

I would do the same too. I would rather try eating something new and then regret after than miss out forever

$ 0.00
1 year ago

There is nothing to spend or lavishly spend on yourself. Spending on food is also spending on own self. Yes you are right with that you could have more food and you could save some money.

Another thing I always keep in mind is once done is done, perhaps it was worth or not. Let's just not discuss and be sad due to to that. It is always I consider for myself

$ 0.00
1 year ago

My mom has taught me to not deprived myself of good food specially if I have the money for it. I can save up money for emergency funds but I am also not depriving myself of good food. So, sometimes, it is okay to spend lavishly on food.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

There is absolutely nothing wrong with spending lavishly on food but as you have rightly said, it must be worth it. I've bought food just to reward myself or take the stress of cooking away from myself and wifey most of the time and I have no regrets. I can imagine your disappointment after spending that much only for it to fall short. Most of these restaurants are overpriced and they add the cost of their rent to their meals 🤣🤣😂🤣🤣. I won't definitely pay that much for a Pasta that can't get me satisfied 🤣🤣😂😂 but don't feel bad because you only wanted to explore and see what it's all about and you know better never to go there again.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's okay sis, ika nga experience mo nlng un pero sayang nmn talaga... The other week I spend P500 for lunch sa naiinis kung utak, ang mahal talaga pero ganun talaga minsan pag wala ka sa mood, nadadala sa food hahah!

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Okay lang naman kumain ng mahal, basta sulit..pro kung hndi. Magsisisi tlga haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This also happens to me. Before making the plan work i often think it is not something i really want. For me food need to be tasty. But i think fancy places are just an instrument of show of, most of the time. And budget obviously a big factor.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I also spent money on food more than anything. Hahaha no need to actually because i know it too that prices of food also touching the sky now a day's 🥺😬

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Haha..inflation it real dear

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Well I have spent close to that at a steak house. Everything on menu sold separately. House salad $12, steak $40, baked potato $8, veggies $8 and I think there was 18% minimum added to ticket. Also drinks were spendy too. Dress code and reservations required.

Was it good? Yes it was. Was it over priced? Yes, could have got a similar taste meal for $30 some where else. Would I go back? No, but everyone claims it's the best around. I wouldn't claim to say the same. I was with a group and I don't think I would go by myself shelling out that much for just one meal.

$ 0.03
1 year ago

That's what I thought after tasting the spaghetti. I could have more delicious food in restaurants I know.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It's good to pamper ourselves too from time to time :) Although your experience with that restaurant wasn't necessarily pleasant because the food was blah, lol!

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Haha.. No comment on the food 🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nung nsa taiwan ako madam, per head is about 300 nt dollar, pero solve nman kasi unlimited sya for 2hours I think

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Meron dto, unli Hotpot. Mga 120 hkd

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Honestly, somehow I also want to feel the vibe of eating fancy and not minding the price hehe just the vibe feeling; and somehow have the chance to taste the food not every day I consumed, hmmm its not that bad to spend some; its a best way and experience too.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Kaya nga. For experience lang din minsan akin. As a reward na rn

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Super higj ng expectation tas nong natikman, "Ay, that's it?" Hahaha. As for me, I can only spend a lot of money in a food only if I have money in my wallet. Kapag wala, syempre ekis. Tipid tipid ganon lalo walang regular job haha

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Haha.. Tipid ako most of the time.. minsn alang gumastos ng ganito

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ayyy nako te hindi mo ko mapapakain sa ganyan kahit libre pa hahahahah iisipin ko ung ilang libo na presyo eh for sure madami mas mabubusog non eh, for me lang ah. Pero at least diba once in a lifetime nakatikim tayu ng masarap like that.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Ako din naman ganun mag isip..pero minsan, for experience lang..napapa self-spoil..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The most lavish food I bought so far in my entire life is Starbucks cake and it's coffee which cost me almost 600, I am not a fond of eating on restaurant due to factors like having no money and also it's more practical to eat on cheap restaurant which served quality foods for customers.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Grabe ang mahal.. Sabagay, dto rn naman 😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Spending lavishly on food isn't a sin. As long as the food is good for the body. Why not? I can spend hundreds of dollars on food. Also, another thing is that we should be careful of how we spend lavishly on food so that we won't be broke

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Indeed

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Relate ako miss Jane. Partner ko and I kahit san lang kumakain lalo na pagbago. Sarap ng mga foods. Nagbibigay ng saya. 😅

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Okay lang sa inyo. Dami naman ata pera partner mo hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago