Setting SMARTer Goals This Time

26 85
Avatar for Jane
Written by
1 year ago

August 22, 2022

A blissful Monday everyone! It's a busy day as always and once this day falls, everyone at work would probably want to immediately jump to the weekend. I do think like that at busy times and always hope for a statutory holiday. Speaking of which, I checked it online with the hope of seeing a holiday this August, but to no avail. However, there is one in September, and that's the Mid-Autumn Festival that everyone is anticipating. We'll be seeing different mooncakes again these coming weeks. Enough with the nonsensical stuff and let's get straight to the topic.


I was contemplating my old goals yesterday. Remembering those old days when I was still too motivated and determined made me compare my old and current self. I somehow missed my newbie self, full of enthusiasm, determination, and goals. But as years passed by, the fire that fuels my passion seemed to slowly diminish and the enthusiasm weakened.

A lot of changes happened, that includes never-ending struggles that put some goals aside. Some were halted, and some were scraped off from the list. It just seems to be so easy to create goals but pursuing them takes a lot of effort and struggle. And a lot of time I fell and lost my desire to continue my passion.

I don't even know what my real passion is. I just go along with the flow running through the stream. I couldn't seem to know the end of it either, or if I am heading in the right direction.

Some may think I achieved a lot, but in my perspective, those are just unrealistic achievements as I couldn't seem to feel and hold them. It's the same as unrealistic PnL in trading, they are just giving false hope sometimes. They remain in the virtual world, not in the real world. And the fact is, I lost a lot not gained a lot in different aspects, such as finance, health, stability, and more.

I may consider the achievements in the financial aspect as a real one if I see more digits in my savings account, but despite the hardships and more grinding, the growth seems to be so slow and it is sometimes stagnant. And a lot of times I would ask myself, "are these all worth taking?"

What happened to my $20K Crypto goals and six-digits savings goals? They all were hampered by sudden unfavorable market upheaval. I should have achieved my crypto and savings goals by now if the market didn't crash. Or should I blame the market or my ineffective strategies?

Remembering my dollar-a-day saving goal that was to be for my laptop, it should be bigger by now and enough to buy one. But what have I done? I invested them in KONRA and CATS, but prices went down, including my investments. Was it a good move? Definitely, not. And my real cash investment turned into ashes.

My 5 BCH five-month readcash earnings were put into SmartBCH trading. But it seems like luck isn't on my side this year. Half of it was gone because of my greediness and wrong strategies. Apart from it, my more or less 10 BCH initial investment in sBCH is still at a huge loss. I seem to be wasting my hard-earned BCH and I felt guilty for being reckless, inconsistent, and irrational.

And what happened to my health goals? I seem to take it for granted and just set it aside. I seem to put more time into the less important stuff. I feel so impractical.

Should I really blame the market, or myself alone? Or probably, I set unattainable high goals that I tend to forget to take a SMARTer one.

Specific, Measurable, Achievable, Relevant, and Time-bounded.

Specifically, I do know what I want to aim for and how to achieve them. Yet, I lack self-discipline and motivation to do the right thing as I tend to spend more time doing the wrong one.

Measurably, my enthusiasm to measure my goals and track my progress seemed to fade and I became so careless at some points.

Achievable, are they? My goals are achievable, however, when greediness and wrong strategy are put together, everything would seem to fall apart.

Relevantly, the reason for whom my goals are is very clear, yet, I seem to be distracted by sudden obstacles hindering my way. And sometimes I thought, does setting my goals worthwhile? I sometimes don't know the answer.

Timely, I often pressure myself to achieve a certain goal at a certain time to the point that it compromises some aspect. Thus, making everything worthless.

May it be small or big, for short-term or long-term goals, everything is pointless without the proper setting and self-discipline. I probably need to work out not putting a lot on one plate, but rather taking one goal at a time. And maybe I shouldn't be distracted by the amount I lost but rather focus on the process of how to successfully achieve my goals smartly. And instead of counting losses, I rather count the gains and blessings.

And now that Rusty is MIA, maybe I should take a break even just for a day or two? I hope it's easy. But once my body is resting, my mind is working. Overwhelming thoughts are flowing. And I'm afraid that they might turn into chaos once congested and uncluttered. But maybe I could try.

Lead Image from Unsplash

Follow me on:

read.cash •noise.cash •HIVE •Publish0xTorum •Twitter

23
$ 4.56
$ 4.10 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Pantera
$ 0.05 from @mommykim
+ 9
Sponsors of Jane
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jane
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

Is easier said than done. This statement is true because we often rush to make resolution but in reality we hardly do a quarter of our resolution and promise.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I so relate with you, Ate. Well, not much in the crypto coz what I only regretted is that I do not write in everyday basis to earn BCH kahit kaya ko naman. Wala, katamaran hits me hard ey. Huhu!

'Yung sa 2022 goals ko? Most aren't yet accomplished pa. The fact that I need to pay the rent ruined it all, aigo. This September, I'll be a lil more stricter in my finances na talaga. Kaloka ey, hayst.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Tipid2 din pag may time. Wag muna madyado online shopping 😅.. Bat ba ikaw nagbabayad ng rent?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Take a rest miss Jane pero ang humble mo miss Jane. Yung mga nawala, don't worry kasi mababawi mo din yun, ikaw pa miss Jane.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

[spam]

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It seems rusty heard you're about to take a break and he came rushing in to make you stay 😂

One thing I have realized when it comes to setting goals and walking towards achieving it is that it's always best to break up a big goal into smaller ones. So, instead of having one big goal, you split it into smaller ones that is more easier to achieve. I guess the reason why we sometimes not achieve our goals is because the journey takes too much time and it's easy to become demotivated and lose focus of such long term goals. But overall, you will still need to have good discipline to be able to accomplish even smaller or short term goals

$ 0.04
1 year ago

True..it always boils down to self-discipline... Setting goals is pointless without proper application.. Yeah, rusty is back..everyone would be so happy for sure..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

So true! It's easy to set goals but is so tough to fulfill especially when things or plans don't go in our way. Hays, laban lang tayo.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hope so soon you recover your loss but it's really a big loss. I think you should take rest yeah you can do rest of Just one day

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Better take that rest once in a while. I guess this is the market's way of saying we all should not abuse ourselves.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Cguro nga haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Medyo sayang ate yyng mga investments mo na naturn into ashes. Ewan ko lang kung ano magiging reaction ni mama kung ano nangyari sa pegaxy kong nasunog ahhahahaha big regrets talaga awit hahahahaha.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hay naku. Pinaalala mo. Nakalimutan ko na yun eh 🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You've come a long way sis. Believe me.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Taking some rest is okay, take time for yourself. Sayang nga naman talaga yung mga nawala pero mababawi mo din naman yun pag nakarecover ang market. Take things easy. Wag din masyadong abusuhin ang sarili. Ako nga nag set din ako ng one dollar a day para sa bago kong cp kasi itong ginagamit ko sira na, kaso kailangan eh kaya napapaconvert. Tapos kung kelan ready na ulit akong mag ipon saka naman bumagsak ang market tapos ito pa nawala pa si green baby kaya ewan ko na din kung maaabot ko pa ba mga goals ko, sobrang nanghihinayang din ako kasi di ako nakapagtabi nung mataas pa ang market. however let's still all hope for the better day's to come.

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Hayst sinabi mo pa..laki sana nasave kung last year nagtabi

$ 0.00
1 year ago

ako rin ate, yung 3k na naipon ko sa bch nawala since magdown market, nakakamiss rin ung ld self natin na super active natin sa lahayt, full of motivation and determination,bigla-bigla naglaho lahat na parang bula

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Same 😔

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I think you need some gala na sis,.burnt out, have a break, have a kitkat! But seriously speaking, even I, 2022 is not my lucky year

Just curious, your not using a laptop.in writing your articles?

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Nope..just phone..hndi ko naman magagamit laptop sa work. Isa pa. Sira laptop ko 🤣 nakalimutan ko password hndi ko mareset lol

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hala ang galing! Hindi ko kaya magsulat kapag cellphone. Ang sakit kasi sa kamay

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I can totally relate jan sa my body is resting but my mind is working too hard naman. Alam mo un, dun nagllilitawan ang ideas. And if di agad natype, pagsisisihan mo talaga. Anyways, Rusty is back na.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

True madam. Madali din maglaho

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I can imagine hahaha because we always set goals but things beyond our control happens that knocks it aside or even, we can restrategize when we see how life happens.

It's okay to take a day and rest. I'm not sure I can go a day without posting though or engaging. It's hard to break away from what I've been doing every single day since 2017 in November when I first joined the blockchain.

I think we need to write a love letter to Rusty and Rusty handlers 🥰🥰🥰. Everything will be fine, in the end.

$ 0.03
1 year ago

He's back now hehe..i can't take a rest too...i tried, but always end up posting as I become used to it, lol

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Hahaha yes, you've been used to it...you can't stop even when you want to.

Yessssss, Rusty is back. Thank you, Rusty, thank you, Read Cash...

$ 0.00
1 year ago