Ng Tung Chai and Man Tak Yuen

30 91
Avatar for Jane
Written by
1 year ago

15 March 2023

On another platform, I wrote about appreciating the beauty of the natural world. That was on my way to the highest peak in Hong Kong. It can be surprising sometimes to see more spots in the middle of the woods aside from trees, waterfalls, and others. A solo backpacker is always excited to discover new things, especially in unexpected places.

The first stage of my journey to the highest peak of Hong Kong was relatively easy with the help of the paved path. In the beginning, I had anticipated traveling alone the entire time, but I have been joined temporarily by these two elderly Chinese women.

Although it was my first time hiking this trail, I was aware that it was in a country park, so I initially anticipated seeing spacious parks, campsites, and other gathering places. However, it appears that I took the opposite, most secluded route. So just imagine myself alone in the woods if the two women weren't on the trail. It can occasionally be frightful to come across a tombstone along the path.

I came across a house that seemed to be abandoned. However, I didn't see the way going down to it so I just continued. I was asking myself, "Why is there a house in the woods?"

My question was answered as I continued walking when I spotted a peaceful village hidden in this mountain. That should have been an amazing place to explore, but my goal was to climb to the summit before sunset, so I might not have had enough time. I was thinking there might be a cozy cafe to dine in, but probably next time.

My journey continued and after more than half an hour of walking, I stumbled upon a private residential area at the bottom of the hill. Behind it, I could tell that there was a stream since I can hear the gushing water from the distance.

Such a view, with the mountainous backdrop and the creek at the back, reminded me of those on our farm. The exterior of the house made it clear that it is old. The owner can grow as much as he wants in the backyard, which is very spacious. Since it was midday, I saw some individuals down there, definitely the owners, and they appeared to be getting ready for lunch.

Who would have thought that a house could exist in the middle of a forest? I can only see such a view in our province. People who desire a simpler, more tranquil life would surely choose to live in this secluded and peaceful place.

As much as I wanted to visit the stream down there, I didn't have enough time so I continued. Besides, I didn't want to be left alone on the trail so I went after the two old women.

Near the private residence was another unexpected site that I mistakenly believed to be a Chinese graveyard. It is situated uphill and has stairs leading up to it.

I was left on the route alone as the two elderly women ascended the stairs. Poor Jane. No more company. Even though I was concerned about being alone on the route, I continued because I might not have enough time.

When I ascended the trail, I saw what I had initially assumed to be a cemetery was actually a temple or Taoist shrine resting atop the slope.

It's another hidden gem in Tai Mo Shan that I didn't see in my article guide. I thought of going back to explore it, but I halted when I checked the time. I might not be able to see the sunset if I will visit the temple.

After a few more walks and I stumbled upon a stream. I thought it was already the waterfalls they were referring to. But then I remembered that it's a series of waterfalls and the one in the photo was just part of it.

Despite being by myself on the route, I proceeded on my journey and would pause at each waterfall where I could see a few other hikers and believed I would have company. Yet it appeared that they came from the opposite route and were heading back toward where I had started. Some others appeared to be only interested in the waterfalls and not planning to walk to the summit.

You'll find out about this highest peak of Hong Kong soon once I completed my blog 😊.

You can also reach me on my socials and let's be connected:

cashrain •noise.app

HIVE •Ecency PeakD  

Twitter •Facebook  Youtube

13
$ 0.68
$ 0.31 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @Coolmidwestguy
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
+ 6
Sponsors of Jane
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jane
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

adventure is the name pf full enjoyment life

$ 0.00
9 months ago

Grabe tapang mo madam na ikaw lang mag isa into an unknown area although may ibang dumadaan...iba pa rin yung may kasama ka at least ma feel mo pa security na di ka mag iisa pauwi

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ayyy na miss ko tong mga laag blogs mo madam! Meron din akong e share soon nkapamundok rin ako last Feb eh haha!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

one thing for sure even you are alone for hiking you feel so much happy and enjoy with of course the beautiful scenery that u will see

$ 0.01
1 year ago

True.. Your worries will be replaced by amusements.. 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Grabe madam alone ka tlga, asan na ung travel buddy mo?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nsa China that time. At minsan lang mag off yun...minsan nga whole month working... Kaya malaki swldo lol

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ay workaholic pala un madam, kaya pala gora ka na mag-isa kesa mabored sa bahay🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

woooh bilib ako sa mga taong nakakasolo travel. Ganda and for sure mas maganda tignan sa personal ituuuu

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Woahhh grabe ang ganda ng place ate Jane. Sanaol tlga solo travel kering keri.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Safe nmn dto so carry lang.. Wag Lng mkakita ng ahas 😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Omg there's a slim chance ate. Btw, do you train yourself ate before mag hike? ??

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Train for? Lol. Walang ganyan. Akyat ka lang, lol. Isa pa, trails sa mga bundok dto paved naman, unlike jan sa pinas na mawawala ka talaga.. And on occasion, you'll see some hikers along the way....so safe maghike ng solo.. Unfortunately, jungle part dinaanan ko..kala ko madami hikers kadi Sunday, nasa ibang route pla sla. 😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Dito kasi planning ako mag joiners sa mga hike by holy week kaso sabi ng bff ko ate is mag training muna ako pero kako okay na ko at naglalakad naman ako everyday ng mga 10k steps eh. un na ung training ko kako hahaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Parang di nauubos tourist spots jan sa Hong Kong madam no? Or na share mo na iba dito dati? 😅

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nope.. Last March 5 lang yan, lol.. Why would I reshare it anyway? Dami ko pa nga hindi nashare.....

$ 0.00
1 year ago

As in? Hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Some very nice scenery there Jane. I want that house in the hills :)

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Me too 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Grabe talaga yung lkas ng loob mo sis😁 mg hike ng solo. Di ko keri kasi yan. Masyado malikot isip ko kung ano ano pumapasok sa isip ko na baka me ganto ganyan na lumbas🤣

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Safe nman dto sa HK compared jan hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Tingin ko nga based sa mga pinipost mo😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Salamat sa pag tour, ganda ng mga kuha mo jane😍 ang dami mo ng memories dahil sa mga places na napupuntahan mo.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Oo naman hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

What beautiful scenery and even better the fact that you can go exploring alone on those trails. I could never do it nowadays as things are in my country.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It was Sunday and I was expecting more hikers. Unfortunately, the guide I followed was the most secluded one, so only a few are hiking this route.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is awesome Sis Jane glad to have you back. I wish I can come too to capture amazing pictures like this they are all beautiful 🤩

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thanks. You can do it in your place hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Interesting too, there is a house in the forest. it might be more comfortable to live there.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

For sure. With relaxing view and fresher air

$ 0.00
1 year ago