Market Friday At Dreemport

41 125
Avatar for Jane
Written by
1 year ago

June 10, 2022

One of the front-ends on the Hive chain that I like visiting is Dreemport, especially when I don't know whose certain article to read. I'll just gonna go to the Curation section and curate the given articles. In that way, I'm engaging with others through reading their submitted articles while earning DREEM tokens and participating in the ranking challenges.

For those who don't know, we can promote our articles on Dreemport, not just the ones posted on the Hive chain but also those posted on different platforms where you are blogging. You can visit this article below, in case you want to know more about it.

Promote Your Content And Onboard Writers To readcash Through Dreemport

Aside from promoting articles on Dreemport, one thing I like there is the weekly challenges in collaboration with another community. Recently, the creator of one of my favorite communities, Ecotrain, had bid goodbye to Hive as he wanted to enjoy his life more and focus on more important things. Thus, the collaboration of Dreemport with Ecotrain ended. I was lucky to be part of one of its challenges and won some rewards. You can read my entry here if you want.

Connecting With Mother Nature


@Dreemsteem, the founder of Dreemport, of course, doesn't want the challenges to end so she finds another community to collaborate with Dreemport, and that is the Market Friday community. Therefore, the fun challenges on Dreemport will continue.

And here it is! The very first challenge of Dreemport in collaboration with the Market Friday community. It's not just a simple Market Friday challenge though as Dreemie even makes it more challenging, yet fun, and I challenged myself to participate because I like the concept.

You can read the full details here.


To market, to market, ding ding πŸš‚ πŸ₯¦πŸŒπŸ“πŸ·πŸŸπŸ¦€πŸŒ»πŸž

Welcome to Kowloon City Market!

In more than four years of living in Hong Kong, this is where I usually do marketing as vegetables and meat are fresher compared to the ones in supermarkets. Besides, the prices in other stores are much cheaper too and you can bargain if the vendor is your friend.

The Kowloon City Market is a one-stop-shop market as there are variety and a large selection of seafood, poultry, vegetables, and fruits to choose from. You don't need to go out to another market as all kinds of food can be found here.

Before I go to my favorite stalls, let me give you a tour of this market.

This market is always cleaned by staff and has decentralized air-conditioners in all parts so customers would feel comfortable while shopping. It is also organized and easy to spot the stalls where you want to buy food.

As you enter the market, you'll see the seafood stalls located on the right side along with other vegetable stalls. You can buy different kinds of seafood fresh from the tanks. They are kind of expensive though. Well, seafood is expensive here in Hong Kong and prices vary from what district and city you will buy seafood.

There are three districts in HK, the most expensive rentals and products are in the HK Island area, next one is here in Kowloon District, followed by New Territory. And seafood products are usually harvested in New Territory areas, so it is cheaper to buy seafood there.

On the left side are vegetable and fruit stalls.

For healthier food, you can shop at the Organic Corner.

There are also stalls where you can buy different Chinese herbs for soups. I guess these are the secret to the Chinese people's long life.

And stalls selling beancurd products. I like buying bean sprouts here and cooking them with tofu. It's healthy and perfect for vegetarians.

At the end area of the first floor are poultry stalls where you can buy fresh chicken, butchered and undressed right in the shop. Some frozen chickens with good qualities are also sold here.

This is where we usually buy fresh and frozen chickens. Prices vary depending on the tags of the chicken. The ones with green tags are more expensive. You can also buy black chickens here for soup. And aside from seafood, fresh whole chickens are expensive too. Should I buy one? Hmm..later 🀣.

There are flower shops too where you can buy flowers, perfect for your vase on the table.

Ride on the escalator to the second floor to see meat stalls selling pork, beef, and lamb, freshly butchered in the morning and delivered right away to designating stalls.

And also some kitchenware and other merchandise.

A badminton playing place and a Chinese restaurant are located on the third floor of the market.

Now, let's go to my favorite stalls

This is where we usually buy fresh pork. The pigs are raised in Hong Kong poultry farms, so the prices of pork in this shop are quite higher compared to other meat stalls inside this market. The ones from mainland China farms are preferably cheaper. But the quality of the meat here is, of course, better.

The staff is friendly too and accommodating. He would sometimes give me a discount, for instance, the pork is worth HK$125, and he would only ask me HK$120. And during Chinese New Year, he usually gives me red pockets with HK$20-50 inside. It's not bad at all if I will convert it to our Philippine money. That's also his way of giving thanks to his regular customers.

The last part is where we usually buy vegetables. Compared to other vegetable stalls, the ones sold here are fresher and have better quality, but of course, with higher prices. This stall was recommended by my boss and is the most visited stall in the market in terms of buying vegetables. Some of their vegetables are harvested from Hong Kong farms, some from mainland China, and others are imported from other countries.

I've been buying vegetables here for more than four years already, and this stall is owned and operated by a single-family. The parents, as well as children, are the ones working in this stall and assisting the customers. The oldest son is the nicest and most friendly to the customers, especially to the Filipino workers. He also knows how to speak English, so it's easier to communicate with him and ask about certain vegetables we are looking for.

I took some courage to ask the guy vendor if I could take some photos of them and I explained to him that I am a blogger and I want to write an article about this market. Gladly, he permitted me to do so.

The ones at the back are his sister and father

Yes! I did it Dreemie! 🀣

He's a busy man and there were customers coming, so I didn't bother him anymore after taking the photo. But looking at the photographs posted on the side of the stall, you could tell that they have been selling vegetables here for more than a decade. They look younger in the photos compared to their current looks, which only proves that they've been here for a long time.

The customers in the photographs are some Hong Kong celebrities. That also shows that their products have good quality that celebrities are buying here. I wish I could spot them someday and take a photo with them πŸ˜….


What can I buy with $10 in this market?

Talking about what can I buy with $10 in this market, let me convert it to Hong Kong dollars first. US$10 is equivalent to HK$78.48 and using that amount, I can only buy a little I guess. Given that Hong Kong is an expensive country, I have to budget it very well and make sure to only buy the necessary ones. Since my meals are covered by my boss, I usually buy food that I usually eat in the morning, like fruits, teas, and others.

If I want to buy fruits, I usually go to the supermarket outside this market, because fruits are cheaper there, as well as other products, or in Wellcome Supermarket where I can buy bananas from the Philippines and it's cheaper too.

And here are the products I bought worth US$10.

  • 1 Apple - HK$12 ($1.53)

  • 2 Oranges - HK$24 ($3.06)

  • 1 pack Green tea - HK$37 ($4.71)

  • 1 Cucumber - HK$5 ($0.64) for my pickles

  • TOTAL: HK$78 ($9.94) I still have 0.06 change πŸ˜…

Dreemie also asked to mention the most expensive product on the market. I mentioned above, seafood is expensive here, but the most expensive for me is the whole chicken worth HK$300 or US$38.22 and that's about 3 catty.

Should I buy one?

My boss answered it as we really bought whole chicken today! What a coincidence. Not my money though, haha.

Ready to steam after cleaning!

And tada!! Steam chicken for dinner. This is yummy if eaten with ginger soy sauce.

And talking about the most beautiful item in this market, here it is.

Why? Simply because flowers are the most beautiful creatures of nature that can be found everywhere, even inside the market 😁. Besides, I love purple colors.

Thanks for this awesome challenge. You guys can join too. Visit and subscribe to Market Friday Community on Hive. Create an account on Dreemport, participate in this challenge, and submit it there.

I'm done so let me eat one of the oranges 😁.

Have a nice market Friday!

Follow me on:

β€’read.cashΒ β€’noise.cashΒ β€’HIVEΒ β€’Publish0xβ€’TorumΒ β€’Twitter

30
$ 8.13
$ 7.42 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Pantera
$ 0.10 from @Olasquare
+ 15
Sponsors of Jane
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jane
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

Ah interesting that is probably why your articles seemed somewhat familiar as I was active on hive before losing access to my account. Also wow I did not know things in Hong Kong were so expensive in terms of fruits and produce.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

hala grabe ka dollars naman nang chicken nila madam oy bakit nilibo na sa pera natin dito...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That was interesting to read. But a chicken for $38, that's expensive even for my country! Well, I can't buy a whole chicken with "everything" included here but still...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you sa market tour sis hehe. At least nakita kahit virtual :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Parang ang ganda ng magmarket dian friend. Napaka analyze ng lugar at clean pa

$ 0.00
1 year ago

By the way Jane, don sa Publishox pano mag apply as author. Meron kasing part na magtatanong sila kung anong topic yung sinusulat mo. Ano yung nilagay mo don?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Parang ang sarap mamalengke dyan ate ah, ang daming mapagpilian at mapagbilhan. Thank you sa mga ganitong content mo, parang nasa HongKong na rin kami haha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Fun Friday, it looks like they are not that busy

$ 0.00
1 year ago

hahahah ang layo2 nang market nila dito sa atin ate Jane hahaha. Jusko hahha sana tlaga ganyan kalinis hay nako. Anyways, nag try na ako jan sa hive pero nahihrapan talaga ako hahhahah

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow I wouldn't believe this is a market if not because you have taken time to explain the photo shot very well. I mean the market is very clean and it's suituated in a scene environment.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You did justice to this challenge, Janey. Saw it on DreemPort when I was curating earlier today. I couldn't jump in on it. I never knew you could be a market person πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ€£πŸ€£. So many cool sides to Janey.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Grabe madam nagulat naman ako sa price ng manok diyan. Ano yan may ginto? 38$ kulang kulang 2000 na yan sa peso ah. Bakit ang mahal ng chicken diyan?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ang mahaaaalllll ng manok...grabe..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ang gara at ang linis, siguro kapag bumalik ka sa pinas Ms. Jane maninibago ka sa itsura dito whahahaha. Alams na.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Bakt? Malinis na ba or mas madumi now? 🀣🀣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Grabi naman yong chicken kawawa huehue chorrr pero ilang kilo yang chicken na yan at napaka ginto nang price aguy. And napaka daming bilihin paka jan no daming pagpipilian ee. Tas ang ganda nong eyes nong anak na lalaki madamsss, di mo ba typr baka singol pa πŸ‘€πŸ€­

$ 0.00
1 year ago

🀣🀣 d ko natanong...mas matanda yan sakin..tawag sakin moimoi, meaning little sister 😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The details of that challenge is wild and definitely not for people that are shy πŸ˜†

I love the tour of Kowloon market, I am amazed that the market looks so clean and tidy (it does feel like a supermarket when compared with the markets in my country). And did you say there are air conditioners in there? That's impressive! @Aimure come and see something

$ 0.02
1 year ago

If I tell you this country is not for me, you think sey I dey lie. See cleanliness and orderliness. Also, did you notice the UV lights at the meat store? To keep them free from germs. Chai....

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Now picture New Benin or Ajah market πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I actually don't know about it.. So that's the usage of those lights hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I know I would miss this month's challenge because I don't go to the market often. I only go once in a month. I can see you are enjoying Dreemport.

I hope next month's challenge is interesting and I wouldn't have to miss it.

This is a beautiful market and I love that it is always cleaned by staff. It makes such a place clean and good to walk through.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yup.. Not a disgusting market to visit 😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yayyy, I had a great time roaming around the HK market through reading your article my friend Jane. I so love the flower shop and their alluring flowers there. I also wanted to join the challenge, but I guess I can't make it as the market is far from our place.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

So where do you buy food?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is quite informative. And I like the orderliness of the store too. The prices are outrageous, and really expensive when compared to the local price here in my country. $33+ for chickenπŸ˜… WOW. You'd get live chicken here for $26 at most, and they are really big. On average, they cost around $10.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow..it's cheap.. Some native chicken in our country can also be bought for only $10

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Their Market looks different from ours, ang linis Lang, all the photos are good catch, I like the flowers at the bottom. Medyo hindi ako familiar dito sa site na to, pero mukhang di ko yata Kaya, πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sobra layo sa market jan lol

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ha! I didn't read about the instructions, I just posted a random article o.. So sad of me. I wish you success in the contest

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nakakatuwa naman mag market if may mga subok at tiwala ka na na mga shop and ayun mabibigyan ng discount. Agree sa pinakamaganda ay bulaklak hihi

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Suki na eh hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks for taking us with you, which you always do. I love those purple flowers at the end. They look gorgeous. And I was scrolling slowly to check if we have common vegetables like in India, only few.. like ladies finger (okra), radish, carrots hehehe.. which means I can survive in your country lol

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Of course, I guess we are in the same continent πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Truth, above all the products in the wet market,chicken was the one that was really expensive ,specially if it was native πŸ˜…. Some Chinese are indeed friendly and they are truly knows how to show's some gratitude specially if they've been seeing you as their loyal costumer. I also used to receive red pockets from a Chinese stall owner every Chinese New year, and 50hkd is not really that bad. I suddenly miss steam chicken 🀣. I also used to prepare that when I was still there, the sauce was just too simple but it's too yummy and perfect. Anyway good luck to your entry.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

For sure alam mo yan. Hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Iba iba talaga pinupursue natin.. di ko na magawa talaga ma open yung Hive, wala na ako time. Saka na lang siguro if after ko Makita results nang SuperUMAn hardwork ko ..kung worth it ba or hindi..

Ang ganda nung purple flower 😍

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sa blogging muna ako focus.. Wala time for uma.. Gusto ko sana kaso hirap na tlga imanage

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oo hirap talaga ang time kasi layo nang difference satin.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I just joined Hive Channel and learning sister. Wao Curation reward is collected by Dreemport. I should join this platform very soon.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Why not.. You'll like it

$ 0.00
1 year ago