I'm Not Just A Caregiver

33 97
Avatar for Jane
Written by
2 years ago

May 7, 2021

Caregivers are known to be multi-taskers. One moment we are taking care of our patients on the bed, the next moment we are cleaning plates used by our patients, or discussing with the physician for a medical appointment. Because we Caregivers are responsible for the continuity of care or whatever that entails.

Our work is very challenging. Many thought that we only take care of the elderly, but no were not. We can be a babysitter, we can take care of PWD kids or adults, we can even be a tutor. But not only professional caregivers can do our tasks, because it is often addressed through several helping hands - can be a son or a daughter, a parent, grandchild, or any hired person.

Way back in the Philippines, my works include:

  • Monitoring the vital signs

  • Checking the inputs & outputs, and blood sugar

  • Assisting the patient to do his/her activities of daily living, such as bathing, dressing, eating, walking, etc.

  • Assisting the patient in defecating, urinating, and helping with personal hygiene and care

  • Encouraging my patient to do exercise and assisting in going to the hospital for consultations

  • Helping with mobility

  • Ensuring the cleanliness and tidiness of my patient's room and areas where they usually stay for leisure

  • Sometimes even includes buying foods for my patient

But in my last patient in the Philippines, I did other tasks that were out of the job description. I served a family of doctors as a private caregiver of their mother. And they have a maid with a disability that served them since she was 15 years old, and during my time she was, I guess more than 40 years old already. The maid doesn't even have holidays, so she's working 7 days a week from morning to evening. My patient adopted her because she doesn't have a family anymore and she became their maid ever since.

We, caregivers, felt pity for her, as her body was so small with eyes disability, and she looks so tired already. So every time our patient was asleep, we will go to the kitchen and help her wash the dishes. Sometimes, if the doctors (my patient's son and his wife, and two children) were out, we will help their maid to clean the house, and help her lift the pale full of washed clothes.

https://www.caring.com/senior-care/in-home-care/

I just can't take seeing her lifting the heavy pale while going up the stairs as she needs to hang the clothes on the rooftop which was on the third floor. If I will measure her height, I guess she's only 3 feet, and her workloads are even heavier than her. We, the caregivers even asked each other, the family is rich, why can't they hire another maid so Nanay Sita (the maid) won't be so tired. There were six members of the family but only have one maid, while 3-4 caregivers were working alternately. So during our time, Nanay Sita was always happy and thankful because we help her lighten her works.


When I worked here in Hong Kong, I thought my job will be purely Caregiving. But I was wrong because I'm not just a pure Caregiver. Chinese really make sure that their money is worth it. Aside from doing Caregiving jobs, I also do other tasks.

I'm An Assistant And An Email Processor

https://www.google.com/amp/s/istarthub.net/what-is-an-email-processing-job/

My lady boss doesn't know how to speak English fluently, and the son is studying in England. Every time she received emails, she will always call me to help her reply the emails. The same thing every time the school of her daughter sent her emails that are needed to be replied to.

https://www.noplacelikehomecare.com/about/

When she needs an assistant when going shopping and she knows that I am available, she will also call me and ask me to go with her. It's actually in favor of me, as I don't like staying the whole day inside the house. But what I don't like is when she's making me a chaperone. I always said to myself, "this isn't part of my job." But I can't complain or decline her request. But what I like is the free food she bought for me, and I can choose whatever I want for free.

Sometimes their family will eat outside, they will ask me if I want to eat with them. Sometimes I refuse, sometimes I eat with them. So in more than 3 years of staying here, I've been to different restaurants here in Hong Kong - Chinese, Japanese, Korean, Thai, Seafood rest., Italian, and Taiwanese restaurants. I'm a bit lucky actually, as not all Caregivers can experience the same with me.


I Am A Tutor

I mentioned here before about my boss' daughter that became my friend. She was only 10 years old and in primary 5 when I came here. Every after school, my boss will ask me to assist her daughter to do her homework and teach her when her exam was quite approaching. The subjects include English, Science, History, and Geography, she's very good at Math and I'm bad at it so she doesn't need my help. And since I was only new and trying to build a good reputation, I can't say no to my boss. When they found out that I like art, I was always tasked to do the kid's art homework and projects.

I liked it though, but what I don't like was the time I spent doing those tasks instead of resting. And to compensate for my hard work, my boss always gives me additional money especially if her daughter got high marks on quizzes and exams. But as time goes by, it became our bonding with the kid, that's how we became close to each other.

She likes taking a photo of me, especially when I looked stress and annoyed 🀣 That photo of mine wearing pajama with jacket was actually Sunday. I was supposed to go out but her mother told me to help her study first before I spend my holiday, because Monday was her exam. That's why I looked annoyed there Lol

But when she reached secondary last 2019, I told her to become independent and study on her own, because it's not good to always rely on someone. I always remind her not to be lazy and dependent like her mother.


A Comforter And A Company

https://line.17qq.com/articles/fheoiifhz.html

Caregivers should be empathetic. This plays a big role in taking care of a patient. Being empathetic is feeling and understanding the patient's experiences and emotions. And as a caregiver, we should have the ability to share someone else feelings.

Every time my patient is feeling down or grumpy because of someone or something, I need to give her reassurance that everything will be okay. It's actually frustrating when my patient is argumentative and grumpy, but through putting myself on her shoe, I will start to understand the root of her sudden change of mood and make sure that she won't feel alone, and give her reassuring words and comfort.

This is applicable not only for Caregivers but for anyone who's taking care of their beloved ones. Being sympathetic won't help our patients ease the pain and suffering, but being empathetic will make them feel better, and recognizing the reason behind their sudden change of behavior can change our reaction towards their words and actions.

It is what makes us Caregivers to be more compassionate, stronger, and more patient.

And I'm not just a companion and a comforter to my patient, but also to this kid at home. If you remember my article about, I have mentioned there that sometimes, these Chinese people always making simple things too complicated, or making simple issues too difficult to solve. Sometimes I pity her because she became the ventilator. If others can't express their anger towards another family member, they will gonna express it to this kid.

And since there's no other person who can give her comfort, I am always there to give her emmpathy. She's been my comforter as well every time I feel sad and tired. And she always makes me smile if I look stress already.

I'll gonna miss this kid so much, she's big now, even bigger and taller than me

(Since I'm not allowed to post my patient's photos online, as per patient's privacy, I just posted my photos with this kiddo 😁)

Being a Caregiver is not so easy especially if you will work abroad and live with your patient. You will be tasked to do other things aside from Caregiving jobs. In some cases, they are even task to clean their employer's house and run some errands.

And being a caregiver is not something everyone is cut out for, and its rich rewards cannot truly be defined.

Thaks for reading!

25
$ 12.15
$ 11.17 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from Anonymous user(s)
A
$ 0.10 from @Ruffa
+ 13
Sponsors of Jane
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jane
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

I feel you miss Jane .I also experienced that when I was in Taiwan a caregiver for an old woman but still doing house hold chores . But keep fighting Lang poπŸ’š

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Oh caregiver ka dn pla.. Kudos to us 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe uu nga . This year or next year baka Jan na ako SA Hongkong ...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Absolutely right right being a care taker it is not an easy task.When in Philippine you did very good job like Not only you take TPR but also take so much care about patient cleanliness.And when you joined a house as a caregiver and helped the tiny lady was awesome.Yeah!This is humanity you should not think about only your job you should have feelings to help others.I know personally Chinese they want to do most of their work themselves.And they not rely others.But your story with a family as a caregiver your help in shopping changed my concept about Chinese.I am sad when you was a teacher you were weak in math.But you manage it also when you like arts.And I can guess your caregiver job at the end with a kid by your pictures.Kid is smiling like she is with a empathetic and great hearted care taker.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Weak in math 🀣 she's just better than me.. The family is good but they have that Chinese attitude that you won't like. Anyway, thank you for dropping by

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am vet and ma'am I also weak in shit math.Yeah!Chinese have thief own peculiar distinction.That can't be changed.Thank you for your reaction 🀝🏻

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mabuhay kayo mga OFW madam. Tinitiis niyo ang pagod at matindi ang sakripisyo for the sake of your family's welfare. So much respect for you 🀟❀

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you madam

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang hirap lalo na pag stay-in.. ung tutoring ayna, bka aq mayayamot dhil pinakaayaw q yan.. and yes, you're a bit lucky ksi at least sinasama k nila sa labas kumain, food is lifeπŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Parang Chinese ka na din. Hehehe. Anyway, ngayon ko lang nalaman na caregiver ka.. Ang alam ko lang is you work as an assistant something. Basta related sa computer. Hehe. Anyway, nakakabilib ka talaga. Ang dami mong ganap sa buhay yet every day me article ka pang nagagawa at kung saan saang platform ka pa nag eexcel. Congrats! Kaya blessed na blessed ka kasi ang galing galing mo.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Grabe multi tasker ka nga hahah! I can relate to your sentiment, ung homecare patients ko may mga caregiver din naiinis sila minsan pag walang katulong sa bahay at naging cook sila, taga linis, lawnmower, hala! Sobra talaga. Buti jan well compensated ka at I can see not exploited. Bait ng boss mo. Bless you, welcome home soon!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Very well said.All your actions here are reality based.actuallt this is.too hard to do,like multi function .honestly ,if Iam with your position I don't think i can do it.

I salute all overseas workers ,for this job well done.You are so great.☺️

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thank you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My aunt is also a caregiver in Singapore for more than 10 years now. She said her job is to take care of an old man who can't stand anymore and always on the bed. The old man is alone so she has much free time if he is lying or sleeping. She just makes vlogs after that. Now she is a certified Youtube vlogger.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Not caregiver anymore? After this contract i'll be a certified blogger 🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yay! I'm excited for you. A certified blogger and a trader. πŸ€—πŸ’š

$ 0.00
2 years ago

She is still a caregiver, though. She just films her vlogs whenever she got free time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for the upvote! So appreciated.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I totally get what you shared. My dad was sick for six months until he died. We had several caregivers on shifts to attend to his needs. They were always grateful because I still helped them care for my dad, even the messy tasks, because I understand how difficult the job is. I will forever appreciate them for the care and compassion they extended while with us. And my hat off to you for the incredible job you've done!

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Sorry for your dad.. And it's not easy to hire caregivers too.. . thank you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So true. And not just any caregiver, because unfortunately there are also rotten apples, but the good ones are very hard to come by. We were lucky to have two - one was a registered nurse, and another a professional CG. They are forever friends of our family.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

From what country are you? Have you ever had Filipino caregiver?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am PInoy din. And so were our caregivers, so I know how dedicated they are. But since six months (4.5 spent in the hospital) is a long time, you also come across those who are not as committed.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Living in the Phil? Nosebleed ako syp eh 🀣 yeah some are not committed especially kung wala nkakakita na boss. Pabayaan ang pasyente

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahaha!

Yes, I am disappointed when we had CGs who would rather do things the shortcut way. Or are always in a hurry to leave. Kaya, love namin yung dalawang magaling at mabait. And my dad loved them, too!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang cool kaya ng Caregiver, kasi kahit mahirap nakakaya nyo. Tingin ko kasi ang hirap talaga ng ganyang trabaho ee. Kaya Salute sa mga katulad nyong nagsusumikap sa buhay para makamit ang inyong nais. You're not just a caregiver, I'm sure you are a hero oara dun sa inaalagaan mo πŸ’šπŸ’š. Fighting! πŸ’ͺ

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Kakatouch namn yan.. Sna lng lahat nkaka appreciate ng work..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same sa among mapupuntahan an0? May iba kasi porket ganyan ang trabahano, kakayan kayanan na

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So far lahat ng naging amo ko sa pinas okay naman.. Pure caregiving tlga work dun.. Yung isa lng na tinutulungan nmin yung maid kc may disability na nga, wala pa day off..

Dto naman, alam mo nman magisip mga chinese.. Dapat sulit ang bayad.. Hndi naman ako kinakaya kaya.. Sumasagot pa nga ako 🀣🀣 Ayoko lng dami trabaho, kya pahinga muna ako.. Pro mamimiss ko mga to . bait nmn sla sakin.. Kakastress lng ingay dto kpg nagsisigawan.. Gusto lo peaceful..

So far tahimik na ngayon dhl andun na sa england ng punot dulo ng ingay dto

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Every job I think is not an easy one! Pero kudos sa pagiging patient! Dehins ko kayang gawin yan 😊

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Minsan kya ubos pasensya ko kakastress

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for sharing a glimpse of what you do in your work. Youre right. We should give empathy to other people as if we are putting ourselves in their shoes. God bless po. Take care.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thanks for reading too

$ 0.00
2 years ago