I Wish To Be A Heavy Sleeper

35 77
Avatar for Jane
Written by
1 year ago

September 18, 2022

 

Sunday is rest day! I'm always looking forward to this day as I can rest more. One day seems not enough to recoup the exhaustion from the whole week's grinding. I was supposed to sleep early last night, but something piqued my interest and I ended up sleeping late. I watched videos on YT about the ongoing Hive Fest. Then later, the replay videos of AGT were in my recommendation, and I watched them too. See? Strong self-discipline is something I am struggling to build. However, I found something useful, which I posted on noise.cash this morning. I might make a separate article for that to raise awareness about the matter as well.

Back on track. Every Sunday, I always want to wake up late when I have no plans to travel. But I woke up at 9 this morning due to disturbing sounds from outside. My ideal time is 10 or 11. This is what I hate the most when I want to sleep longer but I am easily disturbed by even faint sounds. Someone was cooking in the kitchen, and the noisy sound of the open range hood was disturbing. It was my male boss. Afterward, he opened the TV, and that only rubbed salt into the wound.

Until then, my eyes were kept awake, and my mind as well.

This somehow correlated with the topic of @fantagira, which she got from @Princessbusayo. Instead of worrying about not getting enough sleep, I'd better answer these questions since they tackle sleeping habits.


Light on or Light off?

Who wants lights on anyway? So yes to lights off. Apart from the noise, another thing that disturbs my sleep is light, especially bright ones. I am fine with lights in my sleeping room, for as long as it is dim and not bright. The weak light of a lamp is fine, or those in wallpapers. I even want to buy one for my ceiling with a night sky design and with sparkling stars. This style looks calming and it might help me sleep easily at night. I just can't find it offline.


Light or Heavy sleeper?

I am definitely not a heavy sleeper as I mentioned above, I easily am woken up by disturbing sounds. I envy those heavy sleepers who can easily drift off to sleep once their eyes close, like my female boss. The same with Fantagira, my female boss can't be woken up by many alarms. Oftentimes, it is me who is annoyed by successive alarms but she still sounded asleep even if the alarm is louder than her snore, lol. They all are in this house, I am the only light sleeper. Sometimes I would ask the lady, "how could you guys sleep easily while the light is on and it's noisy outside?" She doesn't know the answer either, lol.


Fan or no Fan?

With a fan of course. Being in this country with a very hot Summer, I definitely want a fan or even an aircon in my room. A hot temperature is another factor that disturbs my sleep, apart from sounds and lights. The colder the room, the better my sleep is. That's why I like sleeping when the weather is cold or it's raining outside.


One or Several Pillows?

I currently have two pillows in my room. One is enough for me, but I'd like to have more. Sometimes when I can't sleep well, I like to hug a pillow as it sometimes helps. If my legs are tired, I like to put a pillow under my legs. This is what I learned from my caregiving class. When our legs are tired due to prolonged standing or walking, our blood tends to submerge in the lower part of our legs, and that causes pain. So it's better to elevate our legs above our heart level when they are tired to promote blood circulation and return blood to our hearts. We call this, "passive leg raise." I guess medical practitioners here know about this method. @LykeLyca I bet you know this too. You can do this too if your legs seem tired and aching.


Early in bed or Late sleeper?

Ever since I started working, especially when I started blogging, I have become a late sleeper. I can't remember the last time I slept early, like 8, 9, or 10 in the evening. Although I want to practice the early sleeping habit, my body clock seems hard to reset. So even if I wanted to sleep early, I just couldn't make it. I could probably make it once I stop working.


Thin or thick blanket?

It depends on the weather; thin for summer and thick for the cold season. Sometimes, when my fan can't alleviate the heat inside my room during the hot season, I don't use any blankets at all. I would just cover my torso to avoid getting an abdominal cramp, but my legs and arms are exposed.


PJ or Comfy Clothes?

I use both for as long as I am comfortable in them. Back in the Philippines, I like to wear comfy clothes like sleeveless shirts and shorts when sleeping. I have started wearing pajamas here abroad since I am living with other people. The cloth type matters too. I prefer cotton pajamas or silk sleeping gowns.


Drink Milk or Water?

Back when I didn't know about my lactose intolerance yet, I used to drink milk at night before sleeping. But I stopped in 2017 and I opted for water instead. Both are beneficial anyway, so it doesn't really matter.


So these are my sleeping habits. What's yours?

Lead image from Unsplash by bruce mars


**(Check out the new noise.app here and let's be connected. noise.app/Jane1289)**

Follow me on:

read.cash •noise.cash •HIVE •Ecency   PeakD Torum •Twitter

19
$ 3.74
$ 3.18 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.07 from @fantagira
$ 0.05 from @Princessbusayo
+ 15
Sponsors of Jane
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jane
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

True! Most of the time after duty ung leg ko nka patong sa wall ng kwarto ko to elevate, nkaka relieve talaga sa stress ng paa natin...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Let met answer these too lol! Sakto wala ako masulat.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ako sis lights off talaga hehehe at ayaw ko na may fan kasi after that for sure otot ako ng otot hahaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm a heavy sleeper pero often times lang pag sobrang pagod hahaha owemji I should stop drinking milk na din pala before matulog, water na nga lang din iinumin ko, true ka jan sis hirap na matulog ng maaga lalo na at nasanay na yung body clock na late matutulog then ang aga nagigising. Pj's the best ang comfy talaga.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ang hirap nga eh kaya nakakainggit ung may body clock na maaga magising kahit late matulog haha

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Mas bet ko early matulog early magising haha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

mas bet kita

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I want quite the opposite: I want to be a light sleeper. I am a very heavy sleeper and once I shut my eyes, not even an earthquake can wake me up 😂 that's actually a bad thing for me, but I can't help it. I might get kidnapped one day and I will keep sleeping as the kidnapper carries me away 🤣

$ 0.02
1 year ago

🤣. I watched videos about pranks to heavy sleeper and I just kept laughing. Of course, everything has disadvantages and you mentioned one 🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am surely a heavy sleeper sometimes too. Many times I don't hear the sound of alarms even if it rings repeatedly. But sometimes, I sleep like a chicken that wakes up at the sound of anything 🤣🤣🤣

Even if you give me a pillow, I won't use it. I don't cover my body too but sleep freely. In most cases, I sleep with light on but many times it's off since Nigeria comes with lack of electricity. Lol

$ 0.02
1 year ago

You don't use a pillow?> I guess it's not good for your back..unless you have a flat body with no protruding butt at the back 😅..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahahaha 😂😂😂 I might start using it in the future then

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I sleep with the lights on, but I am not a heavy sleeper. I don't know and maybe because I'm mentally exhausted and it is already affecting my sleep.

Anyway I just suddenly remember when I was still in HK, my boss sometimes don't go out on Sunday so they all stayed at home but they are a little bit considerate as they don't really make a sound as they want me to have a good rest. This is what I like about them because they don't want me to go out so they don't want to awake me😂, so I always had a good time with my bed every rest day.

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Buti kapa... Ako pwd nmn magstay the whole day sa bahay..kaso need bumili ng food so lumalabas nlng ako.. Yung ingay lang, hndi considerate mga tao dto 🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Lumalabas din ako para bumili ng food kasi hndi naman ako nakakapagluto kapag nasa bahay sila. Considerate naman sila kaso abosado lang. Tapos ang hilig manumbat ng mga favours KUNO, dun ako nawalan ng gana sa kanila. Kasi kung tutuosin wala naman talaga silang pabor na ginawa o binigay sakin na kailangan ko talagang ipagpasalamat.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahaha yes in this summer ofcource we'll sleep with fan and i can sleep with one pillow too but i can't sleep lol 😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I love those information about you. Even it's second article of the day which inspired me a lot. First one was MJ's, on which I already published an article today, even there I mentioned you as well (unfortunately I was unable to get you through their built-in search) and second article is this one I will write an article like this soon.... Thanks for the idea

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Most of the time heavy sleeper ako may time din matagal makatulog pag nasimulan ..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kpg nsa bhay ka ng inlaw mo.. Late karin magising?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oo hahaha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Haha Jane’y 😅 Great that I sparked a topic to write about. I would love to be an early bird. Get up before the sunrise and even on the off days!

$ 0.01
1 year ago

The off days are only my days to rest..so I prefer to sleep longer... 😅

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I tell myself I’d be more productive if I was getting up early every day, as I’ll have more hours in a day, but I guess that’s the illusion too 😉

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Lol...unwanted sounds and light are the two main things which disturb me the most.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I think you need to get that headphone kind of "noise cancellation" maybe it would help you sleep better and the noise from the kitchen won't be able to distract you too.

I can sleep with either the light on or off... I prefer my fan too and it's always nice to have many pillows around even though I always use one hahahaha.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Haha.. Me too. I just want to have more pillows around even if I only use one..

Sometimes, I listen to music with my earphone to cover the noise

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Yes, music is nice...no doubt... solemn and sweet...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kapag pagod ako kahit anong ingay pa jan hindi ako magising with hilik pa😅 Pero hindi ako sanay gumising ng late .

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Every holiday lang naman late..nasanay na sa early lalo na sa weekdays

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Okay na din yan para maka pagpahinga kaso madali kang magising miss jane😅

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ako kapag pagod talaga Hindi na nagmamatter ang noise at ilaw. Bahala kayo jan.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kahit pagod..ganun din

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ako nakakatulog na bukas ang ilaw pero mas prefer kp pa rin kapag patay. I can sleep soundly and much faster ba. May ganito din ako sa drafted arti ko, wari ko ay 4 months na un haha. Till now diko pa ma pub kasi diko masingit haha, singit ko nga din un haha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Isingit mo na haha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago