I Tried To Cook Traditional Chinese Macaroni Soup from Leftovers

43 116
Avatar for Jane
Written by
3 years ago

In my previous article about She Told Me To Cook , I shared how I made cheesy macaroni for this kid at home who asked me a favor to cook for her.

I also mentioned there about local Chinese who have adopted macaroni as an ingredient for Chinese-style Western cuisine. And here in Hong Kong, macaroni is cooked in water and then rinsed to remove starch, and served in clear broth with ham or frankfurter sausages, peas, black mushrooms, and optionally eggs, reminiscent of noodle soup dishes.

Yesterday, we cooked tomato soup in a big pot. Since we weren't able to finish all the soup, I decided to try the traditional Chinese macaroni soup using the leftovers. I still have the remaining raw macaroni from cooking cheesy macaroni the other day, and I also have leftover pork, so all I need to do is to add some ingredients like egg and vegetables.

MAIN INGREDIENT:

  • Macaroni

THE LEFTOVER INGREDIENTS:

  • Tomato soup (with carrot and corn)

  • Pork

Stir-fry leftover pork

ADDITIONAL INGREDIENTS:

  • Egg

  • Shitake Mushroom (alternative for green vegetables)

  • Green onions (for toppings)

METHODS:

  1. Cook the macaroni until it's 90% done. Drain the excess water retaining the macaroni.

  1. Add the tomato soup and let it boil for few more minutes. This will allow the macaroni to absorb the tomato flavor from the soup.

  1. Add the shitake mushroom or any preferred vegetables. Boil until the shitake mushroom softens. (It's easy to cook the shitake, so it will only take 1-2 minutes)

  1. Stir-fry leftover pork and fry eggs for toppings.

  1. Spoon macaroni soup into a bowl and put the toppings

The bowl is small so I can't pour more soup

5. Sprinkle some green onions and serve while it's hot.

I actually don't like eating eggs, I prefer vegetables and some pork for the toppings, so I made this one for me. 👇

Chinese likes using stainless dish, I don't know why

If you want to try to cook chinese style tomato soup, it's so easy, all you need are:

  • Pork

  • Tomatoes

  • Potatoes

  • Carrots

  • Corn

■ Put all ingredients in a pot of water, boil over low-med fire for 3-4 hrs.

So instead of throwing the leftovers, why not make it into a new yet yummy recipe.

FACTS:

Leftovers are often kept for three to four days in the refrigerator. Be sure to eat them within that point. After that, the risk of food poisoning increases. If you do not think you'll be ready to eat leftovers within four days, freeze them immediately.

Food poisoning — also called foodborne illness — is caused by harmful germs, such as bacteria in contaminated food. Bacteria typically don't change the taste, smell or look of food, so you cannot tell whether a food is dangerous to eat. If you are unsure about the food's safety, it is best to throw it out.

Fortunately, most cases of food poisoning can be prevented with proper cooking and food handling. Quickly refrigerate perishable foods, like meat, poultry, fish, dairy and eggs, to practice food safety. Don't allow them to sit over two hours at typical temperature or over one hour at temperatures above 90 F (32 C).

Uncooked foods, like cold salads or sandwiches, also should be eaten or refrigerated immediately. Your goal is to cut back the time a food is within the — between 40 and 140 F (4 and 60 C) — when bacteria can quickly multiply.

Before eating leftovers, make sure to reheat them on the stove or in an exceedingly conventional oven or microwave until the interior temperature reaches 165 F (74 C). It's not recommended to use slow cooker for reheating leftovers as these devices might not be able to heat foods hot enough to kill bacteria.

Source: https://www.mayoclinic.org/healthy-lifestyle/nutrition-and-healthy-eating/expert-answers/food-safety/faq-20058500#:~:text=Leftovers%20can%20be%20kept%20for,

Related Articles:

She Told Me To Cook
Food Photography (Shabu-Shabu a.k.a. Hotpot)
Food Photography (Random Hong Kong Recipe)

Food Photography (No-Baked, Eggless, Gluten and Lactose Free Healthy Oats Recipes)

29
$ 11.60
$ 11.60 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Jane
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jane
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

All this remembrance service, thanks for supporting me, I like this teachings

$ 0.00
3 years ago

As it is looking delicious I think it is very good to eat. But mostly I got shocked to see the tip you get.. Congrats

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I hope the tipper will give tips everyday. 😂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Dipat sadang haak kun akot kumaon🤣🤣

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Baboy daez?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow I'll try this to test 😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The cooking is good, but I hope will are save with this combinations, for I am pure African, thanks for the cook.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Any race can try it. 😅

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I bet it's yummy and delicious based on how it looks on the photos 😋🤤🤤

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The tomato soup is yummy which added the flavor to macaroni. 😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It looks so delicious :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The tomato soup makes it more delicious. 😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

wow. Do you love cooking ?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

No not really.. haha.. am not good at it actually.. but sometimes i like to experiment cooking new recipe , the result is either bad or good 😅

$ 0.00
3 years ago

right. haha. I also did the same especially now that I'm just at home

$ 0.00
3 years ago

If I'm at home, i don't actually cook.. the boys at home are better than me.. but every occasion l, i like cooking desserts.. that's m specialty. 😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

wow. haha. The boys are really good cook. What desserts do you usually make?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Different kind salads, jelly with different combi and flavors, mango floats and more. 😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

WOw. Amazing. Have you tried coffee jelly?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yummy

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Seems like a different version of sopas. Oof i don't think i can experiment on that kind of food in my house. My sisters don't like tomaties much

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah like sopas, but their macaroni soup in the restaurants aren't really yummy. It's all bland, so it's better to make some at home, from leftovers 😂 You can tr some...chicken broth is yummy

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Most Chinese soups are kinda bland for me too. Oof i need to start living alone first so i can try this

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Not only soup, but many of their foods are bland. 😂 I'm fed up eating their foods to be honest, my tummy is sometimes complaining.. i still like pinoy foods more

$ 0.00
3 years ago

And this is why i never adapted to my grandma's Chinese food 😂😂😂😂 fil foods are ao tasty and super daming umami

$ 0.00
3 years ago

So you have Chinese blood? Pinoy foods are tastier because we use so many ingredients and seasonings, but have lots of msg. 😂 that's why it's yummy. Lol

$ 0.00
3 years ago

A bit, it doesn't show though XD Nahh it's not just the msg. We just make better use of spices here. I banned msg in the house so we mostly just use spices we buy then recently i experimented in making my own spices and it's honestly 10× better than store bought ones

$ 0.00
3 years ago

But for some, they prefer the instant seasoning than using spices and condiments .. hey try to make 5 spices, it's a mixture of star anise, cinnamon, ground pepper, ahm.. i forgot the other two.. 😂😂 search it youtube, it's so tasty, you can use it to marinate pork or make pork bbq

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Those instant ones are so bland too and has more msg than the ones we have here 😤 ohh my granma makes that. I don't like how it tastes. Taste kinda like what you get from weeds though 😂😂😂 just peppers and paprika is good for barbecues

$ 0.00
3 years ago

😂 it smells good because of cinnamon.. i like the taste when you marinate pork bbq with it then add some honey...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Honey in bbq isn't my thing. I'm more of a steak style marinade more than anything, really UwU

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh.. i started to like honey here..hehe.. and i actually missed the pinoy style bbq sauce

$ 0.00
3 years ago