I lost $100 BCH Through Shareable Link, @Ruffa To The Rescue

69 211
Avatar for Jane
Written by
3 years ago

February 7, 2021

Something wrong happened to my shareable link yesterday which caused a commotion on noise and in TG group chat. I was just curious about the technique of locking the BCH through a shareable link. So I tried the technique and send out $100 through a shareable link but I didn't share the link with anyone. I planned to reclaim it once the BCH price goes down.

With this technique, you will be locking the BCH price to escape from volatility. It is actually similar to hedging in Detoken. But something wrong came up and I thought I lost my $100.

After posting this ss on noisecash, someone commented and said that the technique is false. I got worried and checked my BCH wallet immediately. I tried to reclaim the $100 because I sensed something wrong. When I clicked the "check status" it loads for few seconds and I got nervous thinking about the comment of @BitcoinBCH.

After the loading, the "claimed" status appeared and I was totally discombobulated because I didn't share the link with anyone. "How did it happened?" I said to myself. I got panic and informed my clubmates and even posted it on noisecash.

I was losing hope already when the customer service of Bitcoin.com told me that the transaction cannot be undone and it was already claimed.

It was a big amount for me already and it was depressing to know that I can't retrieve the $100 anymore, especially that I just have set a goal which is to achieve 5 BCH this year. And I just lost a big part of it. I was about to give up and just told myself, "just imagine that you have lost it in future trading" or I have donated it to someone in need to make me feel better.

But unexpeted thing happen when you least expect it. My concerned clubmates helped me solve the issue. @MoreGainStrategies asked for the screenshot of my transaction to check how it happened. It was really impossible that someone will gonna claim it since I didn't share the link with anyone and that was too quick.

Smart @Ruffa thought of searching the link when she saw the screenshot. She typed the shareable link on the comment bar, copied, and searched it at her Bitcoin.com wallet because she thought that it might be my wallet's problem. And viola! She was able to claim it, which means that it was still unclaimed.

I was so happy and relieved to know that the money was safe and it was @Ruffa who was able to claim it. But how is it possible that the status was claimed even if it's unclaimed yet?

The glitch was the reason why we created a commotion about this matter yesterday. And I am so thankful for @Ruffa and to my other clubmates for helping me solve the problem.

Indeed we are family helping each other in times of needs says @Eybyoung .

I just feel sad for @Ryryry143 because after posting about my lost $100 on noisecash, someone called him an idiot and he was accused as a scammer by other users. It wasn't his fault, it was the system's fault, and my fault as well because I've tried it.

LESSON LEARNED:

  • Sharing a shareable link without copying the link was the biggest mistake I did. Even if it's in my wallet, it's still not safe because circumstances always occur. The system is not perfect as well and glitches may happen. Just like what happened yesterday, it appeared "claimed" even if it's unclaimed yet. And my fault was, I relied on the status and didn't tried other ways to search it. (I actually don't know that the link can be searched on Bitcoin.com) Good thing I have the screenshot, or else it will stay in the blockchain forever.

  • I shouldn't try a technique without further evidences that it really works and putting a big amount on it was like gambling. So next time I try something, I should experiment using a small amount, not a big one. For me, the technique will actually work if the system won't have a glitch. But due to my bad experience, I will not try the technique anymore and I rather swap my BCH to Stablecoin. That is the safest way to do to escape from volatility.

Mistakes are really made to give us a lesson and this experience of mine was meant to happen to give me a lesson. We should also remember that executed transactions using a blockchain cannot be undone. So always double-check the details before sending any transactions and do not make an experiment using an amount that you can't afford to lose. The crypto world is so different from our real world, so we should apply due diligence in whatever actions we want to execute.

47
$ 11.13
$ 9.88 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 1.00 from @ErdoganTalk
$ 0.05 from @bmjc98
+ 6
Sponsors of Jane
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jane
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

Thanks for the information madam.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Big amount din buti na lang active si @Ruffa Yey!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

With this technique, you will be locking the BCH price to escape from volatility. It is actually similar to hedging in Detoken.

Not correct as others pointed out, you need to use the noncustodial Detoken or a similar method on an exchange. But you get a tip and upvote anyway!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I learned my lesson sir.. That was just a try..as someone said it. I was curious.. But my mistake was I didn't save the link.. Good thing I have the screenshot. .. Thanks for the tip sir 😊

$ 0.10
3 years ago

With the link method, the amount (in BCH) rests on bitcoin.com's server until it is claimed by the receiver. And in your bitcoin.com wallet it is showed by link, after a while you can go down the transaction list, check if any sent links are unclaimed, and claim it to your self with a click.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The status actually changed to "claimed" even if I didn't share the link to others.. That's why I felt worried and shocked about it..the trasaction history also shows it's sent already. Good thing ruffa searched my link and found out that it was still unclaimed. So there was a glitch in my wallet.

$ 0.10
3 years ago

With this technique, you will be locking the BCH price to escape from volatility. It is actually similar to hedging in Detoken.

I have used send via link a few times. You can't escape volatility this way. You are sending BCH. Even if it says you sent $100, if you try to use the link after a day, you will only get $90 for example, if the BCH price has dropped.

$ 0.20
3 years ago

I only learned it from someone and I was curious so I tried it.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sending by link works well, but you need to save the link in case the recipient does not use it.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I was planning to reclaim it si i didn't save the link.. Good thing i have the screenshot..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's happy new jane . This how real friends are . Thanks to ruffa that do her job in the right time cheers!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks ,😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hey @Jane, I'm glad you got to recover the $100 thanks to @Ruffa. $!00 is a huge money for me, even twice what I earn in a month. You've to be more careful next time.

You talked about a TG group, is it one I can join? I do like to be among people of like minds, where I can interact and learn. I'm interested and would like and invite.

$ 0.02
3 years ago

It's the group for #Club1BCH councils 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Okay. Thanks for the tip

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm glad you were able to retrieve the money. $100 is a huge amount to lose.

$ 0.02
3 years ago

Exactly.. I guess, If we weren't able to retrieved it.. Im still demotivated by now

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Lesson learnt

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Habang binabasa ko to, ramdam ko yung kaba mo. Gang dulo kaba ko habang ngbabasa. Buti na lang Ruffa helped you. πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘ So happy na naayos agad :)

$ 0.02
3 years ago

Kaya nga 😒 thanks to rufa

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow! feel relieved when she still claimed it..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow That's Great Ruffa Rescued Your 100$ Congratulations πŸŽ‰πŸŽŠ To You And Salute To Ruff That Do This Great Job....❀️

$ 0.02
3 years ago

Wonderful.,. This gives me so many ideas on just how many unclaimed BCH even better BTC there are.... OMG

$ 0.02
3 years ago

Metoo πŸ€” they are just floating there

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Waiting for us to claim them. This is where the magic comes to play. There's a joke though, a punchline of knowing the address πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
3 years ago

$100 is di biro, kung sa akin nangyare to bka umiyak na ko. Buti na lng wala akong $100,hahahaah..anyway buti nabawi mo jane.. Lesson learned..

$ 0.02
3 years ago

Thanks to ruffa 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I am glad the problem was fixed and your money is safe 😊

$ 0.02
3 years ago

Me too. Thanks sa concern nyo 😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Always 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Life saver talaga so madam. Sya din tumulong sakin sa BCHJolly ko.

Galing galing.

Beke nemen Jane πŸ˜‚

$ 0.02
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

Talino ni ruffa.. My hidden talent 🀣 Anong beke nemen? 🀣

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Beke nemen dew Sabi ni madam hahahaha.

$ 0.05
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

Luhh ka si madam, kaya pala may paambon si madam Jane ikaw ang salarrin, naudyukan πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚, at dahil jan πŸ’πŸ’πŸ’

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Huh? Yun pla yun.. Inambunan kita bago ko pa nabasa comment ni yen.. Pasasalamat ko yun syo 😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ehhhhh, salamat ulit πŸ’šπŸ˜šπŸ˜šπŸ€§πŸ€§πŸ€§

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yung feeling na gusto mo nang gumive up pero buti nalang to the rescue si ate Ruffa. ❣ Sana talaga Ate Jane ma aim mo yung goal mo this year. Fighting!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My simple rule is "don't try things you don't master"

$ 0.02
3 years ago

Yes master 😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Buti naman po nakuha haha. Sayang yan laki pa naman

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Kya nga. Almost 5k na satinyan

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oo nga po ehh. Buti naayos

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Woooow ate @Ruffa the best πŸ‘ 😍😍😍 ka talaga, may bag na naman ako natutunan sa inyo☺ Nakakakaba talaga yun ate jane grabe $100 eh one month ko na kita yan aaaachk buti na rescue pa. Kung iba naka claimed eh for sure babay $100 na

$ 0.02
3 years ago

Luh ka, isa pa to ahaha, reaksyon mo parang nang hack ako ng kwarta sa banko πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
3 years ago

And oo ah kakapanood ko yan ng kdramaπŸ˜†πŸ€£πŸ€£

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahahaha, uto mp azul πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Isa ka ng kdrama star sa aaking imagination hahahah gagawan nga kita ng story natutuwa ako sayo ate parotπŸ˜†πŸ˜†πŸ€ͺπŸ€ͺ

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ahahaha, ayusi ha, dapat habulin ako boys, kahit man lang sa story pagandahin mo akow ahahahahaha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Kya nga thankful ako na si ruffa nlaclaim.. Kya wag na ag experiment next time πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Luh kaa, special mention pa ☺️☺️😚, pero grabi talaga nginig ko kagabi nong na claim ko yan, kabang kaba ako ee. Pero nakakapag taka talaga na nong nag check status ka ee "claimed" ang nakalagay. Posible palang mangyari yang ganyan, sobrang nakaka kaba kong sakin nangyari yan

Pero grabi ah, wala naman ako masyado nigawa basta ni search ko lang, kasi nga baka sa app ang problem. Kasi diba sa swapping nga at minsan at sa pag send ng funds nag eerror sya, so posible syang mangyare sa shareable link πŸ€”

$ 1.00
3 years ago

Kya nga app ko my prob.. Sobrang salamt syo.. Kung hndi mo yun ginawa. Bala til now hndi pa mo mka move on πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Haha, okie okie, malamang nagpa lutang lutang nalang yum sa blockchain huehue πŸ˜…

At salamat pala sa wan dellers, grabi may reward, tankyuu 😚

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Kya nga..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That is some good luck. Maybe good karma. You are the one who knows. It was a good read and a good explanation if it ever happens to me.

$ 0.02
3 years ago

don't try that πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I wont. I get always so nervous when I transfer crypto. I think that is my biggest issue with crypto and adoption... lol

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Haha.. Me too whn I was still new here.. Still worried if the money will be received or not.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ruffa the Parot is a life-saver hindi lang siya stress-reliever. Hahahaha πŸ₯³

$ 0.02
3 years ago

Oo nga noh.. And it rhymes 🀣

$ 0.00
3 years ago

buti at to the rescue si ruffa sa pag experiment din nya... aral na sa atin lhat un.

$ 0.02
3 years ago

True.. Wag na mag experiment next time 🀣

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow! Salamat naman! 😍 That's a relieved! Buti na lang naisip yan ni @Ruffa. πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘

$ 0.02
3 years ago

Kya nga. Talino noh? 😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oo.. D natin yung kasi focused tayo sa claimed e.. Pero buti na lang talaga.. Na sad pa naman kami lahat.. Pero at least me valuable lesson kang na ishare saming lahat, wag mag explore pag walang concrete proof.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Tama.. Atleast alam nyo narn possible thing na mangyayarin sa ganyan.. Through my experience

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I was wrong @Jane, sorry for the wrong information.

$ 0.02
3 years ago

Okay nman yun kung walang system error

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I think its there system bug and the costumer service did not know that link are still unclaimed.. No one's claimed it and they declared already that transaction are done and claimed.πŸ€”πŸ€” Bad costumer service, it always happenπŸ˜₯πŸ˜₯πŸ˜₯

$ 0.02
3 years ago

Kya nga.. I sent them the link pro sabi claim na

$ 0.00
3 years ago